We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great place to chill” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Jagz

Jagz
Station Hill, Ascot SL5 9EG, England
+44 1344 878100
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #34 of 40 Restaurants in Ascot
Price range: $6 - $31
Cuisines: British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Description: Jagz is one of Berkshire leading live music venues showcasing local, national & international acts 6 nights a week. As well as the Live music Venue we have are front bar which hosts our popular weekly Sunday carvery. And a Nightclub open every Friday & Saturday.
Farnborough, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“great place to chill”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

We spent a very enjoyable suny bank holiday Monday here ,sitting on the terrace putting the world to rights.
The atmosphere is very relaxed,the music is nicely mixed and not so loud that you cannot have a civilised conversation. The Bar B Q food is tasty,varied and good portions at a reasonable price.The drinks are not too pricey and the staff well mannered and friendly.All in all a great place to spend a few hours with friends listening to some good music.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

56 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    23
    18
    4
    5
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Sandhurst, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Worst fish and chips ever”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2013

My wife recenlty ordered fish and chips from the bar menu at Jagz in Ascot. It proved to be a big mistake. Without doubt it was the worst either of us has ever eaten, and we are aged 62 and 60 so we have eaten a few in our time. Every item on the plate was completely tasteless. The chips were quite obviously old and re-heated, and as a result were leathery and unappetising. The mushy peas I can only describe as green wallpaper paste. Lord knows what was in the creamy white sludge they served up as tartar sauce, but it certainly wasn't anything with any flavour or nutritional value. The fish was greasy, overcooked and entirely without flavour. The service was friendly enough and the food was pretty cheap at £7, but we do expect something edible even at that price. I've had far better fish and chips out of newspaper from a mobile roadside diner.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JagzStn, Manager at Jagz, responded to this review, July 29, 2013
Hello

I have just taken over managing the Jagz Tripadvisor page and have seen that you weren't at all happy with your meal when you were here.

If you would like to email me on bookings@jagz.co.uk, I will be more than happy to get a voucher out to you for a complimentary meal for two to try and rectify this in some small way.

Thanks
Claire
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maidenhead
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“A Fun Evening”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2013

Not been to Jagz before, but rang up last minute on Saturday and booked a table in the stage area for some food and to listen to/watch "Back 2 Funk".
It looked a bit dodgy on arrival, but was friendly and great fun once inside. Food was from a simple menu, which was fine and the band were great. Service was a bit slow at one stage, but without us saying anything, there were apologies and a free drink each.
All in all s fun evening.

    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bury St. Edmunds, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
88 reviews 88 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
“Great Party Venue.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2013

Came here for a friends birthday and had a great time. Service was friendly and welcoming. Food was good value for money and hit the spot. Drinks are reasonably priced and the decor is tasteful. As a party guest i had a more than pleasant experience of this venue and would have no issues returning again in future based on what we saw.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
“Good food spot”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2012

Went in here for a lunch time meal with friends. Quiet, but pleasant atmosphere. Very good food, though - I went here a year or so ago for food and it has improved a lot. Nothing too ambitious with the food, so all very well cooked and presented, and good value too.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Jagz also viewed

Ascot, Windsor and Maidenhead
Ascot, Windsor and Maidenhead
 
Ascot, Windsor and Maidenhead
Ascot, Windsor and Maidenhead
 

Been to Jagz? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Jagz, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.