We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“high hopes dashed” 2 of 5 stars
Review of The White Horse Inn

The White Horse Inn
62, The Borough | Downton, Salisbury SP5 3LY, England
01725 510408
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #89 of 221 Restaurants in Salisbury
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $5 - $23
Cuisines: Sandwiches, British, English, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Description: The White Horse Inn welcomes you and your family to our historic pub and gardens. Whether visiting Salisbury or heading to the New Forest or South Coast we are ideally situated. Serving delicious meals 7 days a week, with thirst quenching local ales and a varied wine list we have something for everyone here at The White Horse Inn.
Bransgore, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“high hopes dashed”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2014

Booked for Sat night . Initial good impressions but poor choice of beer. Went to food order section of bar to ask about table , 'it's over there in the corner' we were told.
Eating area really forms part of the bar which is ok but very noisy . Placed order at the bar , just mains , served in 1/2 hr which was ok . Ham egg and chips fine , Pork belly with bubble and squeek not , Very dry pork and bubble and squeek unlike any I have ever tasted or seen .
Finished and plates were cleared after about 1/4 hr . Sat for another 1/4hr and had to go to the bar again to ask for a desert menu . Deserts tasted and looked like low end supermarket fare .
Paid bill and left . Will not go back .

  • Visited May 2014
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

46 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    25
    11
    3
    4
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
1 review
“GREAT FAMILY PUB”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2014

great pub with superb food. Great choice of beers, but most of all very friendly staff that made you feel wecome.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andover
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Walkers' oasis!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2014

There are obviously different perceptions about a pub. Reading past reviews demonstrates this very clearly. From our point of view, as a group of 5 walkers, back from an excellent walk in the area, we had no negatives. Welcome was friendly with good, traditional beers to slake our thirsts.
We found good choices of main courses from the house menu and specials board which suited our appetites and budget. No delays in serving and everyone enjoyed their meals. Definitely no complaints and we would use the venue again for lunch if in the area.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yeovil, England, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Ok”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2014

This is a locals pub. The service and the food was just 'ok'!The menu is quite small and my partner didn't like the choice of beers on tap of which there were only 2 or 3. Not a noisy pub, just a bit nothing special.

Visited April 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Very poor”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2014 via mobile

Am so surprised at these reviews. Had a terrible experience. Went on Easter Monday and pub not very clean. Litter on the floor and dusty throughout. Very tired looking decor and needs a proper clean.
There was only one veggie option and we waited for over 45 mins. At one point we Saw the chef go to the co op to get supplies! Needless to say this is not quality food , but more freezer/deep fried pub food. I think i have had better food in a Wetherspoons. But we were so hungry by the time it arrived we ate it.
One of the worst meals out for a long time. Will not be returning.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
david n, Manager at The White Horse Inn, responded to this review, April 23, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write a review, I am totally shocked by your comments and very sorry you did not enjoy your meal with us. I do feel some of your comments were unfair we were very busy and tried to get all the food out as quick as possible but I do understand some customers had to wait but unfortunately we could not avoid this, we do only have one veggie option on our menu but we do offer various things that our chef will prepare for you. I would like to make clear our chef makes a large proportion of our menu in house unfortunately we were running low on bread so we do sometimes use the co op bakery in certain situations (we only use fresh bread)
I will be looking in to the cleanliness for that day as this is not close to our normal standards.

If you would like to discuss your visit in more detail please do contact me direct I will be more than happy to discuss any improvements you think we can make especially regarding the veggie options.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The White Horse Inn also viewed

 
Salisbury, Wiltshire
 

Been to The White Horse Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The White Horse Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.