We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I wouldn't recommend it” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Qudos Hotel

Save Saved
You added Qudos Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Qudos Hotel
38 Castle St, Salisbury SP1 1BN, England (Formerly White Horse Hotel)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #31 of 51 Salisbury B&B and Inns
Illinois
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“I wouldn't recommend it”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2013

We spent three nights at Qudos on our travels around England and I can honestly say that this was, by far, the worst place that we stayed on the whole trip. Upon arrival, we checked in at the bar and were given the key to the notorious Room 12. One of the staff carried my large suitcase up to the room for me (which was much appreciated). Upon opening the door, however, we found someone else's luggage in our room, so it was back down to the bar to tell them of our discovery. Someone came and took the mysterious luggage away. Our room was small and had a large window. Since it was a little warm, we tried to open it, but it wouldn't open, so another trip downstairs to ask if someone could help us open the window. A guy came up and tried, but it was painted shut. He did kindly bring us a small fan to help cool off the room as much as possible. The first night was OK, but then it was all down hill from there. The second and third nights were live music nights and Room 12 is directly over the stage. (Why they put us in that room when we were staying several nights and there were obviously other rooms available, I will never know.) We had been told that the music could be somewhat loud, but we were not told the whole truth. The music was SO loud that it literally vibrated the entire room! It was like trying to relax inside a big, giant speaker. This continued until 11:30 both Thursday and Friday evenings. We decided that we would put up with it, because they had warned us that it would be loud. I just want others to know that it is so much more than you can imagine. As far as I'm concerned, that room should never be rented out on nights when the pub has live music. My husband and I decided that the owners of Qudos were much more interested in the bar/restaurant and saw the room rentals as nothing more than a little extra money on the side. The location was great, the room itself was OK, but the noise, the noise...

Room Tip: Avoid Room #12!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
alexmanager, Manager at Qudos Hotel, responded to this review, June 12, 2013
We do advertise on booking sites that we are a live music venue. Guests are also informed on check in that we have music in our venue. If you had spoken we any member of staff or myself, we could have moved you to the second floor. But as nothing was said by yourselves we assumed everything was ok. The previous guest had left the luggage in the room without telling us, as soon as we found this out we moved it. The chamber maids are instructed not to touch guests luggage unless told to do so.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

112 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    33
    33
    22
    16
    8
See reviews for
8
44
9
19
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Folkestone, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2013

My husband and I attended a private view in Salisbury of Rex Whistlers work great. We needed some simple accommodation and ideally a bar so that once the event was finished we had somewhere to go.

Friendly on the phone. Car park was additional at £7.50 which seemed a bit expensive and was a short walk from the place. Friendly arrival staff. Room okay, shower could have been cleaner and overall the whole place is looking a little tired.

Bar staff didn't know what he was talking about - when asked did they do bar snacks he looked around, spotted the menu and said yes tentatively. When I asked if the chips were freshly cut and not frozen he said yes - he was wrong they were straight out of the freezer and not good. The bar was expensive. Although we were informed there was not breakfast available it still seems odd for a hotel not to offer.

Anyway it delivered. A comfortable night in a city

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the second floor and not on the stage side of the hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
alexmanager, Manager at Qudos Hotel, responded to this review, June 12, 2013
Sorry to hear that the service from the bar was not up to standard. The member of staff has now left, we do train our staff to be knowledgeable on all aspects of the hotel and clearly this person was unable to carry out the training given. He has now left.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
79 reviews 79 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2013

