We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very average food and good beers” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Malet Arms

Malet Arms
Newton Tony, Salisbury SP4 0HF, England
01980 629 279
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #35 of 201 Restaurants in Salisbury
Cuisines: British
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
“Very average food and good beers”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2013

Again, this is a venue followed up by reviewers (not trip advisor). This is our third visit in a number of years and on arriving we thought, " oh dear, we've been here before!!!" Anyway, that notwithstanding and giving benefit of the doubt, we had pretty good beers and a good welcome.
The food however was very mediocre, nothing particularly dreadful, just uninspiring with dried up gammon and burnt bread with lacklustre oil.
Will we remember next time?? Yes we most certainly will..... and avoid.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

56 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    25
    25
    4
    2
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Salisbury, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Great Meal, great service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2013

Phoned friday lunchtime for an evening booking and they fitted us in (couple). Food was very good and service was excellent. the only disappointment was that they don't make their own chips preferring the ones out of the freezer.
Sweets were excellent
It was busy but the service was still very good.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southampton, United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Hidden Treasure”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2013

Last night was my 3rd visit to this wonderful pub. I have previously been as a pair and a group of 4. Last night there were 12 of us. Each time the service has been exempilary, friendly but not over the top.

The pub itself is hidden away in the small Wiltshire village of Newton Tony and is set next to a small river. The interior decor is that of a traditional village pub with some "eclectic" items and pictures on the walls, at first i thought these were out of place, but they do somehow work and add to the charm.

Menu is good and varied covering pub grub classics such as Steaks, Pies, Scampi etc.....(but i must at this point add they are of a much higher standard than most places). They also do some really different and interesting dishes, last night they had veal, venison, haunch of pork which is unheard of for some bigger more expensive places.

I'd definately recommend the Squid for starters, and I've yet to find a duff main course. The puddings are amazing as well.

Cost wise it hits the target as well, the venison was the most expensive main on last nights menu, but that was only £15ish, and it was a good sized bit of meat with plenty of veg.

Really nice place for a relaxed quality meal.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Our Labrador Loves It.....”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2013

.....and so do we. This is a great country pub - but it is a pub with good food, not a restaurant with a good bar. It can get crowded at weekends and you need to book in advance. The food is always good but we come here for a mixture of the atmosphere, the food and a good, varied selection of beer. They have a good back room that will seat about 8 and a separate restaurant section where dogs are not allowed.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Great for a special occasion.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

Twenty four years of married life deserved something special. The Malet Arms fitted the bill perfectly. Imaginative menu containing locally sourced food. Friendly and professional staff and a warm welcome. We will use it again for other special treats

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Malet Arms also viewed

 
Salisbury, Wiltshire
 

Been to Malet Arms? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Malet Arms, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.