We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bespoke service and excellent value” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Lawn Guest House

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added The Lawn Guest House to your Saves list
The Lawn Guest House
2.0 of 5 Guest house   |   6 Boyn Hill Avenue, Maidenhead SL6 4ER, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #7 of 17 Maidenhead B&B and Inns
bristol
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Bespoke service and excellent value”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2012

We booked a room got there and there was slight mix up we were given an instant discount. great room with crisp white cotton bedlinen (no polyester) and breakfast fit for Kings and Queens such variety and great service excellent and thank you.

Room Tip: none to offer
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

91 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    39
    36
    7
    7
    2
See reviews for
29
18
14
15
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow, Scotland
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2012

We stayed at the Lawns Guest House for 2 nights when in the area for a wedding.

We arrived late on the Friday evening and were warmly greeted by the owners and shown to our room.

We were in room 4 which was a large double room with an additional single bed. There was ample space, tv with freeview and the bathroom was clean with a good shower and bath. Bed was comfortable and we didn't have any issues with noise during the night.

Breakfast offered a selection of cereals, toast and a full cooked English breakfast which on both days was perfectly adequate.

It is a traditional B&B and for us had the main things we would expect from a good B&B - clean, nice breakfast, tea/coffee facilities in room and good hospitality from the owners.

Would stay again if in Maidenhead.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheltenham, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2012

I live in the Cotswolds, however I work near Heathrow - and so for almost twelve months now I have spent every Monday and Tuesday night at the Lawn Guest House.
After spending many depressing nights in impersonal hotels, I stumbled upon the Lawn. And I'm very pleased I did. My stays are always comfortable and the service from Phil and his team is always very pleasant. It's the small things that can make such a difference - a smile and a chat on arrival, the IPOD docks in the rooms meaning I don't need to remember my charger, Phil providing me with cutlery so I can eat in my room, the occasional ride to the train station and the amazing fresh fruit salad that I have every morning for breakfast. The rooms, whilst yes, a little bit dated, are clean and comfortable and are in the progress of being updated - the bathroom in room six is lovely. The area is lovely as well and it makes a huge difference to my week to be able to safely go for a walk in the evening when I'm staying down.
Thanks Phil and team.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2012

We stopped en route to Heathrow on our way home. We were put in an attic room up two flights of stairs which was a challenge for my wife with a hip problem,. The room was clean and adequate but a bit shabby. The bathroom was excellent. It was a bit surprising though to have no amenities other than liquid soap. Breakfast was very good and the people were pleasant.. Overall good value. Would recommend it for short stays.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Isle of Wight
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2012

Stayed for 1 night while we visited The Fat Duck restaurant. Room was clean and nice - a little tired but still fine except no curtain - blind did not block out much light. Freeview TV and ipod dock - very handy! Shower in bathroom was really lovely and breakfast and waitress were very very good. Would def recommend this guest house. Very good value for money

Room Tip: Room 3 at back of guest house - quiet but no curtains
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sibford Gower, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2012

Based on good reviews we booked two rooms for an early start to the Paralympics at Dorney. We had a double and a twin both furnished in the style I remember at home in the 60's. Functional and clean. The cat would have had a migraine in the en suite but for one night with an early exit this was fine. Indeed the early exit did not allow us to enjoy the superbly presented breakfast. Philip went out of his way to be helpful and we would definitely recommend staying here.

Room Tip: We had room 10 under the eaves. It was hot so the windows were open allowing some noise in but it ha...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Crawley, England, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2012

We stayed at the Lawn Guest House over the weekend of August 10th/11th to attend a nearby wedding, and had the best time!
Phillip welcomed us on arrival and showed us to our room. It was lovely and cosy, with a newly refurbed bathroom. They had provided us with a travel cot for our daughter, and with that included - the room was still spacious!
Phillip was lovely and friendly, always available to help and for a chat.
The best part of the stay by far though was the AMAZING breakfasts....!!! Totally the best cooked breakfast iv had in my life, so we took advantage and had one both mornings. The staff were all friendly and helpful, and very attentive.
The Lawn Guest House is set on a beautiful road, full of equally enormous houses/guest houses, in a beautiful area, and very quiet. We slept very well both nights.

Thankyou all very much - We will definately stay here again.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Lawn Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Lawn Guest House

Address: 6 Boyn Hill Avenue, Maidenhead SL6 4ER, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Berkshire > Windsor and Maidenhead > Maidenhead
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 17 B&Bs / Inns in Maidenhead
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — The Lawn Guest House 2*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A large victorian house located in center of Maidenhead.A large parking area (up to 10 vehicles) adds to the convenience. Full en-suite rooms available as well as large family rooms.Lawns Guest House is positioned in the centre of Maidenhead, and is a 5-minute walk to the town centre or railway station.The Lawns is a 10-minute drive from 2, 3-Michelin star restaurants. The Fat Duck, owned by Heston Blumenthal., and The Waterside Inn owned by the Roux Family.The Lawns is also only a 10 minute Car drive to Dorney Lake.Dorney Lake is set in 400 acres of parklands, and is scheduled to hold the 2012 Olympic Rowing events.Lawns Guest House rooms all feature free 40MBS Fibre Optic Wi-Fi, Flat Screen LED TV, and tea/coffee making facilities. Most rooms also have a private bathroom. Free all-day parking is available.Ascot Racecourse, Windsor and Legoland are 15 minutes by car, and London can be reached by train in 20 minutes from Maidenhead railway station. The guesthouse is only a 12 miles from Heathrow Airport. The Lawns is within easy reach of the M4, M40 and M25, providing quick and excellent access to Slough, Oxford, Reading, Windsor, Eton, Henley and High Wycombe. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Despegar.com and Tingo so you can book your The Lawn Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Lawn Guest House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.