We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Convenient, pleasant and liked by locals!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Grasmere House Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Grasmere House Hotel to your Saves list
Grasmere House Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   70 Harnham Road, Salisbury SP2 8JN, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #9 of 14 Hotels in Salisbury
Chester
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
“Convenient, pleasant and liked by locals!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2013

This is a well placed hotel about a 20 minute walk into the town centre. It has a quiet and convenient location and we had a delux room with views onto the meadow (.£120) Decor was a little heavy and dark for my liking butfour poster was very comfortable - other than foamy pillows Attention had been given to make the room as comfortable as possible. The bathroom was newly decorated and spotlessly clean- excellent in fact!. Booking , reception and check out was very pleasant, friendly and efficient and one certainly has the impression that staff really want to please and that is delightful .Car parking is very easy and secure and we were told we could leave our car there for the day on the morning we checked out which was very considerate..
Food that evening was well cooked and generous very reasonably priced indeed. Breakfast was ok and the staff were very keen to help at all times. The restaurant area did seem a little small and so the conversation of louder guests irritated and intruded a little! Wine was very well priced and overall this hotel is value for money.

Certainly the overall decor would benefit from a makeover - especially reception area, bar and lounge areas as these are somewhat dark and worn and don't immediatly reflect the quality and standard of service but for a small hotel this is well worth a visit and staff are all well trained, professional and welcoming. I learned it does have a good reputation in town and ls liked by locals which is a good sign indeed.

Room Tip: Talk to reception - they genuinely want to help and it is obvious they value their guests. so state...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

307 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    111
    89
    54
    32
    21
See reviews for
55
136
13
45
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (112)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Bexhill on Sea
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2013

We booked at short notice and stayed one night. For the price charged, this hotel was excellent value compared with the alternatives we found. The room was comfortable and the service and food were both great. Views from the rear of the hotel are excellent - river, meadows and the Cathedral! It's hard to imagine a better location for visiting the city: it's just a few minutes walk away via a choice of two routes, both of which are extremely pleasant. I definitely recommend this hotel and we will probably return at some point when we have more time to visit the city properly.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view across the river.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Margaret River, Australia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2013

I arrived in Salisbury late in the evening and found most inner city hotels fully booked. Their twin-room rates were around the 90-quid mark, so finding the same rate at this hotel 5 minutes drive from the Cathedral (and on the river!) seemed fairly priced. The building itself is a little tired but the rooms are clean, and our highlight was the LARGE bathroom and FANTASTIC water pressure in the shower! We would book again based on this alone :-) Loved the hands-on attention, hand-drawn maps, and general help from the "innkeeper" himself, Dale.

Room Tip: Ask for a "river view" room - it's a little quieter than the "car park" aspe...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, Maryland
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2013

We booked this hotel at the last minute with a 30% off special on Booking.com because our travel plans changed. I am glad we did not pay full price - the decor is dated, the bathroom grout could use a good bleaching, and the walls are very thin. Our luxury double was very large and had a nice view of the river and cathedral, and the bed was large and comfortable, but it is a very old-looking hotel, and I felt it could have been cleaner. I could hear the people in the room next to us - I had to turn on the tv, which did block them out. The outside of the hotel is nice, and it was easy to find via car. It is a convenient 15-minute walk to town, which is another plus, and the receptionist was very pleasant, but I wouldn't pay full price for a room in the future. A fine stay for one night to see Salisbury and the surrounding area, as long as you get a good deal.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicester, England
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2013

Booked a Sunday Special including diner with a deluxe double for £90. Overall a good experience. Hotel in need of a few minor repairs to spruce it up but room was clean and tidy with a nice view of the river and meadows but not the Cathedral. Nice supper and good cooked breakfast. Great location for walking into Salisbury with a nice garden running down to the river.
I booked by telephone as the hotel booking sites seemed to be charging much more or saying there was no availability.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nuneaton, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2013

Stayed here on 1st March 2013. Thought I would treat my boyfriend to a more luxourious hotel than a B&B as we were visiting his family. It turned out that I would have a had a better time with a B&B at a cheaper price. We went to bed around 11pm and was kept awake by teenagers running up and down the stairs outside of our room. They were also shouting up and down the stairs to each other arranging what they were going to do the next day. I was surprised that no member of staff approached these guests to settle them down, as they were extremely loud and must have been heard from reception. When we ran the bath it was found to have lots of bits/dirt in it. We thought we would be put in a better mood with breakfast considering the price we had paid to stay there, but was sadly disappointed. We were welcomed by a member of staff who did not seem to understand us and failed to tell us we could get juice and other items from the breakfast table. She made ordering the cooked breakfast confusing. We did not seem to be given the same level of customer service as the family next to us, even though I realised they were the family making the noice the previous night. When the breakfast came out, the toast was burnt and cold and my poached egg was uncooked to the point that when I put my fork in, clear liquid ran all over the rest of my food. We left immediately and will not consider paying out for this hotel again, or recommend it to anyone else. The only good thing about our stay was the decoration and views.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plymouth, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2013

What a great little setting,superb views from the beer garden across the water to the cathedral,rooms are of a nice size ,dated but clean, very friendly staff ,Breakfast was a buffet size fry up with plenty of choice,i stayed here for one night on a business trip and i will keep it on my list to stay again when around the Salisbury area,Good value for money

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Grasmere House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grasmere House Hotel

Address: 70 Harnham Road, Salisbury SP2 8JN, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Wiltshire > Salisbury
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 14 Hotels in Salisbury
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Grasmere House Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 36
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Despegar.com, Agoda, Booking.com, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Grasmere House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Grasmere House Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.