I have written nearly 50 reviews and only received positive comments, my guess is that the owner of the Qudos will object to this review, lets hope he is as good as his word and returns my payment!!
I've been on the road this week and stayed in 5 different hotels, in my life I have stayed in 100's but this is the first time I have been ejected from a hotel.
My office booked me into this hotel and I arrived at around 6pm, the bar was empty and I managed to find the lady behind the bar who carried my bags up to room 12 but didn't tell me that my room was over the music stage. Room 12 is small, OK for 1 person, well decorated, clean and most of the facilities one would want. The bathroom is very small and there are no beside lights or drawer space. It seemed OK, but I cannot report on the shower, bed etc, as I wasn't able to use them.
My colleague, who stayed the night before soon arrived at the hotel and we sat in the bar (there is no lounge) and chewed the fat and decided that the menu was quite limiting and that we would eat out. We returned around 8.30 and moved to the quietest part of the bar with a glass of nice wine as the singer started. After an hour we said goodnight and I returned to Room 12 and discovered that the room was very noisy, so much so that when I phoned my wife she could hear the music over the mobile phone. At around 10.15pm I phoned the hotel and asked what time the music finished--11.30! I suggested I wasn't told that on arrival or that I was aware of this (I have since been informed that is on their website, so sorry for saying it wasn't), over the very loud music, I asked to be moved to another room, this request was ignored, instead the lady said this is a music grill, I responded that I would report this to travel advisor and would seek to demand my bill was cancelled, the lady responded (after a delay) that the boss said I could leave, I said I didn't want to and we hung up (not sure who did what first). A few minutes later there was a knock at the door, I hoped it was someone offering a quieter room, instead I was violently pushed into my room by someone who demanded I leave in 5 minutes time. I was accused of threatening and violent behaviour to a member of staff. (if you feel this might be the case please see my other Travel Advisor reviews and draw your own conclusions). My questions as to what I had done wrong were unanswered, and I felt threatened by the behaviour of this person, I tried to explain that I had a heart condition and felt I was in danger of being harmed and asked him to relax, this was also ignored. The man left and said he would be back in 5-minutes. I packed up my things and tried to identify the non-999 number to seek help from the police, as I was connected there was banging on the door and on asking who I was informed it was the owner of the hotel, I opened the door and it was the man who had pushed me earlier, he prevented me continuing my call to the police, his earlier behaviour was a worry to me. I felt he was trying to prevent me carrying my bags out of the small room, but finally I made it, he led me to an emergency exit. Outside there were steep metal stairs, as I started to descend, he was now behind me and started to nudge me in the back with his arms
and I felt frightened I would fall. At the bend of the stairs, I sat down and asked him to back-up, he refused until I called loudly for help. Having made it down the stairs into the dark courtyard, I felt so threatened, that I called again for help as he made threatening moves towards me. Why would he want to threaten an old man????
So in conclusion if you want to stay in a hotel that offers a limited menu, no breakfasts, no staff in the morning, noisy small but well decorated rooms, helpful staff as you arrive but ignoring staff later and a manager that offers and provides violent behaviour then the Qudos is for you, but don't ask to change rooms! Oh, I could not go back as I've been banned! Make sure you know where to park before you arrive, I followed the signs and ended up in the courtyard!
On discussing this event with my wife she suggests that either the manager was under the influence or that he had received numerous other complaints regarding the noise. Do I have proof of the violent behaviour, no, his word against mine, who do you believe?

Room Tip: If you don't want to go to bed early (before 11.30) and are by yourself Room 12 seemed OK.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
alexmanager, Manager at Qudos Hotel, responded to this review, May 19, 2013
In response to your review, you fail to mention the real reason you were ejected from our hotel. You rang reception and used foul, abusive and threatening language to a female member of my staff to complain about the accoustic guitar player we had performing. You referred to her as a "little girl" on two occasions . I cannot print the language you used on the phone to her on this page. Then when she went to your room to speak with you , you again used foul and abusive language to her. There are ways to complain or raise issues and you clearly have no social skills or any awareness of the correct way to treat another human being. We work in a service industry and we do everything we can to be courteous and polite to our guests. In this situation you left us with no alternative but to remove you from our hotel as we will not tolerate intimidation of our staff. You could have asked politely to be moved, but the anger and abuse you displayed made your situation untenable. You were not physical threatened.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paraparaumu, New Zealand
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2013

