We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very enjoyable meal” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Silver Plough

Silver Plough
White Hill | Pitton, Salisbury, England
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #23 of 218 Restaurants in Salisbury
Cuisines: British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations
Description: Its a traditional british pub with a brilliant new landlord and landlady. The food is yummy,the atmosphere welcoming and friendly and with main courses from £9.95 upwards a visit won't break the bank !
England
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
“Very enjoyable meal”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2012

Last minute decision to go here for my birthday and we werent disappointed. It was a cold miserable nght outside but the pub was cosy and welcoming. Would have been nice to see the log fire burning though and slightly dimmer lighting which would have made the candles more effective. Not an extensive menu but some tempting choices, leave room for a dessert! The night we visited was a 'Steak Nght' but on choosing one cut of steak, we were told they had run out! this was only at 7.30pm and the pub was not busy. Service was quick although it does say on the menu to be patient as everything is freshly cooked. It was all piping hot and very tasty. Will definitely visit again.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

190 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    118
    42
    14
    11
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Overpriced, bland food, friendly but unattentive staff”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2012 via mobile

We went here recently for family meal. The landlord was friendly and welcoming, however there is little more positive I can say.

The pub was only half full but a lot of the food was unavaliable. I ordered a steak which was just shy of twenty pounds and was told that all three steak sauces were unavaliable. When the food arrived the chips and salad were bland and in small portions. The steak made up for this somewhat but for twenty pounds you expect sauce and proper sides.

My brothers food was much worse, and didn't come with the veg on the menu.

Furthermore we felt waiting an hour when the pub was half full too long.

The service was poor also. The staff were friendly but unattentive. We had to ask four times for the bill. Furthermore while we patiently waited for the bill, the staff member meant to be handing us our bill was busy texting.

If this was a chain pub with cheap prices i may have accepted the bland food and unattentive service but for this money it is simply not good enough. We won't be back sorry.

    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salisbury, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Landlord persuasion.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2012

Although a local person and regular visitor to the Plough I feel I must comment on my last visit on Monday 17/09. After much pressure from the landlord to try the Jack Daniel ribs Roger and myself succomed to his wishes.The result was one of the best meals we have had, the meat fell off the bone and the BBQ sauce was excellent.The service was first class and delivered with a smile and joke.The pub is an absolute credit to Stephen and Sue and we are lucky to have such a brilliant local.I am now being informed that the Fish and Chips are equally as nice!!!

  • Visited September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stratford-upon-Avon, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Found it by chance”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2012

We were on our way to catch the Isle of Wight ferry at Lymington when we spotted the sign to this pub on the main road. We took a chance and were very glad we did! Mine Host was absolutely charming and the staff we could not fault. We chose Salmon and Prawn caesar salad and chicken and mushroom pie and both were faultless. The pie was way above your standard pub pie and so obviously homemade. We should mention also that, for us anyway the portions were just right as we do not like to be faced with a huge plateful of food. The only downside was that due to having to catch the ferry we had no time to indulge in pudding!! We have vowed to return soon!

  • Visited September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“A warm welcome awaits you.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2012

We turned up without booking a table on the Bank Holiday Sunday evening and were greeted by the friendly landlord and his staff. I was slightly ambivalent as I had read some of the recent reviews about the food but needn't of worried.

Even though we arrived shortly before the kitchen was due to close(8pm-check before turning up), we were able to order our food which for the most part was tasty especially the chicken liver pate starter (Highly recommend). I agree with other reviews that there is still room for improvement with the food as my roast chicken main was slightly dry. However, this did not detract from the overall experience in the relaxed and warm ambience of this lovely old pub.

If in the area, we would certainly stop here again and only wish that we had a pub like this with such a charming landlord close to us.

Good luck and thank you.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Silver Plough also viewed

Salisbury, Wiltshire
Salisbury, Wiltshire
 
Wilton, Salisbury
Farley, Wiltshire
 

Been to Silver Plough? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Silver Plough, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.