We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Don't be put off by the exterior” 5 of 5 stars
Review of il restoronte alpino

il restoronte alpino
70A New Canal | Salisbury, Salisbury SP1 2AQ, England
(0)1722 338932
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #161 of 218 Restaurants in Salisbury
Cuisines: Italian, Continental
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Salisbury, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
“Don't be put off by the exterior”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2013

Can't remeber how many times I have eaten here. Little door on the street that you could miss then it's on up to the bar area on the first floor, you order here and have a drink whilst you wait then its on up to the next floor to the small restaraunt to eat. Good Italian food reasonably priced, especially the lunch time menu

  • Visited March 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

58 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    27
    19
    5
    3
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Berkshire, England
Top Contributor
120 reviews 120 reviews
53 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 54 cities Reviews in 54 cities
84 helpful votes 84 helpful votes
“A mixed experience”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2012

I had been meaning to visit this restaurant for some time so when the opportunity arose today I was pleased to have lunch here.
The staff were very friendly but I do have to say that the premises seemed a bit run down.
We had an espresso in the downstairs bar area first and then went upstairs to eat. The restaurant was fairly basic with paper table cloths. There were views of Salisbury from the windows. The menus we were handed were a bit on the elderly side but this is not necessarily a bad sign in my experience.
We asked for Italian mineral water but none was available and we had to have a litre of Scottish water which was ok as there were two people to drink it up.
I had the House ravioli which was disappointing, quite small with a sauce that had chopped up bits of sliced ham in it and small sliced mushrooms. For a House pasta dish it let the side down somewhat.
My friend however had the Diavola pizza and this was excellent.
My overall impression was that the place could do with a little TLC but I would return for lunch and order a pizza.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salisbury
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Fabulous Italian”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2012

I've been going to Alpino's for a number of years now. The food portions are generous, it tastes Devine, fairly priced & you always get great service. A quaint family run authentic Italian restaurant. There are however 2 lots of stairs to get up to the restaurant which isn't too great for anyone with walking difficulties. Would recommend it to anyone

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“A little Italian Gem.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2012

Luckily my friend new this restaurant when we visited Salisbury for the weekend. It would be easy to miss unless you were in the know. You can't see the restaurant from the street. As I walked up the rather scruffy stairs, I wondered what I would find! However, I needn't have worried - on the first floor was a cosy bar where our orders were taken. Before long we were led upstairs to the light airy restaurant.
The food was delicious with generous portions and the waiters were attentive and friendly. I would definitely eat here again and will look forward to returning to Salisbury before too long.

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salisbury, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“loved it.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2012

My mum had been taking me here for years, since i was a toddler!

its probably one of the most original resturants in salisury, the food is lovely and the prices are great. the service is really good and fast! Vino is lovely, and is very polite.

excellent atmosphere :)

going to start taking the 5 month old as soon as he can eat real food, to keep up the family tradition!

  • Visited July 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed il restoronte alpino also viewed

Salisbury, Wiltshire
 
Salisbury, Wiltshire
Salisbury, Wiltshire
 

Been to il restoronte alpino? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage il restoronte alpino, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.