We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Surprisingly good” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Papaya Indian Restaurant

Papaya Indian Restaurant
130 Wessex Way, Cox Green, Maidenhead SL6 3DL, England
01628-629 981
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #42 of 111 Restaurants in Maidenhead
Price range: $22 - $30
Cuisines: Indian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Doing business
Dining options: Reservations, Delivery, Buffet
Maidenhead - UK
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Surprisingly good”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2013 via mobile

I visited with a group of 12 people mid-week. The restaurant was really quiet (in fact nearly empty) but the atmosphere was still good. The menu selection was really extensive & the food was freshly cooked and delicious. It was served in good time & the portion sizes were reasonable. We didn't know about this place until it was recommended to us - I'm happy to pass on the recommendation & hope we can still get a table when we return (which we definitely will !!)

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

29 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    16
    8
    1
    2
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
UK
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Delicious and freshly made to order”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2013 via mobile

Papaya has dramatically improved over the past year or so, from a standard Indian to a fantastic one! I have a food intolerance and they always accommodate with ease and no fuss resulting in truly delicious, freshly cooked food. The setting isn't exactly brilliant and the interior probably needs a bit of work to make it more welcoming but definitely highly recommend.

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
“Delicious!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2013 via mobile

The food here is the best Indian I've tried. There's no bright orange or yellow artificial colouring as I've seen with other Indian food. I would definitely recommend this for eat-in and take-away/delivery.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maidenhead, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Nothing to write home about”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2012

Service was splendid but in a day and age where there are far too many Indian Restaurant's they have all run into each other... Because of the massive competition Indian cuisine truly has to stand out above the others... This restaurant's food was average in our opinion...

  • Visited November 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maidenhead, England, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Yummy for my tummy”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2012

this is without doubt the tastiest, yummiest Indian restaurant I've eaten in for years, the chicken pathia is to die for!!! Mmmmmmmm

  • Visited November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Papaya Indian Restaurant also viewed

Maidenhead, Windsor and Maidenhead
Maidenhead, Windsor and Maidenhead
 
Maidenhead, Windsor and Maidenhead
Maidenhead, Windsor and Maidenhead
 

Been to Papaya Indian Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Papaya Indian Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.