We were sad to leave - loved the location - room, food were excellent. The staff were helpful (thanks Alex) and the music was a bonus. A great place to stay when taking in the sights of Salisbury. Arriving in time for market day was an extra bonus.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
alexmanager, Manager at Qudos Hotel, responded to this review, May 19, 2013
Hi thanks for your kind review , glad you enjoyed your stay! I am glad you enjoyed our food and hope the wine went down well

Alex @Qudos
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coventry, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2013

Had booked a Saturday night stay at Qudos to enjoy a meal and free music via Laterooms.com but when we arrived they had no record of our booking. However the girl behind the bar was a star and spent ages trying to find us alternative accommodation , which she did ,in a guest house The Victoria Lodge, just down the road. 5 stars for her excelent help! We did eat at Qudos and it was very good,beer good and we really enjoyed the music.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
alexmanager, Manager at Qudos Hotel, responded to this review, May 15, 2013
Hi , thank you for your kind review, its great to hear Sarah was able to help you out and I shall pass your comments on to her! We are very glad you popped in for dinner and enjoyed yourselves and I am pleased my staff did all they could to help you .

Alex manager at Qudos
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2013

Alex was very welcoming and patient when we were trying to work out where to park. Parking is down the road but only a minutes walk. We had large heavy cases and the walk with them was not bad. As there were spare rooms we were given a bigger room (15) at the front of the hotel at no extra charge and without asking for it. they provide you with keys so that you can access the hotel out of hours with no problems.

All good - neat and clean, and we thought reasonable. walking distance to the market and the cathedral. Market day is tuesday.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
alexmanager, Manager at Qudos Hotel, responded to this review, May 3, 2013
Many thanks for your kind review, its great to hear positive feedback ! I am glad you enjoyed your stay and hope to see you again if you travel back to England. Thanks for bringing the sun !! -Alex
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2013

My Wife and I stayed here for a Friday and Saturday night. Check in is via the bar and was very simple. We had the suite which was large and comfortable. As is made clear in advance there is no breakfast but this is central Salisbury so no problem. Parking is limited and must be booked in advance but there are public car parks nearby. This is a music venue so expect some noise till 23.30 but we were not bothered. Rooms were very clean. Good deal for the price, more of a pub with rooms than a Hotel but good if you do not feel the need to be fussed over.

Room Tip: The suite is at the top of the building and so is farthest from the music
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
alexmanager, Manager at Qudos Hotel, responded to this review, May 1, 2013
Hi we are glad everything was to your liking, and you found the suite to comfortable, we love to hear feedback as it helps us to improve our service to our guests.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Qudos Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Qudos Hotel

Address: 38 Castle St, Salisbury SP1 1BN, England (Formerly White Horse Hotel)
Location: United Kingdom > England > Wiltshire > Salisbury
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #31 of 51 B&Bs / Inns in Salisbury
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Qudos, located right in the city centre is a quintessential Victorian Hotel which has recently been refurbished to a high standard, whilst retaining its original period charm. The downstairs has been extensively refurbished to provide a chic new bar and contemporary restaurant. Qudos proudly promotes the venue as unique having a dedicated area where musicians can come and perform playing all music styles from Blues to Jazz, Acoustic Rock to Classical music. We are a live music venue, so please note the music from the bands will be audible until midnight on Thursdays, Fridays and Saturdays. Residents are invited to enjoy all the music offered whilst being assured we keep strict guidelines on the times of the music to ensure the quiet enjoyment of our guests. Our rooms have recently been refurbished, boasting all of the modern amenities one would expect, whilst having the relaxed feel that one desires. Parking is extremely limited on site, however there is on street parking directly adjacent on Scots lane and the central car park is a 2 minute stroll, with free parking overnight between the hours of 6 pm and 8am, and daily parking from £7.40. We are able to offer pre-booked parking at a cost of £5 per car. Qudos is an excellent place from which to visit Salisbury and its surrounding countryside, whilst being able to sample some fantastic music in what is Salisbury's premier over 25's bar and restaurant. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL and Agoda so you can book your Qudos Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Qudos Hotel Salisbury

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Qudos Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.