We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Golden Wedding Anniversary.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Highclere Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Highclere Hotel to your Saves list
Highclere Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   19 Kings Rd | Sunninghill, Ascot SL5 9AD, England   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Ascot
Bexhill-on-Sea, United Kingdom
1 review
“Golden Wedding Anniversary.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2013

Thank you for the card and Champaign in our room making our anniversary a very special, pleasant and memorable weekend for us and all of our family. We were all very impressed and pleased with your clean and superbly finished hotel and the friendly helpful staff.
Also the village is within easy walking distance and Sandy and Philip were most helpful in advising and booking our restaurant and taxi requirements in advance.
We are hoping to be able to return next year and would not hesitate to recommend this Hotel.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Highclere_Hotel, Owner at Highclere Hotel, responded to this review, March 20, 2014
Hello Brian S. Thank you for sharing your Golden Wedding Anniversary with us. It's always such a joy to play even a small part in such a wonderful day as one's 50th wedding anniversary. What an encouragement to those of us not long into the adventure of marriage; and an inspiration to your family and friends. Hopefully we'll see you again at your Diamond Anniversary. Thank you for your kind words. Regards, Phillip Curtis 07707022835
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

89 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    55
    24
    3
    5
    2
See reviews for
14
28
7
18
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Halesowen
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2013

Thanks for making our wedding anniversary that much more special, your hotel was superb in everyway, nothing was to much trouble.
The room was very nice and we enjoyed a great nights rest, as hosts you could not have done more.
We will certainly look forward to visiting you again.
I would recommend this hotel to our friends

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Highclere_Hotel, Owner at Highclere Hotel, responded to this review, September 25, 2013
Hello Pete H. It was wonderful to be part of your special day, and more so because you enjoyed it so much. Thank you for staying with us and for your excellent review of us. We look forward to seeing you both again soon. Regards, Phillip Curtis
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2013

Spend a very pleasant one night stay here as we were visiting area for Ascot Races. Despite website saying room would be ready at 3 pm we checked in just before midday which allowed to get dressed for races and was immediately impressed with room. Perhaps slightly small for more than a one nighter, it was immaculately clean and well presented with an extremely comfortable bed, flat screen tv, small table and chair and a built in wardrobe. Very welcoming to find tea and coffee making facilities in our room which just lately we have found some hotels do not have so that was great after a long drive.
The en suite was very modern and clean with a nice big shower.
Great night sleep and even with window open it was quiet. Off street parking and a great breakfast all made it a great place to stay. Only about 3 miles from race course. Highly Recommended

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Highclere_Hotel, Owner at Highclere Hotel, responded to this review, September 25, 2013
Hello Dan2008Uk. Thank you for staying with us and for your succinct, yet thorough, review of our hotel. It's clear you are well travelled and your opinions highly regarded by other travellers; which adds to the quality of it. An excellent review from you is not easily earned and i'm glad you included us in that category. Come back again soon. Kind regards, Phillip Curtis
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Olhao, Portugal
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2013

Very good hotel! Excellent environment and delicious breakfast. Quiet night and room. Good for a different weekend with some things to do near or for a business travel. Near there are also other services available. I recommend.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Highclere_Hotel, Owner at Highclere Hotel, responded to this review, September 25, 2013
Hello Dorinda. Thank you for staying with us and for taking the time to write your review. Your kind words are welcome and we look forward to your next trip. Kind regards, Phillip Curtis
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cannock, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2013 via mobile

Just arrived home after a wonderful trip to ascot races where we stayed in The Highclere.
The village where it is located is lovely. Some nice little shops and cafes all within easy reach.
The hotel itself is well presented and the staff very helpful. My husband forgot his cuff links and the owner very kindled leant him a pair. The rooms are very clean and comfortable. We had a first floor front elevation double superior room and the bay window to the bed area was lovely. Breakfast was good and didn't want for anything, maybe a little bacon, but what was offered was sufficient and very good quality. The staff were very friendly and very helpful.
Overall a fantastic place.
We will definately use again and bring our little one as they have family rooms too. Ideal base for Lego Land, Windsor Castle and Thorpe Park to name just a few.
Fab.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Highclere_Hotel, Owner at Highclere Hotel, responded to this review, September 25, 2013
Hello pughy75. So nice to read your review and how we helped to make your stay with us that extra bit special. Your praise for our hotel and services is graciously received, and we look forward to welcoming your whole family (baby and all) in the near future. Kind regards, Phillip Curtis
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harrogate, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2013

We stayed here to take our son to Legoland. The hotel staff were really pleasant and helpful and went out of their way to make our stay as enjoyable as possible. The lady even gave our son a bottle of milk to help him sleep, and they let us eat in their breakfast room late at night as we arrived later than planned (which they were totally fine about). It is the only hotel I have stayed at where they actually take your bags to your room and show you where everything is, even down to where the light switches were. The rooms were clean, bright and more comfortable than most hotels are. Really quiet area. Just a generally pleasant stay. Only 12 miles from Legoland too so very handy!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Highclere_Hotel, Owner at Highclere Hotel, responded to this review, September 25, 2013
Hello Julia H. We enjoyed serving you and your family and are pleased that you felt so well looked after. Thank you for staying with us and for your lovely review. Kind regards, Phillip Curtis
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tavistock, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2013

We recently stayed at this hotel for three nights and found the owner and staff very friendly and helpful. Phillip recommended places to eat which were very good. We had room 5 which was lovely and had a comfortable double bed for my wife and I and a single bed for our 5 year old grandson who we took to Legoland. The hotel is situated in a lovely village and all local amenities are within walking distance. We will definetley be returning to visit Windsor. Thankyou for making our stay with you very enjoyable our grandson also wants to return next year. I would definitely recommend this hotel to friends and family and hope to stay with you again next year :-)

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Highclere_Hotel, Owner at Highclere Hotel, responded to this review, September 25, 2013
Hello Paul C: Thank you for staying with us. I'm glad that you found our hotel so convenient for your trip to Windsor and that you were comfortable and well looked after by the staff. Thank you for taking the time to write your review - I appreciate it. Kind regards, Phillip Curtis
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Highclere Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Highclere Hotel

Address: 19 Kings Rd | Sunninghill, Ascot SL5 9AD, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Berkshire > Windsor and Maidenhead > Ascot
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Ascot
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Highclere Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set in Sunninghill village near Ascot, 10 minutes from the M25, M4, M3 & the A30. Conveniently located with shops, restaurants and pubs close by. Heathrow Airport is just 20-minutes away.Main business areas of Bracknell, Reading, Staines, Windsor nearby.Flexible check-in times (please call to discuss), Free WiFi and Free on-site parkingLocal attractions include: Royal Ascot, Wentworth GC, Windsor Castle, Windsor Great Park, Virginia Water Lake, Saville Gardens, Legoland, Thorpe Park ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Despegar.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Highclere Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Highclere Hotel Berkshire/Ascot

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Highclere Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.