We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best tapas in town” 5 of 5 stars
Review of La Mollina

La Mollina
18 Butcher Row | Market Square, Salisbury SP1 1EP, England
+44 1722 555888
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #76 of 218 Restaurants in Salisbury
Price range: $8 - $17
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Description: La Molina provides seating both indoors and Alfresco on Salisbury Market Square for up to 100 people. We welcome couples, families, small groups and lone diners. We offer a broad, varied and interesting authentic Spanish menu. Sit out on Salisbury Market Sqare sharing a Jug of Sangria or pint or Cana of Alhambra and a few tapas with friends. Currently running some great offers on weekdays.
Wiltshire
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Best tapas in town”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012 via mobile

We visit here about 4 times a year food is always good and flavoursome. Sometimes very busy and sometimes very quiet but service always good. This restaurant is a great place to to have a relaxed meal and some good wine with friends and family at any time of day. I believe the restaurant is locally owned and run so support local business and keep each city different from the next.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Steve D, Owner at La Mollina, responded to this review, November 8, 2012
Thankyou for your positive feedback. Yes we are independent and family run. Many thanks. Steve
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

102 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    32
    39
    20
    9
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Ross-on-Wye
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“A pleasant place”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2012

We ate here on a Friday evening and although the small downstairs was full, there were only two tables taken upstairs. The waitress was very pleasant and the food (meat stack) enjoyable, but spoilt because the dishes were not hot enough. When food is served like this the terracotta dishes need to be sizzling at the start. The waitress said customers often commented on this, so it's something the manager needs to address.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mreatout, Owner at La Mollina, responded to this review, November 5, 2012
Thank you for your positive feedback it's a ppreciated. We hope you had a good evening at the theatre.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southampton, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Perfect for a pre-theatre supper”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2012

My husband and I with a couple of friends were going to the Salisbury Playhouse and wanted a quick but enjoyable early supper beforehand. Having enjoyed a Rioja wine-tasting there a few weeks ago I thought of La Mollina. It is ideal being just a few minutes walk from the theatre and open all day. I emailed ahead to book a table and pre-order from the menu on the website and received an email from Steve confirming that we were expected.
We were welcomed and shown to a table in the refurbished upstairs dining room and, although at that time of day we were the only diners upstairs, the ambience was fine and service was attentive without being intrusive. The meal was relaxed and I had no anxiety about eating, paying and getting to the theatre in time for curtain-up.
We had some bread & oil, habas fritas and olives while the hot food was prepared for us and then the meat tapas tower and the fish tapas tower came out. Our friends were impressed with the towers and the portions were just perfect. Will definitely come again, both before the theatre and at other times.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southampton
Top Contributor
87 reviews 87 reviews
61 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
“Great value”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2012

My Wife and I were visiting Salisbury and went into La Mollina. We decided on the lunchtime menu as it seemed very good value. It comprised of two tapas dishes and either salad or bread with olive oil & balsamic or olives. The tapas was very good the service was prompt I would not hesitate to go back and this time try the a la carte

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Steve D, Owner at La Mollina, responded to this review, October 20, 2012
Thanks for your positive comments. We appreciate it. Positive and constructive comments encourage me and my staff to keep up and improve our service and food.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salisbury, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Great service and atmosphere, let down by the food”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2012

We visited this last Saturday night, service and atmosphere was brilliant, but let down by some very poor food. The tapas were bland and not very attractive and very expensive. Although ok to visit for a bottle of wine and relax before moving on, not sure i would eat here again, hope the owner takes this constructively and rectifies because this could be a cracking little restaurant.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Steve D, Owner at La Mollina, responded to this review, October 2, 2012
Thank you for your feedback. I'm glad that you were happy with the service and atmosphere. I'm concerned about your feedback on the quality of the food and that you found that we were expensive. One thing that we get repetitive feedback on is the value for money we offer. We also get good feedback on our in house feedback cards on or food. This is a menu that we have developed from customer feedback over 3 years. Your comments did not mention the dishes that you ordered - i could comment further and constructively if you could advise what you ordered and what you are comparing with when reviewing our prices. Regards Steve
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La Mollina also viewed

 

Been to La Mollina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage La Mollina, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.