We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect place to stay for a relaxing break!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of St Ann's House B&B

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added St Ann's House B&B to your Saves list
St Ann's House B&B
32 - 34 St Ann Street, Salisbury SP1 2DP , England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #16 of 52 Salisbury B&B and Inns
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Perfect place to stay for a relaxing break!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2012

My partner and I stayed at St Anns House for the weekend and had one of the best weekends we've had in a long while. The hotel was situated in the perfect location, it was about a 5-10 minute walk to the town centre and very close to the cathedral, yet was very quiet and peaceful at night.

We had a premium room which was fabulous, it was furnished with tasteful antiques, a very comfortable bed and inteteresting art work. The ensuite was small but clean and functional and had a good hot shower and was perfectly adequate. My partner and I usually stay in large 5 star hotels, so this was a refreshing change, and was equally as comfortable and luxurious (if not more so) than larger ones.
Michael (the proprietor) was a very good host, he was informative and knowledgable about the local area and recommended a very nice italian restaraunt which we enjoyed, he was not in your face, but readily available and helpful if you needed him. Sadly, I can't comment on the breakfast as me and my partner were too hungover to make it down on time which is shameful.

Salisbury is a very attractive and interesting historical city with much to do and see and is the perfect location for a break from smelly London for the weekend.

If we come back to Salisbury again we will be back!

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

205 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    138
    36
    16
    10
    5
See reviews for
29
90
24
35
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2012 via mobile

Hi we stayed at this venue yesterday, and it is a great location for a b and b

It's only a few minutes from town centre...

Room was nice - en suite - shower, nice linen and towels .

Bed was a bit soft for us, but appreciate everybody has preferences. Floor hdnt been hoovered, but Owner seems a nice chap who tried to explain best attractions locally.

We chose not to have the cooked breakfast £8.95 each - but the non cooked was plentiful - we don't normally eat. Lot at breakfast - ours was a premium room...

Location was quiet, and Parking Was on the road after 6pm on a Saturday eve...

  • Stayed March 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2012

I stayed at St Ann's for business in the first instance but enjoyed my stay so much that my wife and I organised several weekends away together. This did mean that she found out about the cracking cooked breakfasts that I had been tucking into every morning - but it was still well worth it.

Michael, the owner and host, is very welcoming and has a wealth of information about the restaurants and bars around Salisbury. I really appreciated all the recommendations that he made and found it a very positive reflection on the whole area how one business would give such a glowing report of others.

Michael is also an amazing cook which means that whether you go for the continental or the cooked breakfast, you will be very impressed. The B&B is in a perfect location. Salisbury Cathedral is just down the road and through St Ann's Gate and there are plenty of restaurants and pubs a short walk away.

The B&B is in a very impressive Georgian house. The doubles I stayed in were excellent value with a good amount of space, ensuite shower rooms, and writing bureaus which made the difference for me.

I have already received thanks back from friends and colleagues who have taken up my recommendation to stay at St Ann's. Michael's B&B is not just a great place to stay but a place with very good service, run by a family who will really look after you (including Coco the dog), and marvellous breakfasts.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
southerner in the midlands
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2012

We loved staying in the posh town of Salisbury surrounded by so much history. We used St Ann's for a small family party where there were about 20 of us with most of us staying in the hotel. Michael is an execellent cook, using his own expert knowledge combined with our ideas for an intimate get-together. It was amazing not to have to share our 'do' with anyone else as would have been the case using a fuction room in a larger more impersonal hotel.
Rooms were individually designed in sumptious fabrics. Ours was very small needing the hand basin to be in the bedroom outside of the bathroom but this is unavoidable in such an old building. Other family rooms were much larger. The rooms are fairly clean.
The hotel is not contantly manned as Michael lives nearby but is available (mobile phone signal permitting!) whenever needed. Each guest has a key and there is an honesty kitchen and bar-rather feeling like home from home!
The lack of parking outside is a problem throughout Salisbury being as it's such an old town. Michael provided us with directions for public parking throughout our stay but it has to be remembered that this will add to the over all cost to your stay. We enjoyed the inevitable trip to Stonehenge but used the tour bus which took us to even more fascinating historical sites.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Exeter, United Kingdom
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2012

This was the second time at st anne's and again we were struck by charm of both the accomodation and host, Micheal. Both the rooms we stayed in were elegant and stylish and had excellent hot and powerful showers. The beds are comfortable and the linen luxurious.
Both the cooked and continental breakfast were great, and Michael a trained chef, obviously takes great pride in the quality of the food he offers - I particularly loved his homemade marmalade with aniseed.

Room Tip: have seen three and stayed in 2 - all excellent.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2012

I have just returned from a wonderful stay at St. Ann's in Salisbury, and I couldn't asked for more. The staff were very accommodating and allowed me to check in two hours early so I could tour the city. My single room was very nicely decorated and had everything I needed. It was really lovely to chat with Michael in the morning during breakfast and he offered several suggestions for hidden gems in Salisbury. I hope to return for another trip very soon!

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2012

I spent 5 weeks at St. Ann's on a business trip and could not have picked a more hospitable and welcoming spot. Michael and Duygu were incredibly helpful and became great friends by the end of my stay there. Thanks to Michael's culinary talents breakfast was something I looked forward to everyday.

I cant wait to get back there in 2012.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to St Ann's House B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about St Ann's House B&B

Address: 32 - 34 St Ann Street, Salisbury SP1 2DP , England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Wiltshire > Salisbury
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 52 B&Bs / Inns in Salisbury
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At St Anns House we combine the very best of everything – the elegance and discretion of a country house hotel, the attention to detail of a proudly managed guest house, and a reputation around the world for our fabulous breakfasts, personally prepared by chef/owner Michael Riley. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda and TripOnline SA so you can book your St Ann's House B&B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
St Ann`s House Hotel Salisbury

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage St Ann's House B&B, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.