We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not a bad hotel - quirky!!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Lazy Cow

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added The Lazy Cow to your Saves list
The Lazy Cow
9-13 St. Johns St, Salisbury SP1 2SB, England (Formerly The Kings Arms Hotel)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #33 of 52 Salisbury B&B and Inns
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Not a bad hotel - quirky!!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2012 via mobile

Stayed at this hotel for one night in a log shack room. The room was very quirky, great decoration but starting to look a little shabby. The doors for instance were chipped. The bathroom wasn't spotlessly clean but once we drew this to the managers attention this was rectified quickly and a discount applied to the room.
The staff were excellent and the breakfast was lovely. I would stay here again but it is a bit pricey for what you get.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

316 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    108
    81
    50
    42
    35
See reviews for
31
173
2
21
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (97)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2012

Our second visit and one year later the service has definitely improved. The stuff is much more friendlier and better organised. They have definitely contributed to a pleasant stay.
We were in a room just above the bar, which was a bit noisy, but get quiet after 12. The room was small but cosy and well decorated. Perfect location right in the town center, quality shower and bath, amazingly comfortable bed with luxury bedding, a huge TV, luxury tea and espresso machine and many more.
My only complain is that the internet was not really working. I have registered and followed all instructions,but managed to make it work only for couple of hours and it keept on dropping after that.
Also we have stayed 3 days and our toiletries were never replenished neither was the green tea we normally drink.
These were just a minor remarks and overall very pleasant and relaxing stay. Thank you!

Room Tip: Just an advice about the parking. It is in the next door hotel and is charged £10 a day. However we...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plymouth, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2012

Unfortunately we were in a corner room above the one way system in Salisbury when we were awakened every half hour by the local boy racers all through the night as they drove past.
The steak was fair but surely not good value at £27.70 with a few chips an unhappy piece of corn on the cob and some garlic. The steak took 90 minutes to arrive which must be a record of some sort. Parking is at a neighbouring hotel at £10 a day. The search for a reasonable hotel in this area continues.

Room Tip: Don't have the gold room on the first floor-room 5 unless you are a very heavy sleeper.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buckingham
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2012

After visiting the Lazy Cow in Warwick recently, we decided to visit the Salisbury Hotel. I can honestly say we were not disappointed, we had a stunning room, the staff were incredibly helpful and extremely friendly. We ate in the restaurant and had an exquisite steak! Spot on!!! Washed down with one to many espresso Martini's (the best i have tasted!) We most defiantly will be back!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pontypridd, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2012

A group of 14 ladies descended on TLC last Friday evening and can all honestly say that we had the best weekend we have ever had! Fantastic surroundings, amazing food, drinks at reasonable prices ( the 2-4-1 cocktails are a must!) and the most attentive staff that I have ever experienced in any hotel. Harry, Charlie and the rest of their dynamic, energetic team manage to make every guest feel like part of the TLC family with their attention to detail, their attitude to customer service and their ability to make every guest feel valued. Other hotels could learn a lot from the management team and what TLC offers.....A fabulous environment in which the customer comes first.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2012 via mobile

A wonderful 24 hours spent in a beautiful city with a very special stay at the lazy cow . Designer bedrooms with every luxury needed wonderful young vibrant staff (very refreshing) excellent food the steaks were cooked to perfection and desserts to die for we will definately be back thankyou all at the lazy Cow for a very memorable stay
Jaynie and Chris

  • Stayed June 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2012

We stayed for a couple of nights. The hotel is in a very old building that must date back from the 18th century so it has all the charm of such a place and also all the problems which previous reviewers have mentioned; uneven floors and thin walls where you are at the mercy of your neighbours. There was music coming from the restaurant but this finished at about 11:30pm on the nights we stayed and was not too intrusive. The room we stayed in was lovely; quirkily decorated with a free bottle of wine and a nespresso coffee maker. Comfortable bed too. The staff are not always at reception but by wondering into the bar we could always find someone to help and they were always friendly and helpful. On the second day there were no more nespresso pods in our room. When I went down to request some, they apologized that a delivery had not come in and arranged for two coffees to be delivered to the room for free. Good food (quality and quantity) and service in the restaurant which was moderately expensive but we thought it was still good value and returned the second night. Even on a Wednesday and Thursday the place was full of locals which is always a good sign.
What else to say? The place is across the road from the cathedral grounds and you can park at the Mercure hotel (The White Heart) next door for £10 per night (they seemed quite happy with this when I went in to pay). Great place to stay but probably not for you if you are very sound sensitive or want to go to bed at 10pm; but if you want somewhere quirky and memorable, highly recommended.
Overall one of the highlights of our short trip south and we would definitely return if we went that way again.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Lazy Cow? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Lazy Cow

Address: 9-13 St. Johns St, Salisbury SP1 2SB, England (Formerly The Kings Arms Hotel)
Location: United Kingdom > England > Wiltshire > Salisbury
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #33 of 52 B&Bs / Inns in Salisbury
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A 5-minute walk from Salisbury Cathedral, The Lazy Cow has a steakhouse restaurant and a modern, boutique feel. The refurbished rooms have a creative décor, an iPod dock, and free Wi-Fi access. Good steaks, English crab and lobsters are served at the Steakhouse. There is also a cocktail menu, wines, and a breakfast menu for the morning. Bedrooms come with bathrobes and a flat-screen TV. The rooms have a luxurious feel, and some have a funky cow theme. The Lazy Cow is in Salisbury city centre. Shops and entertainment can be reached within a 5-minute walk. Old Sarum, the site of an ancient settlement, is less than 10 minutes' drive awayMoo Room- Let your imagination run free in our uniquely inspired Moo Room which combines the fun and quirkiness of The Lazy Cow with the luxurious touches you expect from a boutique hotel. Log Shack-A true feeling of nature awaits you in our Log Shack. The extraordinary décor and aroma will envelop you with warmth and allow you to lose yourself in a surreal environment.Black & gold Suite-Treat yourself to a stay in our hedonistic Black and Gold Suite, where each room is designed with splendor and charm. Combined with the character of the building and modern touches ensuring your stay is nothing short of royal. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and TripOnline SA so you can book your The Lazy Cow reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Lazy Cow Hotel Salisbury

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Lazy Cow, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.