We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great pub and a wonderful room in a historic building - absolutely fantastic!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The New Inn and Old House

The New Inn and Old House
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Salisbury
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The New Inn and Old House
41-43 New Street, Salisbury SP1 2PH, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #20 of 51 Salisbury B&B and Inns
Mannheim, Germany
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great pub and a wonderful room in a historic building - absolutely fantastic!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2011

The room was beautiful, "old-fashioned" in the most positive way. You can see and feel that this building is from the 14th century. But the rooms were carefully restored to meet all the standards you would expect from a good B&B. The bathrooms are perfectly modernized, the shower is big (...much bigger than in some other B&B's.). The bathroom is on the other side of the corridor, but each room has its own private bathroom.
The pub was the other highlight of the stay. It is absolutely nice and cosy, very clean and with a perfectly friendly atmosphere. In the back, there is a nice beergarden, well-groomed with a lot of flowers. Moreover, there is a beautiful view on the cathedral.
The pub is very well-situated so you can reach all sightseeings within minutes by foot.
One fact needs to be considered: the rooms are located above the pub. That means that it is noisy until 11 pm when the pub closes. However, afterwards it is quite.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

76 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    43
    23
    4
    2
    4
See reviews for
19
22
1
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Agadir, Morocco
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2011

Although i have never stayed at The New Inn, i have never been able to fault the food and the service and after years of coming here, i'm always quick to recommend it to people who don't know the area and who are looking for a good meeting place. The food is such good value and always tasty; there may be the occasional member of staff who could do with a little more training, but everybody has to start somewhere and as long as they're polite, i usually don't mind.
The outdoor seating area is definitely a bonus and the pub itself is charming.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Poole, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2011

What a Great Pub..... Enjoyed the fresh cooked food and the atmosphere. The Garden is welcoming and beautifully landscaped - It was a real surprise. Views of the Cathedral were a real bonus. Staff were both friendly and helpful. Hard to fault! Would recommend to friends and will definitely be back.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2011 via mobile

What a cracking pub, lovely garden, great food, try the home made burgers, absolutely incredible. Bar staff are gorgeous, well the girls are! Mein host is a classic basil fawlty representation and huge fun with it. Landlady couldn't be more welcoming. Well worth a visit.

  • Stayed July 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reading, Pa
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2011

We picked the Inn based on location and reviews. Salisbury charmed us and the friendly staff at the Inn caused us to fall in love. Rachell and staff treated us royally. The food was a nice surprise too. We loved the atmosphere of the pub and the garden. It was a very busy spot and clearly a local favorite. It was a little hard that the bathroom, while private was across the hall. It certainly wouldn't stop me from going back again.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dorset
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2011

As occasional visitors to Salisbury, we thought we'd try somewhere on spec. The first one to catch our eye was the New Inn. After a rather special pint of Badger we asked for accomodation. Unfortunately they were full and apologised for it? Not a problem we thought, however the young lady behind the bar and the manager (Toby I think) started discussing and ringing around, eventually finding us a place to stay, which was fine. Out of decency we felt we should go bak to the New Inn. What a good move. The food was exceptional and as there was a slight delay in service, the manager offered us free coffee AND a drink. Large red wine and double malt! Worth the wait for the food and very reasonably priced. Relaxing in the pretty, landscaped (by the manager), walled garden, we sat under the patio heaters and chatted to the manger and manageress. So welcoming and social. We will be back to stay next time and recommend you try this little characterful gem. Thanks!

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salisbury uk
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2011

I booked for Sunday lunch with my parents and turned up to a relaxed atmosphere where all seemed calm...HOWEVER it took over 10 minutes to get acknowledged so I was not best impressed...the table was fine but an American guy next to us was asking for a refund on his food for some reason and having been kept waiting I was not surprised...I asked the bar staff if food was on schedule and was told there was a big party coming in and they were prepping but it should be ok... the land lady was more preoccupied with sorting the imminent party and food took well over half an hour which considering it was the sunday roast was not really on...the food when it did arrive was BETTER than expected which was great but the overwhelming feel was that they were more interested in the party and we were in the way so we didn't risk having to wait for a pudding..I did tell Toby that although the food was good the service was appalling and was immediately offered complimentary puddings..we declined but on that basis for me he saved the day and I would give them a second chance...JUST SHARPEN UP the service cos the food was good

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The New Inn and Old House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The New Inn and Old House

Address: 41-43 New Street, Salisbury SP1 2PH, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Wiltshire > Salisbury
Hotel Style:
Ranked #20 of 51 B&Bs / Inns in Salisbury
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Also Known As:
The New Inn And Old House Hotel Salisbury

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The New Inn and Old House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added The New Inn and Old House to your Saves list