We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful guide !” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Salisbury, Stonehenge and Sarum Tours

Salisbury, Stonehenge and Sarum Tours
Salisbury, England
+44 1722 421777
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #4 of 21 Activities in Salisbury
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: For those visitors to Salisbury either for the day or longer, we offer our "Magical History Tour" to Stonehenge. The Magical History Tour is not just a means of transporting you to Stonehenge but also a journey to explore the very soul of the people who have left such a mark on the landscape and in the psyche of today's visitors. Before reaching the World Heritage Site you will be fully acquainted with the magnitude of the tasks these people undertook. At Old Sarum we stop and admire the fabulous 360 degree views. Originally an Iron-Age Fort, Old Sarum was inhabited by Celts, Romans,Saxons, Vikings and finally Normans. We stop and visit the ruined castle and imagine the chivalrous Knights jousting in the castle grounds, and wenches gossiping by the well....A short drive takes us to Old Harnham Mill close to the spot chosen by John Constable for his iconic painting of Salisbury Cathedral. Set amongst water meadows and away from the City, this is a view seen by too few visitors, which is a pity, because it is simply stunning
Aulnay-sous-Bois, France
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Wonderful guide !”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2012

Wonderful tour with our guide Chris Litherland !

We highly recommend this guide, who was very knowledgeable, kind and told us a lot of secrets of Stonehenge and the region of Salisbury!
Thanks a lot Chris

We'll definitely take another tour with Chris next time we'll visit the region !

Two French tourists

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

49 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    49
    0
    0
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Seattle
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“A 'must-do' tour!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2012

My boyfriend and I were in Salisbury at the end of August and one of our best days there was the Magical History Tour with Chris. He was such a great guide: knowledgeable, engaging, and funny! We loved the drive from Salisbury to Stonehenge, getting to see the thatched cottages and countryside. Stonehenge was fascinating but it was made even more so by the history and stories Chris shared on our trip there. He gave us so much insight into the people that lived in the area and their culture that it made the site that much more intriguing. We also loved learning more about Salisbury and the surrounding area, including the crop circles and fun pop culture trivia. We thoroughly enjoyed our tour; it helped to make our first trip to England a magical one. Thanks, Chris!

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hilton Head, South Carolina
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
“Wonderful day and tour!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2012

Chris picked up our group of 5 at 8 am at our Southhampton hotel and our day was jam packed right up till he dropped us off at our ship, late afternoon. We all loved Chris's style and humor while showing us the best of this beautiful area. he took us through the New Forest with some interesting stops along the way, then on to the Stonehenge site. His stories about possibilities of how Stonehenge was built were fabulous and informative and we found that Stonehenge did not disappoint-SO happy to have seen this mystical site! Chris also took us to Old Sarum and then on to salisbury and the stunning cathedral there. He deposyed us and our huge luggage to our ship right in time to sail. it was truly a great day for all of us and Chris was very concerned about our comfort and interests. By the end of the day, we felt that Chris was a friend . Chris, I hope that if you come over to the US, you will contact me because we'd love to return the favor of showing you the Hilton Head/Savannah area! Cheers.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, CO
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
9 attraction reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Stonehenge and More!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2012

This was a great way to see Stonehenge and some of the countryside. Chris was a very knowledgeable and friendly tour guide. Stonehenge was awesome to see, of course. What was really interesting was the ride up to Stonehenge from Salisbury. Thatch roofed houses, rolling hills, estates all coupled with wonderful information and stories. Places a normal tourist would not know where to go. Stopping to let us use dousing rods at the ley lines was a kick! I would highly recommend this tour.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albany, New York
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
22 attraction reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“It was magical!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2012

Our day started right on schedule with Chris waiting for us at Heathrow. Chris told us many stories of the area as we made the drive out to the Stonehenge area, working our way through some villages and talking about the famous people who live (and lived) there. A high point of the journey was our stop at the Avenue...the path that connected the River Avon to the Stonehenge site and was undoubtedly used to ferry the stones there. Here Chris introduced us to ley lines. His hands-on demonstration using a couple of simple instruments really brought home the unique qualities of this place. We also stopped at Old Sarum which is likely missed by many people strictly focused on Stonehenge. While only a relic of a castle remains, Chris ably filled in the story of how people lived here since the time of the Romans. Many others have commented on Stonehenge, but needless to say Chris gave us ample time to experience it.

In addition to being a knowledgeable guide, Chris was very flexible in meeting our needs for quick shopping and lunch stops so that we could maximize our time in this wonderful place. We saw everything we wanted to see and a whole lot more before getting to our cruise right on time. Chris was the magical part of the magical history tour!

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Salisbury, Stonehenge and Sarum Tours also viewed

 

Been to Salisbury, Stonehenge and Sarum Tours? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Salisbury, Stonehenge and Sarum Tours, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.