We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Revitalised by a sausage sandwich and a pot of tea” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Borough Cafe

The Borough Cafe
70 The Borough | Downton, Salisbury SP5 3LY, England
01725238083
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #11 of 218 Restaurants in Salisbury
Price range: $3 - $11
Cuisines: English, Continental, British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Outdoor seating
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Reservations, Delivery
Salisbury, United Kingdom
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Revitalised by a sausage sandwich and a pot of tea”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2014

So many cafes and pubs hover at the edge of financial viability because their average food and indifferent staff don't make going out of your worth the effort. Not so with the Borough Cafe. We stopped in for breakfast and lingered. Sausage sandwich, pot of tea (the tea pop didn't drop!) and a slab of cake. Great value for money. All served by charming ladies who couldn't have been more helpful. It's a gem, go out of your way and pay them a visit soon. PS on warmer days you can have your coffee on the delightful patio out the back.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

59 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    44
    14
    1
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Cheltenham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Lovely cafe”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2014

We visited this lovely light spotless cafe yesterday . The staff were friendly coffee hot, and food very good !
How lucky Downton is to have such a lovely cafe in their village!

  • Visited April 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Redlynch, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“5/4/14”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2014

The food and service just gets better and better. An English breakfast has been added to the menu and it is really good. Put that together with a great cup of coffee and Saturday mornings are complete.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salisbury, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
“Lovely slab of cake but a but pricey”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2014

We ordered coffees and a slice of carrot cake, it was a large piece of cake and was delicious but I found it a little too expensive. Nice venue in a lovely village & staff were all nice though!

  • Visited November 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CJBromilow, Manager at The Borough Cafe, responded to this review, April 9, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to leave your feedback of your experience at our café on Trip Advisor. We love to hear what you think and we're delighted that you liked the café.
All our home-made cakes (Carrot, Chocolate, Coffee, Banoffee etc) are priced at £2.30 for a generous portion. Our Brownies and Rocky Road are £1.80.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hampshire
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“A real gem!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2014

Passing through and discovered this little gem. Great coffee/ tea and cake, returned for panini's which were really scrummy! Looking forward to returning!!

  • Visited March 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Borough Cafe also viewed

 

Been to The Borough Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Borough Cafe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.