We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent B&B” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Rokeby Guest House

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Rokeby Guest House to your Saves list
Rokeby Guest House
4.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   3 Wain-a-Long Rd, Salisbury SP1 1LJ, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #12 of 52 Salisbury B&B and Inns
Canterbury, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Excellent B&B”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2013

Rokeby is a excellent guesthouse, the people running it are friendly an welcoming, it is one of the best b&b that we have ever stayed in. With it's location just a gentle 10 minute stroll from the town centre, we would recommend it to anyone who is looking for good quality well priced accommodation. 5 stars all round.

Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rokeby, Owner at Rokeby Guest House, responded to this review, March 15, 2014
Wow. What can we say? 5 stars all round. It doesn't get better than that. Thank you so much for your excellent review, we really appreciate it.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

379 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    288
    69
    11
    4
    7
See reviews for
44
198
12
45
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (48)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Fairbanks, Alaska
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2013

Such a great stay, I would say overall one of the top two while in Europe! The only downside was that we were unable to get the wifi to work and it that is one thing we looked at everytime we booked a place on booking.com, was if it had wifi or not (as we were booking the night before with the wifi for our next nights stay on our travels). The room had to be the nicest, and yes cutest we had seen on our trip around Europe. The breakfast was amazing and filling. I really have nothing bad to say at all excluding the wifi.

Room Tip: I don't think this place could have a bad room!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rokeby, Owner at Rokeby Guest House, responded to this review, March 15, 2014
Thank you so much for your great review. We will deal with the wi fi as any negative comment is taken very seriously. We are delighted that overall you enjoyed your stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wickford, United Kingdom
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2013

I did, after much research as I am very fussy. Left it to my husband to book and I was quite disappointed he booked a double and not an executive, I need not have worried, the room was delightful, comfy bed and absolutely spotless. Everything you could think of had been thought of, a very varied selection of teas, coffee, chocolate, biscuits, all the toiletries including cotton buds. Flat screen TV. Would definately recommend and stay again. Karen and Mark are great hosts and the breakfast was possibly the best I have had.

Room Tip: Room 1 was on top floor overlooking garden, must be able to manage stairs advantage nice and quite
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rokeby, Owner at Rokeby Guest House, responded to this review, November 23, 2013
Thank you so much for such a wonderful review. We really appreciate your comments, especially as you say you are fussy! We are so glad we matched up to your expectations and enjoyed your stay.
Best wishes Karen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surrey, England
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2013

We made our booking for three nights directly to the hotel as we required a quiet room.We were offered a room on the first floor at the rear of the house that we accepted.
On our arrival, our host greated us warmly and then laid down the house rules regarding parking, late entry and breakfast times. He passed us the room key and directed us to our room on the first floor.
Our room was quite large even though it had been partitioned off to accomodate the shower and toilet. The bed was very comfortable and we had a good nights sleep with no noise whatsoever - Which is surprising because the guest house is less that 100 yards from the A36 ring road. The shower was hot and affective and the bathroom was very clean indeed.
The breakfast provided by the Rokeby was very well prepared and ample. Over the three nights we stayed here, we sampled a variety of options all of which we were fully satisfied with.
The walk into town for an evening meal only takes about 12 minutes but you do need to pass through some seedy, not very well lit areas. A person on their own may prefer to use a taxi.
Summing up - All our creature comforts were taken care of adequately but because the guest house is run so efficiently, we felt it lacked warmth and that 'home from home' feeling.

Room Tip: Rooms at the back are very quiet. The journey into town on a dark wintery evening best taken by cab.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rokeby, Owner at Rokeby Guest House, responded to this review, November 20, 2013
Thank you for your kind review. Thank you for acknowledging your comfort, the great breakfast and the things you did like during your stay. We are sorry that you feel Rokeby lacks warmth. It is hard to balance being efficient with so many rooms to run and being warm and friendly to everyone. Not everybody wants us, or our staff to be in their face, so that really is a personal preference. It is, perhaps the first time someone has raised that criticism as from other reviews we thought we had the balance just right.
Whilst there is a walk into Salisbury it is unfair to say it is "seedy". Salisbury has just won a Purple Flag for being one of the safest cities to be in at night, so again I think your personal preferences have come across loud and clear. We really hope your negative comments don't detract other people from coming to stay here.
Karen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2013

We had a wonderful stay at this guest house and we shall be recommending it to friends and family. The property is lovely and had such a welcome feeling to it, making us feel extremely comfortable. The owners, Karen and Mark were more than helpful and knew the true meaning of good customer service. The room was clean and well presented and the breakfast was simply lovely. Overall, a lovely house with lovely staff!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rokeby, Owner at Rokeby Guest House, responded to this review, November 19, 2013
Thank you so much for such a wonderful review. We are delighted you enjoyed your stay and hope you come again soon.
Best wishes
Karen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Altarnun, Launceston, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2013

Booking was easy & the person dealing with it was most helpful regarding my query re access/stairs to our room as my husband has mobility problems. We had a well appointed room with a huge, comfortable bed and large shower room. Linen, toiletries, provision for drinks etc were all good and the choices & quality of breakfast was very good. A very comfortable stay & convenient for exploring Salisbury & the area around.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rokeby, Owner at Rokeby Guest House, responded to this review, November 17, 2013
Thank you very much for your great review. We are so glad you enjoyed your stay with us.
Karen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheadle, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
104 reviews 104 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2013

When we walked into the room and saw the bathroom we couldn't believe it! The bath was big enough to sleep in but the bed was so comfortable it made more sense to sleep in it. The choice and quality of breakfast was excellent and the staff were friendly and efficient.

Room Tip: Room 8 for the bathroom
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rokeby, Owner at Rokeby Guest House, responded to this review, November 17, 2013
Thank you for your lovely review. We are so glad you enjoyed your stay. It really is a wonderful room and we are so pleased you had the time to really make your time with us relaxing and restful.
Best wishes

Karen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Rokeby Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rokeby Guest House

Address: 3 Wain-a-Long Rd, Salisbury SP1 1LJ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Wiltshire > Salisbury
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 52 B&Bs / Inns in Salisbury
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Rokeby Guest House 4*
Number of rooms: 8
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Expedia, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Rokeby Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Rokeby Guest House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.