We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A nice, comfortable hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Milford Hall Hotel

Save Saved
You added Milford Hall Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Milford Hall Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   206 Castle Street, Salisbury SP1 3TE, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 12 hotels in Salisbury
Devon
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
284 helpful votes 284 helpful votes
“A nice, comfortable hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2013

We have stayed at this hotel several times over the past few years and the fact that we return to it whenever we are in Salisbury is our recommendation. The bedrooms are spacious and comfortable, there is plenty of shelf and drawer space for one's things and the plumbing works well.

The bar and dining room are adequate but nothing special. All the staff are friendly, helpful and efficient. Service at breakfast (Patty at the helm) was superb. The breakfast was very good too but avoid the kippers which are the nasty, filleted, boil-in-bag variety. No ginger wine in the bar so no Whisky Macs.

The hotel is conveniently located just inside the Salisbury ring road and in easy striking distance of the city centre. There is parking on the forecourt but I'm not sure if this would be adequate if they had a full house. All in all, a nice comfortable hotel with a management that thinks and cares.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AmandaGuest, General Manager at Milford Hall Hotel, responded to this review, October 2, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review Milford Hall Hotel on Tripadvisor.

Its nice to read that you have stayed several times over the past few years and hope you continue to do so. I can say that our lounge has been refurbished (last week) and is totally totally different, and rather lovely - I know you will like what you see on your next visit.

I will speak to Chef regarding the Kippers! but I can promise that on your next visit, either prior to your arrival or on check in, just ask for me personally and I will make sure we have Ginger Wine so you can enjoy a Whisky Mac.

We look forward to welcoming back to Milford Hall Hotel in the not too distant future.

Kind Regards
Amanda L Guest
Acting Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

365 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    177
    123
    42
    13
    10
See reviews for
38
171
13
44
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (59)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Idaho
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2013

We ended up staying here after another hotel lost our reservation (see my other hotel review for Salisbury). Milford Hall had a couple of rooms available and welcomed us with open arms. The lady at the reception desk was so nice and sympathetic to our sitatuation. The rooms were quite nice and comforatable. Due to being so tired from a long day, we ate dinner in their dining room. The staff here was also great, and the food was suprisingly excellent! Breakfast was also good. The hotel seems to have a fairly young staff, and everyone always had a smile and were all genuinely friendly and helpful. The hotel has good, on-site parking, though we didn't need it. Also well located, just a short walk to the town center and cathedral. We would definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AmandaGuest, General Manager at Milford Hall Hotel, responded to this review, October 2, 2013
Thank you for your note and for your favourable comments on Milford Hall Hotel. We are pleased you enjoyed your stay with us.
Your comments have been passed forward to our Team who, I know will greatly appreciate it too.

We are looking forward to welcoming you again some time in the future to Milford Hall Hotel!

Kind Regards
Amanda L Guest
Acting Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grantham, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2013

We chose this hotel for its close proximity to the town centre for a week end visit. We found the hotel very easily and parked up. Arriving just after 12 we went to reception to see if we could leave our bags and car and book in after 3. To our surprise our room was ready and we were allowed to go straight in great!
The room was very clean and airy as was the bathroom. The teddy bear was a nice touch.
The hotel is about 10 minute walk from the town centre which is very good and easy to walk
day or night.
All the hotel staff were helpful and friendly and made our stay very enjoyable.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AmandaGuest, General Manager at Milford Hall Hotel, responded to this review, October 2, 2013
Thank you for your lovely comments about Milford Hall Hotel and the Team!.

We look forward to welcoming you back in the not too distant future.

Kind Regards
Amanda L Guest
Acting Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Exeter, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2013

Visited for one night for husband to meet up with old school friends. Proved an excellent venue. We were very comfortable in every way and the meal in the restaurant was really good. Terrific atmosphere and buzz as people were obviously enjoying themselves. Slept too well, almost late for breakfast! Will definitely return. Must praise the staff too, each and every one of the ones we encountered. A good experience and one I would recommend 100%.

Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AmandaGuest, General Manager at Milford Hall Hotel, responded to this review, October 2, 2013
Thank you so much for your lovely comments about all that you experienced at Milford Hall Hotel. There is no greater reward than reading wonderful comments like yours. Your praise and complements have been passed on to all the team so once again THANKYOU.

We look forward to welcoming you back in the not too distant future.

Kind Regards
Amanda L Guest
Acting Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bedford, England, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2013

My partner and I stayed for the long Easter weekend this year and we were very pleased with the hotel.

On arrival the staff were friendly and helpful, and we were very pleased with our room. The bed was fantastically comfortable and needed after a long journey!

We had a lovely stay and plan to visit again next year.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AmandaGuest, General Manager at Milford Hall Hotel, responded to this review, October 2, 2013
Thank you for your wonderful comments about Milford Hall Hotel. Your comments have been passed forward to our Team who, I know will greatly appreciate it too.

We look forward to welcoming you back to Milford Hall Hotel in the near future.

Kind Regards
Amanda L Guest
Acting Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AUCKLAND
Top Contributor
92 reviews 92 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2013 via mobile

The staff here seem to be young. All were very well presented, polite and attentive. Room was perhaps a little too warm and the fitted ac somwhar noisy. This however was a minor quibble.
We did not use the restaurant but the breakfast (included) was excellent.
Good parking and within walking disarmed to town centre.
We would happily book in here again.

Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AmandaGuest, General Manager at Milford Hall Hotel, responded to this review, October 2, 2013
Dear Larry,

Thank you for your lovely comments about our hotel and the staff. I was glad to read that you liked the hotel and that ourstaff was friendly and attentive.

Im glad that you'll return and we look forward to welcoming you when you do.

Kind Regards
Amanda L Guest
Acting Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Turkey
Top Contributor
101 reviews 101 reviews
45 hotel reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2013

As a returning client after 3 years, found the hotel more or the same. Overall, satisfactory, and worth what you pay. But business dinner at restaurant was quite disappointing. Salads turned up with absolute minimum green, steak was not even regular, and especailly the crab cake accompanying some of the seafood lates is an absolute "stay away"...

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AmandaGuest, General Manager at Milford Hall Hotel, responded to this review, October 2, 2013
I was extremely disappointed to read your comments with reference to Salisbury Seafood & Steak House thus I ask for a little more assistance from yourself. If you would be so kind as to provide me with a little more information on your dining experience on the day in question, so we may highlight the issues concerned with both the Kitchen and the Restaurant. You can contact me on 01722 417411 or email me at hotelmanager@milfordhallhotel.com, I really would appreciate discussing your dining experience in more depth with you in order to prevent any future issues.

Thank you in advance!
Kind Regards
Amanda L Guest
Acting Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Milford Hall Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Milford Hall Hotel

Address: 206 Castle Street, Salisbury SP1 3TE, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Wiltshire > Salisbury
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Salisbury
#5 Romantic Hotel in Salisbury
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Milford Hall Hotel 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Expedia, Priceline, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your Milford Hall Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Milford Hall Salisbury
Hotel Milford Hall

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Milford Hall Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.