We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a Treasure” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Grasmere House Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Grasmere House Hotel to your Saves list
Grasmere House Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   70 Harnham Road, Salisbury SP2 8JN, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #8 of 14 Hotels in Salisbury
Fremont, California
1 review
“What a Treasure”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2013

This is the quaintest hotel ever. The rooms are comfortable and the beds feel like home. The view of the lake and gardens from the patio is awesome, a pleasure to wake up to. We had a couple of dinners and breakfasts during our stay and the food was fabulous! Everything was fresh and exquisitely prepared. Very close to town and the staff was friendly, attentive and fun!
This should be a definite stop for everyone visiting the area. I am sure to be back!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

306 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    111
    88
    54
    32
    21
See reviews for
55
135
13
45
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (112)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Lytchett Matravers, England, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
99 reviews 99 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2013

Alhtough the decor in both the public areas and the rooms are very much outdated this added to the experience rather than detract. The room we had was spacious, clean and well maintained.

The staff were courteous without being particularly friendly or welcoming - so some work needed there.

We had a great view from our bedroom window across greenland and nearly managed to see the spire of the cathedral.

There was a wedding party the evening we stayed - which were noisy but it all seemed to switch off at a reasonable time.

We would stay again.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2013 via mobile

My husband and I have just held our wedding at the Grasmere. The staff are totally dedicated to all their guests, be they 1 or 90 years old! The level of service was exceptional, from the management team all the way down to the cleaners via the bar, kitchen, waiting and reception. All our guests thoroughly enjoyed their stay. Food was of the highest standard. we will be back!

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cork, Ireland
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2013

Having enjoyed my stay recently during the dorset fair , I returned one evening to the hotel with the face burning off me from the sun . On approaching the reception the manager noticed I was suffering ,and when I expressed a wish to get after sun he immediately offered and then drove me into sailsbury to purchase it . Now need I say anymore about the calibre of people running this hotel. Boy was I impressed .

Room Tip: all rooms are quite as hotel is deep into its own gardens well off the road
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arlington, Virginia
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2013

The hotel has a really pretty setting along the Nadder River, near the confluence with the Avon. The rooms vary because it's an older building, but ours was spacious and nicely furnished. We couldn't have been more pleased. The staff was exceptionally friendly and helpful. Didn't have dinner there, but the breakfast spread was ample and tasty. A great experience and a good stay.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2013

Staying at this hotel is a wonderful experience. The room was large, beautifully furnished with its own patio that lead to the large garden that leads down to the river. Everything about the room expressed quality. The bathroom was large, the shower powerful, Internet was fast and free, large TV with satellite channels, a comfortable seating area, a work area and a large, comfortable bed.

The full breakfast buffet was extensive and the food was good. The staff were helpful whenever we had questions.

I would recommend the Grasmere House hotel for all travelers (romantic, business, family or solo).

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Middelburg
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2013

This is a 3 star hotel but it does not offer 3 star facilities a such. We were booked, at first, into a standard room and I can honestly say that I could not believe my eyes. This room is not even youth hostel worthy; tired cramped and a tiny bathroom. Due to a lovely woman working at the reception desk we got an upgrade to a fout poster bedroom (normally GB 175 p/night.) This room was nicely decorated but again, the bathroom was terrible.
Breakfast in the morning is meagre (and luke warm at best).

Room Tip: Ask for an upgrade...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Grasmere House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grasmere House Hotel

Address: 70 Harnham Road, Salisbury SP2 8JN, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Wiltshire > Salisbury
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 14 Hotels in Salisbury
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Grasmere House Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 36
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Agoda, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Grasmere House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Grasmere House Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.