We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a lovely pub!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Royal George

The Royal George
17 Bedwin Street, Salisbury, England
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #36 of 218 Restaurants in Salisbury
Cuisines: English
Restaurant details
Salisbury, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“What a lovely pub!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2014

The atmosphere there is brilliant! Really friendly staff! We went there to watch one of the first world cup games and we definitely will be going back to try the food, because we already know it will be great! Made us feel so welcome (though never have been there before) and unless you really like the city-type pubs (lots of noise, impersonal ...rubbish atmosphere) you must visit this place.... Our new local, for sure! :D

  • Visited June 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

13 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    8
    5
    0
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Dorset, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
143 reviews 143 reviews
91 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 57 cities Reviews in 57 cities
109 helpful votes 109 helpful votes
“Friendly pub, good value pub food and good beer”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2013

We use this pub for our annual team meal and it's always excellent value. Good, no nonsense food, well served and very generous portions.

Visited December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salisbury, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“Worth a visit”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2013

I visited this pub on a Monday with friends.
There was a warm welcome and the beer was excellent.
There was a good selection of typical pub food which was freshly prepared and was served promptly and in man sized portions.
I was not aware of any background music and the pub was warm and welcoming.
I would not travel miles to visit but if you are in town you will not be disappointed.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford
Top Contributor
121 reviews 121 reviews
60 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 68 cities Reviews in 68 cities
72 helpful votes 72 helpful votes
“Good beer, good pub grub”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2013

Called in here for lunch and got a really warm and friendly welcome. The Ringwood Best was well kept and the food, although basic pub grub was served hot and was very tasty. The whole pub had a great atmosphere and the toilets were spotless. I would be very happy to return next time I'm in Salisbury.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Friendly local”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2013

Dropped In for a pint while wandering around Salisbury. Friendly, relaxed atmosphere with mostly regulars who were all welcomed by the landlady. Nice pint of Doombar. Great if you like a pub with no loud music or tv.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Royal George also viewed

Salisbury, Wiltshire
Salisbury, Wiltshire
 
Salisbury, Wiltshire
Salisbury, Wiltshire
 

Been to The Royal George? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Royal George, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.