We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“good venue! fabulous location!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Milford Hall Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Milford Hall Hotel to your Saves list
Milford Hall Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   206 Castle Street, Salisbury SP1 3TE, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 15 Hotels in Salisbury
Certificate of Excellence 2014
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
“good venue! fabulous location!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2012

Very clean and comfortable hotel! great size rooms! Staff all very polite, friendly and extremely helpful!

Only downside is the hotel has quite a small car park and due to the number of guests at our event there was a small amount of traffic congestion! however the staff soon came and sorted out spaces for everyone.

The hotel is located in the heart of Sailsbury and within walking distance to the town!

Room Tip: No swimming pool or fitness facilities
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
amandaguest, Front Office Manager at Milford Hall Hotel, responded to this review, October 10, 2012
Your time in writing these lovely comments is much appreciated, I am so please you enjoyed a spacious room and very good standards of cleanliness.

I hope we will see you again in Salisbury soon.

Yours

Amanda
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

457 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    226
    154
    52
    14
    11
See reviews for
50
206
15
50
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (77)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2012

On the basis that for five stars I would want a personal butler and an extra tap just for champagne, four stars is unfair. Milford Hall deserves 4-and-three-quarters.

Our room was spotlessly clean; a massive improvement on the tired and crusty sort of thing you get in Hiltons and all the rest. This is a small hotel group, and it shows: someone is really keeping an eye on the quality.

Which brings me to staff. We stayed for an event with around 100 people, and from the moment we arrived to the moment we left, I could not fault the staff for service, courtesy and all round niceness - even though we stayed up till long gone 3am. Nobody we met could possibly have tried harder to please.

You have nothing to fear booking here.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
amandaguest, Front Office Manager at Milford Hall Hotel, responded to this review, October 10, 2012
Thank you so much for your very kind comments, I am so pleased you enjoyed your entire experience, I have passed your comments on to all the team.

Many thanks

Amanda
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wakefield
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
57 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
75 helpful votes 75 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2012

We stayed here for 2 nights in October. We chose this hotel based on Tripadvisor comments and its location in Salisbury. We found it very easy to find but we did print off a Google detailed town map first! Turn right out of the car park, straight over the large roundabout and you are on the road direct to Stonehenge - easy peasy. Turn left out of the car park and the town centre is straight ahead. You cannot miss the cathedral spire!
Nice welcome at reception and along the corridors to the back of the hotel to a large spacious room with the obligatory teddy bear. Unpacking we found there were no drawers to place clothes - extraordinary given the size of the room. Good sized bathroom, pity about the last occupant's hairs on the floor. Oh, and why are all the mirrors positioned for Hobbit sized people? Over 5' 10" and you need to stoop to see yourself!
The front building is pretty, an old house but that is not the main hotel. The rooms are very plain and simple. Walking past the conference rooms we detected a smell reminiscent of school dinners or hospital food and our room was a bit musty too.
As the weather was bad we ate in the dining room both nights. The service was pleasant and efficient and the food was good value except the salad with the sea bass never arrived, a minor point as I probably would not have eaten it anyway. Expecting 2 small fillets I was pleasantly surprised to see a whole fish on the plate.
The bar is situated in what would have been the old house downstairs rooms so a more luxurious feel. Unfortunately it was very quiet both nights so no atmosphere.
Breakfast in the dining room was good and you could have almost anything you wanted. The self-service toaster either warmed the bread or cremated it. However, any hotel that terminates breakfast at 9am needs to re-evaluate this ridiculous policy particularly as all the guests we saw were on holiday and not business types.
Check out was very nicely handled with a smile and overall the staff were very good here including the cleaners who all smiled and said hello as they passed.
We have just one gripe which spoiled our stay a little. While reversing out of the parking space, a silver Range Rover came hurtling into the car park (far too fast) and parked directly behind us in front of the path to the main doors. The driver was clearly aware he was making it difficult for us to reverse out - he stared at us - but simply sat there. After a couple of manoeuvres we had to drive the opposite way right into the car park to turn around. He walked off into the hotel and we strongly suspect he may well be the owner.
The staff are good, the food is good value but the hotel itself is very, very average indeed. We paid £98 per night for bed and breakfast.
We would not return here.

