We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location for Salisbury on the river” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Grasmere House Hotel

Save Saved
You added Grasmere House Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Grasmere House Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   70 Harnham Road, Salisbury SP2 8JN, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 12 hotels in Salisbury
Los Angeles, California
Top Contributor
126 reviews 126 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 66 cities Reviews in 66 cities
64 helpful votes 64 helpful votes
“Great location for Salisbury on the river”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013

Stayed here one night with a group. The hotel has character. The staff were friendly and helpful despite the restaurant being very busy at the time. Lovely views across the river to Salisbury cathedral. Excellent dinner and breakfast. Would stay here again.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

277 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    109
    81
    46
    25
    16
See reviews for
46
121
11
40
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (99)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013 via mobile

Nice to find a hotel serving such a wonderful roast dinner at such an amazing price, took my mother for her 80th birthday and was made to feel very special, will return soon. Thanks team will book in again really soon

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, South Australia, Australia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2013

This is a lovely hotel. The staff are really lovely and the room is delightful. We had dinner in the restaurant and it was beautifully served, presented and lovely to eat. Thoroughly recommend this hotel to anyone staying in this region.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheltenham, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2013

Tired jaded & scruffy . No idea how it has a "4" rating on trip advisor . A "2 or generous 3" would be more realistic . Food was ok & setting lovely but staff unfriendly & unprofessional, public areas unacceptable, dark dingy & scruffy. Bedroom was ok but bathroom had broken sink , broken lamp in room & the water from tap was cloudy , I did overhear other guests complaining about the plumbing . If you like high standards steer clear .

Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, New Zealand
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2013

Looks lovely, set in a beautiful part of semi rural Salisbury. The receptionist didnt understand what i was asking and although all staff were very heloful in their own way i find it odd that an old stately hotel seemed to be run by eastern european youngsters.
Room was ok, food average. Worst of all were the acoustics. My room was over a social room like a conservatory and i could hear every conversation. It didnt help when one group in for training arrivef bk from from dinner in town and decided to br very noisy downstairs until at least 2am. The receptionist was encouraging of all this from what i could see when i went down to complain
I slso left something behind in my room and and ad i cannot locate an email address ive had to fill in a form online. I have not had a response. Not good enough

Room Tip: Facing the road or top floor. It is creaky
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rhondda
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2013

Took a 2 night break here arrived early but the receptionist told us that we could book in as the room was ready, very comfortable room with all the facilities, had we been of the tall variety we may have had problems with the height of the ceiling but being short had no worries, all the staff we encountered were exceptionally friendly and helpful. Did not have dinner but the breakfast was great, everything from cereal fruit and croissants to a full English, didn't really need to eat again. Location was everything, the grounds alongside the river are magnificent with an imposing view of the Cathedral spire and only a 10 minute walk to the centre of Salisbury.Would certainly recommend this hotel

Room Tip: Try for river view
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Albans, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2013

Excellent two night visit to celebrate my husband's 80th birthday. De Luxe room on ground flloor was superb and gave easy exit for our little dog who could venture out on to the lawn leading from our patio.down towards the river. Breakfast was good with lots of choice from a buffet and the snack meal served in the evening in the lounge was promptly and courteously served. We shall visit again. The location is handy for the town and there are plenty of car parking spaces at the hotel. Cannot fault this hotel at all !

Room Tip: Ground floor rooms at the back have super views and the advantage of a patio with chairs and table.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Grasmere House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grasmere House Hotel

Address: 70 Harnham Road, Salisbury SP2 8JN, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Wiltshire > Salisbury
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 12 hotels in Salisbury
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Grasmere House Hotel 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Tingo, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Expedia, Agoda and Venere so you can book your Grasmere House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Grasmere House Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.