We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Regular diners” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Duke of Edinburgh

Duke of Edinburgh
Woodside Road | Woodside, Ascot SL4 2DP, England
01344-882736
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #4 of 40 Restaurants in Ascot
Price range: $24 - $32
Cuisines: European, English
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Oxford, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Regular diners”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2012

Windsor & Eton 41 Club (ex-Round Tablers) meet at the Dof E every month for supper.
This is a pub with a restaurant-bias which consistently serves good wholesome food in quantity
all delivered by friendly, personable staff at good value prices.
As a Spurs supporter the only downside is that the landlord is a Chelsea fan, but then you can't have everything!

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

193 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    126
    46
    11
    6
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Ascot, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
65 helpful votes 65 helpful votes
“Great pub...great food...”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2012

This is a terrific little pub with a good mix of drinkers (who can enjoy some excellent real ales as well as a good selection of lagers) and diners.

The food is excellent. On a Sunday, you would be hard pressed to find a better traditional Sunday lunch. The portions are enormous, with the half shoulder of lamb being my favourite.

Other dishes top of my list are the liver,bacon and onions ; and the enormous Duke Burger. The menu is vast and there are also plenty for non-carnivores to choose from.

Nick and Annie keep the place running brilliantly, and Team Duke (the smiley barmaids) ensure that you won't wait to be served.

There is a nice beer garden for warmer days, and dogs are also welcome...look out for the friendly pub bulldogs, Ethel and Mabel.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ascot, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Minime”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2012

A lovely welcome and prompt service at the bar. Large choice of dishes. Not too long to wait and when it arrived it was presented well.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Windsor, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Always a delight”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2012

We visit the Duke of Edinburgh frequently, to eat and to just have a beer. There is always an excellent, warm and friendly welcome from the staff. The real ale is of a superb quality and the meals are consistantly great. Both great taste and great value. I so like the pub I am organising my birthday party there; and I wouldn't do that in just any old pub.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DukeOfEdinburgh, Manager at Duke of Edinburgh, responded to this review, October 31, 2012
We are really pleased that you enjoy coming to the Duke. We pride ourselves on our excellent food , real ale and being a warm friendly pub. We look forward to seeing you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bracknell, United Kingdom
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“The best place for great food and service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2012

We have been going there for years now and we woudn't go anywhere else, everyone is very friendly and the food is always excellent. If they had a better rating I would pick it.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Duke of Edinburgh also viewed

Ascot, Windsor and Maidenhead
Sunninghill, Ascot
 
Ascot, Windsor and Maidenhead
Ascot, Windsor and Maidenhead
 

Been to Duke of Edinburgh? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Duke of Edinburgh, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.