Room Tip: Choose another hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
amandaguest, Front Office Manager at Milford Hall Hotel, responded to this review, October 10, 2012
I was pleased to read you found us easy to find and nice and central for the City centre and not far from stonehenge.

We have tried to establish your booking as we are not aware of any rooms with no drawers (if you could email me on reception@milfordhallhotel.com informing me of your room number, I would appreciate it, so we can remedy a potential problem)

Please accept my apologies for the hairs on your bathroom floor, we have retrained housekeeping to double check bathroom floors after cleaning to ensure all small hairs in corners have been removed.

I was glad you felt our restaurant offered good value and you were enjoyably suprised with your whole Sea Bass.

I was sorry someone partially blocked your car in when leaving, but please rest assured neither the hotel owner nor any member of management drive either a silver car or a Range Rover, but please accept my apoligies anyway as this incident will have spoiled your parting memories of Salisbury and the hotel.

Kind regards

Amanda
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochester, Minnesota
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
89 helpful votes 89 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2012

First, we had a very difficult time finding this hotel due to their unclear driving directions under "Finding Us" on their website (note to management: "Churchill Way" does not appear on any round-about signage). Salisbury is a larger city than we'd expected and driving on that ring road is rather complicated with heavy traffic.

The brick manor house featured on their website, while lovely, is not the main hotel. Nondescript, 60s-looking buildings to the rear make this a standard motel that could be in any city in the U.S., not the historic English ambiance we were hoping for. Unless you had tea in the Victorian parlor of the brick house, which we did, you probably wouldn't step foot in the only historic part of the hotel.

The location is five minutes walking distance to the medieval city and ten to the Cathedral. It is eight miles from Stonehenge, but there again, the directions given us by the front desk were not clear and not all the round-abouts say "Stonehenge" on them, as we found to our dismay.

Two efficient young ladies manned the front desk, but there was no cordial welcome. We were a business transaction to them, not welcomed guests. Also, they were not aware we had booked the "Golden Package" which included tea and dinner, which made us worry we would be double charged for them. Once that was straightened out, we went to the parlour for afternoon tea, and were brought only tea, not scones and sandwiches, so we had to go through the "but we prepaid for afternoon tea" bit again. Somewhat embarrassing. However, when they arrived, the scones were warm and delicious and the cheddar and chutney sandwiches very good also.

On the way to the room there were scuffed walls, dated decor, long winding hallways, four fire-protection doors, narrow stairs...felt like an old hospital. We had booked what we thought was an upgraded room, an executive double, but were disappointed. I re-confirmed with the desk that it actually was an executive double room, and it was. It was utilitarian, clean, but just dated and sad feeling with cheap looking furnishings and fabrics. The teddy bear on the bed was odd. We were glad to have an air conditioner in the room, but discovered it had no thermostat, so it would keep running until the cold woke you up in the night and you had to get up and turn it off. However, the bed was comfortable and the hotel quiet.

We ate dinner in the dark, contemporary restaurant. My husband had a chicken dish and I the rib eye steak, both from the daily special menu, and they were okay.

So, the essentials.. like good location, available food, comfortable bed, safe parking...are here, but this is an odd place, as my husband said. It does not have the quaint, English charm and touch of luxury you hope for in a hotel, especially in a historic city like Salisbury. We would not return.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
amandaguest, Front Office Manager at Milford Hall Hotel, responded to this review, October 10, 2012
Thank you for taking time to write your review, we have noted your comments on our maps and are looking at how we can improve these for all our future guests.

I am sorry you thought our rooms were dated, your room was in fact only built 2 years ago and decorated with what our interior designer promised us was a modern contemporary theme, so we will definetly take your comments into consideration when it comes time to redecorate.

