We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just a bit too complicated” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Charter 1227 Restaurant

Charter 1227 Restaurant
6/7 Ox Row | The Market Square, Salisbury SP1 1EU, England
+44 1722 333118
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #2 of 217 Restaurants in Salisbury
Price range: $16 - $41
Cuisines: British
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Salisbury, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Just a bit too complicated”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2013

We visited here because of the reviews but, for me, the food was a bit too complicated. Unusual in that the restaurant is upstairs but the table gave a view of the market square - so a bit of extra interest.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

373 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    305
    46
    17
    4
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Salisbury, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Romantic dinner”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2013

My wife and I went for a homecoming romantic dinner. We chose this restaurant after checking Tripadviser, as the No 1 in Salisbury. We thought the restaurant was warm and inviting with slightly subdued lighting. The waiter was very attentive and friendly, nothing was too much trouble. The food was as good as anywhere i have ever eaten, however it was presented in the most amazing way, very artistic. The owner/chef came out and had a chat at the end of the night, he was a lovely man and a pleasure to meet him. Over all it was a lovely meal, which was well served by a friendly and helpful waiter, i cant complain.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wilmslow, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
80 reviews 80 reviews
61 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“Lovely food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2013

Had an excellent meal, the staff were lovely and the food great, would definitely recommend this restaurant to anyone

  • Visited November 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dorset U.K.
Top Contributor
77 reviews 77 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
80 helpful votes 80 helpful votes
“WELCOME RETURN”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2013

We used to visit this Restaurant before a fire in the nearby business, caused this business to close. The Restaurant has now been open for a while, but we have not been able to get to Salisbury until now. The reason was to celebrate the engagement of my Granddaughter and her fiancee. I booked a table for Sunday Lunch, was asked if it was to celebrate a special occasion, to which I told them why. On arrival you are quickly seated, the staff well versed and trained to make you feel welcome. Water is supplied, drink orders taken, and menu' on hand. All our meals were excellent without exceptions. To cap it all the, the engaged Couples Sweet's were decorated with a congratulations message. We shall certainly return. Well Done Everyone.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Brilliant service, seriously dated food”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2013

We were on a weekend trip to Salisbury recently and Googled places to eat. 1227 came up as the highest rated on Trip Advisor so we booked a table. We were really surprised at how corporate the frontage and sign was - it felt like a mediocre hotel's dining room inside.

As staunch London foodies, we were both a little shocked at how average the food was, especially considering the rave reviews here. The dishes are, without a doubt, tried and tested, but I'm guessing the menu hasn't changed in some time. Everything was fairly bland, unseasoned, and looked as though it had been reproduced from a guide to 1970s fine dining (grey & brown prevailed). The fillet steak was well-cooked, but not great quality, and was slathered in a claggy mushroom sauce.

The mackerel pate starter still had bones in it, and was presented ice cold (it had obviously been in the fridge for a while) wrapped in rubbery nori. The desserts were sickly sweet and lacking in imagination.

If we'd just stumbled across this restaurant, I don't think we'd have been so disappointed - but one reviewer mentioned Michelin-level dining. I wonder if they've ever been to a Michelin starred restaurant.

The food was mediocre at best, criminally overpriced, the decor uninspired and dated, and the whole restaurant smacked of a geriatrics holiday (we were told that the kitchen didn't accept any orders after 9pm).

However, the staff were FANTASTIC. Attentive, sweet, funny and deferential. We were slightly put off, however, when the chef came out to talk to the diners and rather loudly pronounced that he doesn't pay any attention to Trip Advisor reviews because they 'don't matter'.

We did realise that we were in Salisbury so we'd probably expect limited fare, but if this is the best Salisbury has to offer, I dread to think what the rest of the restaurants are like.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Charter 1227 Restaurant also viewed

 
Salisbury, Wiltshire
Wilton, Salisbury
 

Been to Charter 1227 Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Charter 1227 Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.