We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Sunday Lunch” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Horse and Groom

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Horse and Groom
Wilton Road | Salisbury, Salisbury, England
1722414373
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #137 of 217 Restaurants in Salisbury
Cuisines: British
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
somerset
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Great Sunday Lunch”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2013

A really good home cooked Sunday lunch in a very relaxed atmosphere, landlord is very welcoming and cheerful and staff are very pleasant too, great selection of meats and veg ( just like your mother used to make) , We have never booked so would be prepared to wait but have always received quick service. Would definitely recommend this place great value for money.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

10 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    5
    2
    0
    1
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Bicester, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“BAD”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2013

the pub was empty on our arrival not a good sign for a Saturday night ! on ordering a bottled beer I had to ask for a glass ! a table had been reserved for a Birthday party, 11 covers not the most taxing night for any chef as that was all the custom in the pub however one missed starter after a 30 minute wait set the scene for a disappointing meal experience the mains then took a similar length of time to materialise the first being delivered some ten minutes before the rest appeared from the kitchen most were overcooked and tepid the kitchen even managed to get a plough mans wrong! one of our party found part of a cleaning cloth in their meal! I would recommend avoiding this place if you don't like being sworn at if you complain I feel sorry for the waiting staff who did nothing but apologise for the cooks errors, omissions and foul additions

  • Visited November 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Disappointing”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2013 via mobile

We go to this little pub often for family meals, and normally we have a good time, we love the relaxed feel and friendly staff and great food value for money.
The above is why I picked the horse and groom to celebrate my 30th birthday with my family.
We booked a table for 12 people for the 2nd nov @7pm, 3 weeks in advance, plenty of notice. Nice warm welcome from the bar staff and boss topped up my drink!
8 of us ordered starters, (mains were ordered at same time)we got 7 starters, waitress offered to make up another but my M guest declined. Starters weren't best presented but were very tasty! Once finished starters & plates were cleared. We waited about 30/45 mins for our mains to arrive. One waitress served our mains, she apologised for the wait which was good, but sadly some of the meals were cold by the time we got them, and some of the steaks were over done. tho an offer again was made to replace the cold ones by the waitress, we were to hungry to wait any longer.
One of my guests found a long peace of string in her dinner, which we gave to he boss, who informed us it was part of a dish cloth (information we didn't really what to know) there was no sorry, but a replacement meal was offered, which my D guest accepted. Once most of us finished our mains D received theirs, again the waitress was very sorry, and we were ok and understanding that things happen.
Then the boss/landlord came over and asked us "why the f*^k were the waitress saying sorry when they have nothing tobe sorry for?" (his words) we were all a little surprised the he had just sworn as well as being confused about his question, and some of my guests may have been alittle sarcastic with there replays, but it was clear that this boss/landlord had been drinking. And he asked us for our feedback and what had gone wrong, which when I replied he seamed to argue with my guests and I who had all experienced the same. He tired to offer us discount on our next meal, but my guests weren't all local and so that didn't really work. In the end my dad asked for a meal discount, which we got £50 off our food bill which didn't come easy.

Tbh, the waitress was doing a excellent job and doing her best, showing she cared, even tho things weren't in our favour, she more than likely would have saved the night if her boss/landlord hadn't come over swearing, and cursing his staff, telling us how amazing the food is and arguing about our comments even tho he asked for the feedback.

They weren't even busy, there was two tables of 2 and one table of 4 when we arrived at 7, no more customers arrived to eat after.

Really disappointing!

  • Visited November 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
warminster
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“The best food in the area by far!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2013

Having dined at The Horse & Groom several times recently, I can honestly say that this has to be the best eatery in the area. The quality of food and service is second to none and the prices are very good, always a warm welcome from the staff and the Landlord is extremely pleasant and hands on, very accommodating.
I have taken family and clients here and have not been disappointed, this is now my firm favourite in place to eat in Salisbury.
The restaurant is lovely and I think it has been recently refurbished. The Sunday Calvary is something not to be missed, and as another reviewer mentioned Real Roast Potatoes! a real rarity these days and yes they really are amazing.
I have eaten at lots of restaurants/Pubs In Salisbury and can sincerely say this is the best by far!

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
“Fabbbbbbbbbbbbb traditional food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2013

Passed this pub by accident, and stopped. OMGggggggggggg, the food was so lovely. We had Sunday lunch and there were realllllllllllllll roast potatoes with your Sunday lunch Carvery. The chef gave us loads of meats and we could serve ourselves to vegetables and potatoes :) Really, a lovely, lovely meal. My only down side as 2 large dogs, albeit old and well behaved, wandering around.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Horse and Groom also viewed

 
Quidhampton, Salisbury
 

Been to Horse and Groom? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Horse and Groom, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.