I was pleased you enjoyed your afternoon tea and visited our restaurant, but sorry we confused your booking initially, our reception team are mortified that they came across as un-welcoming as they usually pride themselves on their friendliness.

Having read your review, I feel you may have been suited to staying in on of our traditional rooms in the original georgian part of the building.

I hope one day you may return to Salisbury and try us again, because I feel you really would enjoy one of our traditional bedrooms.

Kind regards

Amanda
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salisbury, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2012

From our initial enquiry about a celebratory lunch for 60 people through to the Sunday event itself everything was dealt with speedily, courteously and professionally. Nothing was too much trouble. The choice of menu and drinks which were offered at the planning stage was extremely varied and took full account of any special dietary requirements of the intended guests. On the day itself the staff were attentive and vigilent without being intrusive. We and all our guests were very happy with the lunch itself which did not fall short of what was intended. All in all a thoroughly enjoyable and stress-free experience at a very reasonable price.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
amandaguest, Front Office Manager at Milford Hall Hotel, responded to this review, October 5, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to write such a good review on Milford Hall Hotel. It is very important to us all that all guests receive the same warm welcome whether it be a small or a large party.

I was pleased to read that your dining experience was pleasurable and memorable one, rest assured I have already passed on a copy of your review to each department.

We look very much forward to welcoming you back to Milford Hall Hotel again in the not too distant future.

Once again thank you.

Kind Regards
Amanda L Guest
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2012

We were late in booking and working our way down a list of phone numbers - gosh were we lucky that we had to go no further than this one. The room was very nice, clean, good size and had everything we needed.We decided not to bother to walk the 5 minutes into the town centre to eat and - again how lucky. The restaurant was modern, light and inviting. The menu varied and the food excellent - I speak as a widely travelled "foodie". Staff everywhere in the hotel were extremely helpful and friendly. I would definitely go back if I was in the area.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
amandaguest, Front Office Manager at Milford Hall Hotel, responded to this review, October 3, 2012
Thank you for your wonderful comments about Milford Hall Hotel. I was pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay with us and your dining experience at Salisbury Seafood & Steak House.

Your comments have been passed forward to our Team who, I know will greatly appreciate it too.

Once again thank you for your comments and we look ofrward to welcoming you back when ou are in the area again!

Kind Regards
Amanda L Guest
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baldock, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2012

Milford Hall, Salisbury
Stayed for a Saturday night to attend a function in the centre of Salisbury. Hotel is easy to find with plenty of free parking on site and just 5 mins walk to the market square in Salisbury. Booked an exec double room for £138 B & B incl vat. Modern room and en suite bathroom was spacious, very well equipped and spotlessly clean and located in a new extension to the much older main hotel building. Free wifi is provided for guests .Very little traffic noise overnight even with the window slightly open. Breakfast was buffet style and fine despite the large room being very busy and far too hot for comfort. Overall hotel is very comfortable and in a convenient location for Salisbury city centre and will definitely use it again when I need to be in the area

Room Tip: Book an exec room !
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
amandaguest, Front Office Manager at Milford Hall Hotel, responded to this review, October 3, 2012
Thank you for your compliments about Milford Hall Hotel. Yes I agree we are very lucky to have plenty of free car parking on site which does help make our guests stay more pleasurable not having to worry about where they are going to park or how much it costs.

We very much forward to welcoming you back to Milford Hall Hotel when you are next in the area.

Kind Regards
Amanda L Guest
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Milford Hall Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Milford Hall Hotel

Address: 206 Castle Street, Salisbury SP1 3TE, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Wiltshire > Salisbury
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in Salisbury
#5 Romantic Hotel in Salisbury
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Milford Hall Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 45
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, LateRooms, Expedia, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets and Agoda so you can book your Milford Hall Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Milford Hall Salisbury
Hotel Milford Hall

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Milford Hall Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.