We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely Indian food. Really like the garlic and coriander naan bread” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hox Brasserie

Hox Brasserie
155 Fisherton Street, Salisbury SP2 7RP, England
44 01722 341600
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #12 of 221 Restaurants in Salisbury
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $30 - $38
Cuisines: Indian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Large groups, Special occasions, Entertaining clients, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Delivery, Late Night, Reservations
Salisbury, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
84 reviews 84 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“Lovely Indian food. Really like the garlic and coriander naan bread”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2013

Lovely Indian food. Really like the garlic and coriander naan bread. I had potato cakes as a starter and they were tasty.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

191 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    121
    53
    12
    2
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Salisbury, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Great Food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2013

My Family and I often dine at Hox. Its a great place always serving good quality food. Nice friendly helpful staff

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salisbury, United Kingdom
1 review
“Never ceases to delight!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2013

We have held our monthly Just Curry Salisbury Business Curry Club at Hox for the past couple of months - and everyone of us thoroughly enjoys the while evening. The decor is classy, the atmosphere is lovely, the staff are attentive and helpful but not constantly badgering you (as I have noticed in a few other restaurants). There is no pressure to rush your meal, they want you to enjoy every last mouthful!

Then we get to the food. Absolutely delicious - the Malai Tikka for starter was out of this world, genuinely didn't want it stop run out! I enjoyed thoroughly a Chicken Vindaloo with mushroom rice, accompanied with a Peshwari Naan - the Vindaloo was spot on - fiery and fiesty - retaining the focus on the flavours, not simply the heat factor. No surplus grease or oil in sight - you can tell the chef prides himself on every element of the meal - not simply the main, but the sides too.

Highly recommend visiting Hox, they cost a little more than other Indians in the area - but they more than compensate for that by the experience and quality of their cuisine.

Thank you Hox - see you for the next curry club!

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salisbury, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“First class Hox once again”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2013

First class, easy-going, friendly service, exceptional food, a real treat. All reasons to visit and enjoy Hox, which continues to serve up excellence in all ways.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salisbury, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Very good take-away food - not eaten in the restaurant”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2013

Our regular haunt for an Indian takeaway. Very good quality of food, and reasonably priced. They don't deliver, so you will have to collect. We can't comment on the restaurant service, but the take-away service is very good. Certainly our favourite Indian take-away in Salisbury.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Hox Brasserie also viewed

 

Been to Hox Brasserie? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hox Brasserie, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.