We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not very friendly” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Salisbury Arts Centre

Salisbury Arts Centre
Salisbury Arts Centre | Bedwin Street, Salisbury SP1 3UT, England
01722321744
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #19 of 23 Attractions in Salisbury
Attraction details
Salisbury, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
20 attraction reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“Not very friendly”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2013

Wonderful venue but the opening hours are limited....closed most Sunday's, very little happening on Saturday evenings outside of the Salisbury Festival and no family event at all on New Years eve. The little café is ok and some of the exhibitions are wonderful.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
salisburyarts, Development Coordinator at Salisbury Arts Centre, responded to this review, December 20, 2013
I'm sorry you didn't find us very friendly, we always try our best so I hope it was a one off! For future reference our opening hours are 10-3 Tuesday to Sunday unless there are other events on. Our New Year's Eve event has been the Altar Club music night for the past few years, so unfortunately we don't have enough space or staff to put another event on at the same time but thanks for your comments. We will take everything you said on board and try harder next time!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

17 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    7
    6
    2
    2
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Bristol
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Something for everyone...a great place to get involved with.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2013

Lot's of interesting things going on, a fabulous program of events and a very good cafe. Plus, lovely helpful staff.
It's got the lot!

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
salisburyarts, Development Coordinator at Salisbury Arts Centre, responded to this review, November 28, 2013
Thanks for your review! Our spring season brochure has just come back from the printers and will be available on the 9th of December so keep an eye out!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salisbury, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
15 attraction reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Good stuff on here!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2013

I like to go to the Art Centre! I have seen some very good comedians here, excellent bands, the cafe and bar are nice and so are the staff .

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
salisburyarts, Development Coordinator at Salisbury Arts Centre, responded to this review, November 28, 2013
Thanks for your review! If you like the comedy, we've got Tom Wrigglesworth, Susan Calman and Tom Craine next season, as well as the usual Barnstormers and Edinburgh Comedy Preview nights. We hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
17 attraction reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Great for Salisbury”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2013 via mobile

I live on the same street and have been to many events over the years. I like the regular films and live music. Good cafe. They reach out to the local residents to build up a good relationship.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
salisburyarts, Development Coordinator at Salisbury Arts Centre, responded to this review, November 28, 2013
Hello neighbour! We're glad you enjoy the films and music, it's something we've been trying to programme more of in recent years. If you have any suggestions of things you would like to see let us know!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salisbury, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
84 reviews 84 reviews
18 attraction reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
“Great small venue.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013

Housed in a former church I would recommend this venue for intimate gigs such as folk, classical, jazz and world music. Haven't been there for a theatrical event. Bar and snacks service. Raked seating at rear for those shorter people like me! No allocated parking but public parking very close.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
salisburyarts, Guest Relations Manager at Salisbury Arts Centre, responded to this review, September 20, 2013
It's good to hear such a positive response to our music programme. Hopefully when you do manage to see some theatre you'll love the Arts Centre even more! Unfortunately there isn't much we can do about the parking (short of paving over the graveyard!) but as you said, Salt Lane and College Street car parks are both very close.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Salisbury Arts Centre also viewed

Salisbury, Wiltshire
Salisbury, Wiltshire
 
Salisbury, Wiltshire
Salisbury, Wiltshire
 

Been to Salisbury Arts Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Salisbury Arts Centre, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.