We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great for a special occasion.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Malet Arms

Malet Arms
Newton Tony, Salisbury SP4 0HF, England
01980 629 279
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #31 of 217 Restaurants in Salisbury
Cuisines: British
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Great for a special occasion.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013 via mobile

Twenty four years of married life deserved something special. The Malet Arms fitted the bill perfectly. Imaginative menu containing locally sourced food. Friendly and professional staff and a warm welcome. We will use it again for other special treats

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

51 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    24
    21
    4
    2
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
71 helpful votes 71 helpful votes
“Best Pub Around”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

Traditional, quirky pub, absolutely beautiful. the Saturday night we had dinner, the place was packed with locals; it was as if the entire village (and hounds) was eating and drinking in the pub.
Great food, superb ales and strong cider/scrumpy, exactly what you expect from a country pub but can't find easily anymore.
Fantastic.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hungerford
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
739 helpful votes 739 helpful votes
“Fine, traditional pub”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2013

Our third visit here, an unspoiled pub just off the A338 serving well-kept beer and good food. The interior looks as if it hasn't changed for decades, and even on a Monday lunchtime in February there was a steady turnover of locals and visitors. Very good food is from a blackboard menu at fair if not cheap prices. Dogs welcome in "dog's bar" if well behaved and not "absurdly large", or you could sit at tables by the Bourne at the front of the pub. Nice walks in and around the quiet village.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ludgershall hants
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“mr rosser”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2013

Visited it last night with two guests after hearing good reviews ..Very very disappointed !!! Young girl behind bar very inattentive and bordering on rude , payed bill not even a thankyou more interested in her message on her phone .. Very cold pub had to keep jackets on , uncomfortable seating and no atmosphere .. Boring decor , food did not match expectations very bland !! Not going again and will not be recommending it !!!! !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

  • Visited February 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ascot, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
“Disappointing”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2013

We went to the Malet Arms for Sunday roast lunch having seen the listing in Alistair Sawdays guide. The staff are very friendly, the pub was packed, but unless you are near the fire it is cold and draughty, particularly near the loos which was where we were seated. The food was listed on blackboards which once seated (with an elderly Mum) were impossible to see through the crowd. The corn fed roast chicken which one of us fancied was offered with salad, so we asked if it would be possible to have veggies and roasties instead. Whilst the staff were polite, they explained it wasn't possible to change as all the veggies and roasties are 'portioned out' , but there was lamb roast and pork belly roast if we wanted them..... so we changed our order .... When our roasts were served it was with new potatoes, not roasties !! Oh well, never mind, perhaps we shouldn't expect roasties with Sunday lunch !!!! It was tasty but nothing special. Dessert was also tasty but nothing special. All in all we have no major complaints, but I do not think I would ever bother to eat here again. May be popular with the locals as there is nowhere else close by.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Malet Arms also viewed

Salisbury, Wiltshire
Salisbury, Wiltshire
 

Been to Malet Arms? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Malet Arms, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.