We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“sunday carvery” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Cloisters

The Cloisters
83 Catherine Street, Salisbury SP1 2DH , England
+44(0)1722 338102
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #13 of 217 Restaurants in Salisbury
Cuisines: English
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
South Barrow, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“sunday carvery”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013

it was brilliant, even though we were the last ones to eat the veg were great not over cooked, & no rings where the gravy had evaporated, we had the beef & it was really tasty, a lovely bottle of argentinian malbec helped to add to the experience, all staff really frendly, alltogether a very good experience. Thankyou!

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

255 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    159
    66
    21
    4
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dallas, Texas
Top Contributor
100 reviews 100 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
“Fantastic Pub Experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2013

We took a group of 38 to have a true pub experience. The Cloisters is a 14th century pub that is still pleasing its patrons today!! Hearty, good meals. I had the hamburger and fries, and it was superb!! I heard raves about the food, but particularly the Bread pudding and the Sparkling Apple Cider. I had the brownie, and it was "brilliant". Even though we had a group, it appeared to be pleasant for an intimate date as well. The service was excellent, and the food was served with happy faces!! We had our group order prior to going and they had our food ready when we got there.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“MUST try the sticky toffee pudding!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2013

We brought a group of 39 to The Cloisters and the staff was wonderful and the service was great. BUT the sticky toffee pudding was, without a doubt, undeniably, the absolute best I have ever had! Everyone who ordered it was melting with delight! This pub has a great history and ambience along with a great food. You must not pass through Salisbury without trying the toffee pudding - or your trip is not complete!

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Lamb Shanks with Bread & Butter Pudding”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2013

Arrived into Salisbury on Wednesday 10th July, staying just 5 minutes walk up the road from the Cloisters. It was recommended by our B&B, Spire House. I had a very large and filling Lamb Shank. I was going to have Bread & Butter Pudding but was so full after the lamb I couldn't fit it in. The staff were wonderful and attentive. While looking around the Cloisters, I ran across a wonderful couple and had a chat with them. Turns out David was the owner, and based on his friendliness and willing to talk, and his description of the Bread & Butter Pudding (with chocolate bits) I had to return today before leaving Salisbury to sample this wonderful dessert.

Couldn't want a better place to meet wonderful people and have a great meal.and a relaxing atmosphere.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minnesota
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Wonderful pub food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2013

Was in Salisbury for an overnight visit on a quick trip to the UK and had looked up recommendations of good pubs on tripadvisor before heading out there. The Cloisters had very positive reviews, so we decided to give it a try. We were not disappointed. I had a delicious roast lamb (the special of the day) and my husband had the steak and ale pie. In addition to delicious food, the local beer selection was excellent. Our server (Steven?) was very friendly and hospitable and gave my husband a taste of a few local beers, so he could try the ones he liked best. Absolutely wonderful.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Cloisters also viewed

 
Salisbury, Wiltshire
 

Been to The Cloisters? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Cloisters, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.