We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely hotel, beautiful views” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Grasmere House Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Grasmere House Hotel to your Saves list
Grasmere House Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   70 Harnham Road, Salisbury SP2 8JN, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #11 of 15 Hotels in Salisbury
Certificate of Excellence 2014
London, UK
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Lovely hotel, beautiful views”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2008

We had a lovely one night stay in a "luxury" room with river and cathedral view. The room and beds (it was a converted twin) were gigantic, it could easily have taken a full family.

We didn't try the restaurant, but the breakfast buffet was fine - nothing special, but not as bad as some have described here.

By far and away the best thing about Grasmere House though is the location. Don't be put off by the unpromising approach (quite far into town and round the ring road), it sits in a peaceful pocket of green looking out across open water meadow towards the cathedral (about 10-15 mins walk away). The hotel sits well back from the road in beautiful gardens and even with a wedding party going on, we weren't disturbed and didn't hear a thing all night.

A perfect place for a weekend get-away and for exploring Salisbury itself and the surrounding countryside.

  • Stayed September 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

341 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    123
    102
    58
    34
    24
See reviews for
63
154
15
48
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (123)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Country boy in london
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2008

I have to say that after reading the reviews for this hotel I was not looking forward to staying at the Grasmere hotel, how wrong I was!
The hotel is in a perfect location with fantastic views of Salisbury cathedral. It is a short, safe, flat, well lit 15 minute walk into the heart of Salisbury itself.
I booked the hotel via lastminute.com and got a family room (No36) for £120 normal price £180!
The room was nice and large with fantastic views over the water meadows to the cathedral. Staying in the room were also my wife and our two children aged 8 and 2.
The moment we arrived the staff were very pleasent especially to our children.
The decor throughout the hotel is a little tired but nothing to worry about. However you have to see the garden which will take your breath away. It is a beautiful sloping large lawn that travels all the way down to the river Avon where you can feed the ducks. Simply stunning views.
The room was very clean with a lovely modern bathroom.
Breakfast was lovely and fresh and it is served in the conservatory overlooking the water meadows. They even had Japenese music playing which worked so well in the surroundings.
I did not eat in the restaurant as there is such a selection of very good restaurants in Salisbury. We ate at a fantastic bistro called '69' which is opposite Queen Anne' gate in Exeter Street. This is a short walk from the hotel.
All in all Perfect. 8/10

  • Liked — The stunning views over the meadow.
  • Disliked — The bed was a little too hard for me!
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maryland
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2008

This is a nice guest house. It had a very comfortable vibe. The good points include: very nice staff, beautiful grounds, near the river with a great view of the Cathedral Spire, nice quick walk into town either through the pastures or through a quaint neighborhood, breakfast was good, room was spacious. Negative points: the place is a bit tired in terms of wallpaper and bed linens, bathroom is very small, TV is very small, breakfast staff were harried.

I would recommend staying here if it is within your price range. If you can afford to spend more, go for a posher place.

If I came back to Salisbury, I would not hesitate to stay here again.

  • Liked — Beautiful setting
  • Disliked — Tired appearance
  • Stayed June 2008, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2008

Hair, eggshell, undercooked food and a large insect on the plate in five separate course over two days. Although the management were suitably apologetic following our complaints it really put us off and we cancelled the second week of our stay.
Not recommended.

  • Stayed July 2008
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2008

I must first admit, it was our error for not pre-booking, which may have led us to getting one of the worst rooms. Where do I start:
1. Bed sheets were heavily stained, with dried paint (lots of it!)
on the undersheet.
2. Pillows smelt of BO
3. Television was very old, tiny and the remote control for pay on demand didn't work.
4. Curtains were stained;
5. Bathroom didn't match the room, and the mirror on the wall
was far too low (perhaps ok if you are 4ft tall!)

On a good note the staff were actually quite friendly, and the breakfast was passable. The view was actually the best thing about the hotel.

For £120.00 night I would have expected much better standards (We have stayed in places 1/3 of this price which far surpassed this hotel).

  • Liked — Views
  • Disliked — Accomodation
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2008

We booked this hotel for a meeting to get us out of the office, only to find the meeting room we booked is the restaurant/breakfast room/conservatory which had been pre booked for another large party so we were put into a bedroom with ensuite bathroom to hold our meeting (bed was replaced with table). We wanted to have our lunch in the conservatory overlooking the river and the Cathedral but the lunch was delivered to the bedroom and there were too many people in the other party and we felt like intruders. We did eventually eat in the lounge on our knees. Finger buffet lunch was plentiful but the experience was a bit of a joke. The "bedroom" we were in was tired with old decor so I can understand previous comments. Location good with stunning views and lovely well maintained garden. In real need of an update though. I wouldn't choose to stay or eat there.

  • Liked — Views and garden
  • Disliked — Very tired
  • Stayed June 2008, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
beth57
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2008

Arrived at the hotel late in the evening...The hotel was clean and inviting. Beds were very comfortable. Bathroom was really nice. The food was very nice for breakfast. The hotel staff was friendly and helpful. I was not happy to have to carry several bags up several flights up the stais, but we survived. I would stay there again.

  • Stayed December 2007, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Grasmere House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grasmere House Hotel

Address: 70 Harnham Road, Salisbury SP2 8JN, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Wiltshire > Salisbury
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 15 Hotels in Salisbury
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Grasmere House Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 36
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Grasmere House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Grasmere House Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.