We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Hotel and very friendly staff” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Grasmere House Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Grasmere House Hotel to your Saves list
Grasmere House Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   70 Harnham Road, Salisbury SP2 8JN, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #9 of 14 Hotels in Salisbury
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Great Hotel and very friendly staff”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2011

Chose to stay at the Grasmere on recommendation from a friend who lives in Salisbury (Trip Advisor is good, but nothing better than a personal recommendation!!)

As most of the "proper" reviews state the views are fantastic across the water meadows to the amazing Salisbury Cathedral.
On arrival was met by smiling, friendly and efficient staff.
Room was warm and very comfortable and the bathroom was spotless.
Great nights sleep due to the quiet location.
Breakfast in morning was excellent. Very attentive staff, full cooked breakfast, toast, coffee and fruit and cereal !! yes I made the most of it.

Would totally recommend this hotel and its great staff. Good value, nice staff and a great restaurant and only 10 min walk to the centre of Salisbury.

Would recommend without hesitation.

The only thing i would suggest is that you dont leave it until the last minute to book room as they were full at the end of November !!!- I took the last room.

Room Tip: Book Early !!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dale N, Manager at Grasmere House Hotel, responded to this review, January 7, 2012
Thank you for your very nice review complimenting our wonderful river and Cathedral views, thank you also for the great comments about our staff and breakfast. I shall pass on your comments on to the rest of the team at Grasmere House, its really good for their morale.
Once again many thanks, we look forward to welcoming you to Grasmere House again in the not too distant future. Dale Naug
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

307 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    111
    89
    54
    32
    21
See reviews for
55
136
13
45
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (112)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2011 via mobile

A cosy hotel with old-fashioned style, yet modern comfort. Friendly and helpful staff. Lovely view of the old city and Cathedral across the river and water meadows.
A 20 minute walk to the city centre via one of two pleasant and picturesque routes (via the cathedral or the water meadows).
All in all, a comfortable and relaxing place to stay, at an affordable price.

  • Stayed November 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Midlands
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2011

Good location for walking into Salisbury Town Centre (10mins).Lovely views of the cathedral from the hotel.Nice rooms if not a bit tired but friendly staff and good breakfast.Ample free parking.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dale N, Manager at Grasmere House Hotel, responded to this review, January 7, 2012
Thank you for your complimentary comments on our great location, only 10 minutes walk to the Cathedral and the city, I shall pass on your views to the team at Grasmere House, they really do appreciate complimentary comments like yours. You will be pleased to know that we have a continuous and ongoing refurbishment programme for our hotel, to keep us up to date. We are very fortunate with the size of our free carpark. Once again many thanks for your lovely review. We look forward to welcoming you to Grasmere House again sometime in the future. Dale Naug
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marlborough, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2011

We booked the Grasmere Hotel well in advance for a local wedding. When we arrived we were told that four of our party of ten could not stay because two rooms had no water, the hotel claimed to have left messages on a mobile days before, but when the booking was confirmed over the phone the day before and that morning there was no mention of this.

As a result they had decided to reserve two rooms at another hotel 10 miles away. When these new arrangements did not suit one couple in our group, who decided to stay with family instead, the duty manager tried to charge us the cancellation fee for the other hotel. The duty manager was extremely unhelpful and our entire party had our entire party had to stand around arguing for half an hour until he finally called his manager, who finally saw reason, and paid for the rooms that we used (see EmVan comments).

For those of use who were "lucky" enough to be able to pay £120 to stay at the Grasmere, we had a tatty hotel that hadn't seen a lick of paint since the 1980's, very poor service, not very clean, uncomfortable beds and a motorway service station breakfast. I was quite excited to find an apricot coloured jacuzzi bath in my bathroom, but it didn't work.....

The only positive thing I can mention view, which was very nice, as long as you were on the right side of the hotel.

Room Tip: Don't stay here, but if it is unavoidable, get a river view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2011 via mobile

When we arrived to check in we were told that 2 out of 5 rooms we had booked were not available. They had reserved 2 rooms at another hotel 10 miles away! We had confirmed the booking twice both the day before and that morning and no mention was made that 2 rooms had been rebooked. When these new arrangements did not suit one couple in our group, who decided to stay with family instead, the duty manager tried to charge us the cancellation fee for the other hotel. His attitude towards us was argumentative, his story kept changing and when we asked to speak to his manager he tried to stall us until we refused to leave the reception area. He eventually backed down and we just paid for the rooms we had used. Overall we found the customer service extremely poor and the hotel certainly does not represent value for money.

  • Stayed September 2011
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wales
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2011

Nice location. Great lawn by the small river at the rear. Good view of Salisbury Cathedral spire from rear facing rooms. A bit depressing inside. Needs a refurbishment. Downstairs lounge has become a storage area, so we sat next to several unused high chairs in a gloomy corner. Upstairs - beds a bit hard, carpet a bit old. Food: Breakfast wasn't special. No fresh fruit but lots of packets. General impression - a bit worn out. Pricey for the standard offered.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hemel Hempstead
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2011

I'm a firm believer that you get what you pay for. Sometimes with the help of web sites like this, you can get a bit more. This is not the case at the Grasmere.
The hotel is in a good location to visit Salisbury. The grounds are nice. The food at dinner and breakfast was pretty good. The rooms were a good size.
However, the hotel is really tired. The beds are well past there sell by date. We had sheets with holes in & drinking glasses that were cracked. The level of service from the staff left a lot to be desired. A few P&Qs would not go a miss and the management clearly does not set high expectations on their staff. This is my 9th hotel I have stayed in this year. I know a good deal when I see it and the prices this place is charging for a room is not good.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Grasmere House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grasmere House Hotel

Address: 70 Harnham Road, Salisbury SP2 8JN, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Wiltshire > Salisbury
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 14 Hotels in Salisbury
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Grasmere House Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 36
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Despegar.com, Agoda, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Grasmere House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Grasmere House Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.