We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bright, friendly, perfect!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Old Rectory Bed & Breakfast

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Salisbury
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Old Rectory Bed & Breakfast
75 Belle Vue Road, Salisbury SP1 3YE, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #9 of 51 Salisbury B&B and Inns
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Bright, friendly, perfect!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2013

It's only been a few days, but my partner and I still miss Trish and her friendly, helpful hospitality.
Our clean, bright room overlooked her big, beautiful, peaceful yard and garden -- the perfect venue for eating breakfast outdoors. Just a short pleasant stroll into the heart of fascinating historical Salisbury made the whole experience perfect.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

167 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    150
    14
    1
    1
    1
See reviews for
31
78
26
8
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Essex
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2013

This B&B has to be the best in Salisbury! I have stayed in all 3 rooms on different visits, and all are light and tastefully decorated, some with views over the lovely garden. The ambiance is fresh and friendly. A wide range of breakfast choices was presented, including freshly prepared fruit salad. Trish is a meticulous and conscientious host who will go to any lengths to ensure her guests' needs are met. How anyone can give this B&B a 1-star rating is way beyond my comprehension. I will never stay anywhere else in Salisbury! Well done, Trish.

Room Tip: All rooms are well equipped and have a restful ambience.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
B
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

The Old Rectory B&B is spanking clean and your experience overall will be perfectly pleasant. A nutritious and ample breakfast is provided. The proprietor is pleasant and helpful and you are located just minutes (walking) from where you need to go - which in Salisbury is the city center and the cathedral. It might be helpful to have the place scoped out on a map before you jump in the taxi at the train station - our cabby had a bit of trouble finding it. That said, no other cabbie we used thereafter had trouble.
From Salisbury we made two excursions: one to Lyme Regis (pretty) and one to Stonehenge and the Old Sarum. All good.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013 via mobile

I chose to stay at this B&B based on the advertised price of £30-£40 p/n - and was shocked and astounded to be handed a bill in the morning for £85!!??! The location, whilst not far walk from the city centre is basically a converted house, tired and old, and there are hotels in the city centre cheaper with better facilities. Very simple boring breakfast left me wanting... Was very disappointed overall - the £30-£40 is what it's worth MAX not a penny more!! Be very wary of booking this VERY MEDIOCRE B&B!!

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2013 via mobile

Excellent location, lovely house and garden, easy street parking, stunning rooms not to mention one of the friendliest host I have ever come across! By far the best place to stay in Salisbury! Thank you Trish !

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2013

The impression on here is that this b&b is £30/40 a night. Just paid £85. This standard b&b just isn't worth it. Everything is old & tired. My advice - stay in a nice hotel for the same money and avoid this place.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
footloose44, Owner at The Old Rectory Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, July 7, 2013
I am so sorry you found us expensive - the prices are £30 - £45 per person per night as was quoted to you. Please let me know where you found the place to be 'old and tired' as we must of missed something when re decorating and I would like to put it straight. Thanks you for your comments.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toowoomba
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2013

We stayed with Trish in April 2013 and loved it. The room we were in was huge, beautifully decorated, most comfortable and the bathroom with its lovely big bath, spacious and luxurious. We found a park easily, town was just a walk away. Trish gave us good information for the town and for our day trip to Bath that we were taking. Breakfast was different from the usual bacon and eggs cooked breakfast but made a welcome change to us as we had had a lot of B&B breakfasts by then. We would highly recommend staying at the Old Rectory.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Old Rectory Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Old Rectory Bed & Breakfast

Address: 75 Belle Vue Road, Salisbury SP1 3YE, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Wiltshire > Salisbury
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 51 B&Bs / Inns in Salisbury
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Old Rectory is situated just a short walk to the very heart of Salisbury and many local attractions. With well appointed rooms and helpful friendly staff. The perfect place to rest up when in Salisbury. ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Old Rectory Bed & Breakfast, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added The Old Rectory Bed & Breakfast to your Saves list