We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A hotel coming out of your dreams” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Legacy Rose & Crown Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Legacy Rose & Crown Hotel to your Saves list
Legacy Rose & Crown Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Harnham Rd, Salisbury SP2 8JQ, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 15 Hotels in Salisbury
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Athens
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“A hotel coming out of your dreams”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2009

One of the best hotels I have ever been. Charming , in an excellent location. Breakfast by the river. Not far from the city centre.
I will certainly go back

  • Stayed May 2009
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

561 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    214
    208
    74
    41
    24
See reviews for
66
324
15
48
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (173)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Caerphilly Wales
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2009

We have stayed at a few Legacy hotels this was our favourite . This one has a stunning location right on the River Avon. Rooms very nice exceptionally clean , staff great and food very good. Fantastic value for money. Pleasant walk into the City took around 10 - 15 minutes cut through grounds of the Cathedral. Salisbury is great , good shopping and plenting of bars and restaurants . We had amazing weather when we were there may not hvae bben so good in the rain I guess.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liskeard, Cornwall
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2009

Our visit was to celebrate our wedding anniversay and booked as a surprise by our family. Our room was fine when we arrived apart from hot water coming from the cold taps. We asked to see the evening menu at 5.45 pm but were told it had not been printed yet. The restaurant manager was not at all helpful. We went elsewhere to eat. The following morning there was no hot water in our room , we reported the matter to reception who assurred us on our return that the problem was solved. The next morning again no hot water - confronted reception on our departure, they apologised and stated that head office was aware of the problem this was not a lot of help to us!! The service at breakfast on our first morning was dreadful and on the following morning the buffet breakfast was cold. We have contacted Legacy Head Office but they have not bothered to reply to our emails. Not being able to shower or bath is not acceptable our stay was not at all comfortable and we felt the hotel was not very well managed, we will not be recommending it again.

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Yorkshire England
Top Contributor
143 reviews 143 reviews
102 hotel reviews
Reviews in 98 cities Reviews in 98 cities
109 helpful votes 109 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2009

We booked on the internet the special offer of 2 night's B&B with two evening meals for a total of £139 - or at least we meant to. My wife omitted to untick the box on the hotel web site offering a "flexibility payment" of £10 enabling us to make changes to the booking. We didn't want this but we we ended up paying it - for no purpose at all. This is called "inertia sellIng" and I do not like it. Beware!
We were courteously greeted at reception and allocated room 1 before leaving for a spot of sightseeing. When we got back a lady approached us and said she wanted to move us to room 4 because of a "housekeeping problem". Or to put it another way someone had made off with the shower curtain. So we moved to room 4 where we found the distinct smell of cigarette smoke - this was not the fault of the hotel as it is total non-smoking establishment but someone should have noticed the problem. So another move to either our original room 1 or room 6 (our choice!). We chose room 1 but found that the curtains when pulled only covered half the window. We couldn't believe it and actually tried several times! So on to room 6 which was OK except that it the hot water flow was so low that it was impossible to take a bath (the solution incidently for anyone who gets room 6 is to use the shower to fill up the bath). Otherwise the room was OK although it was small (as were rooms 1 and 4) and the bathroom window catch was broken. Also having spent so much on refurbishment there shouldn't really have been black mould on three separate parts of the bathroom window.
The hotel itself is quite nice and is well situated about 7-8 minutes walking from the cathedral and about 15 minutes from the town centre. There is plenty parking available. Clearly a lot of money has been spent on it and there is a reasonable degree of "Olde English" charm. The restaurant was also well appointed. Considering what we had paid for our stay the evening meal was about acceptable but it was certainly not a culinary delight and the menu was limited. It was probably frozen food as I found out when I hit the cold spot at the bottom of my bread and butter pudding! The breakfast was excellent, freshly cooked and hot - in other words it wasn't a buffet! Well done.
There were other signs of disorganistion. There was only one set of towels in room 4 as we made our way round the hotel; we had to ask for a replacement toilet roll for room 6; no newspaper was delivered on the first morning although we had ordered one; and the Spitfire beer (which I really like) was unavailable in the bar first night because, according to the barman the following night, it had not been connected. So we went round to the local pub - first left out of the hotel, first right, about two minutes.
All the staff were very pleasant and, despite the problems, we enjoyed our stayed although we were not sorry to be moving on. In value for money terms it was quite good (but don't forget the inertia selling!) and the hotel is well appointed. Nevertheless some effort needs to be put in to get the detail right.

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cambridge
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2009

The hotel group have obviously spent a lot of money here. Given the average room rate, the hotel is good value. Generally service is good, staff are friendly and helpful. Breakfast is good. Just as an aside the fire alarm system works well. Myself and 20 other guests assembled in the lovley garden at 7 a.m. due to someone boiling a kettle for an early morning cup of tea. Had breakfast with the fire brigade. Well at least it shows their system works !

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
milton keynes
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2009

We stayed for 3 days from 3-6 March as it was my husbands 60th birthday on the 6th and I thought it would be nice to have a short break and for us to be there on his actual birthday in the hotel. The hotel was in a lovely spot by the river with a view of the cathedral but we found a couple of things could have been better. We were in one of the newer rooms in the extension but there was no fridge and very squeeky floorboards which we thought a bit strange in the newer part. Tthe staff were not that friendly in particular the restaurant manager? named Sean could not raise a smile or even a "good morning" the 3 days we were there, he looked totally miserable and as though he did not want to be there . The reception staff were not much better and on the day we arrived the man behind the desk I think he was French watched us struggling through the doors with our luggage and did not offer to help in any way or ask if we needed any help in taking the luggage up to the room which was upstairs, he just came into the bar area where we had to wait as the room was not ready and plopped the keys down on the table and said "your rooms ready now" . The bar prices were expensive and there was no atmosphere at all, the barman did not exchange any pleasantries either. The only staff worth a mention was a young lady called Nicki who tried to help us when we had a problem with our tv and the breakfast waiter named Gill who was very nice and SMILED! and chatted to us. We would not go back here as the atmosphere was not welcoming at all, it is as though the staff were all having a bad day or 3! it was dissapointing and we did not enjoy our stay there and wished we had gone somewhere else, my husbands birthday was not acknowledged at all.

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
suffolk
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2009

Found hotel, checkd in, found room 11 very comfortable but with a tiny window overlooking a carpark and walkway with no nets, just curtains which block out the light.
It was quite slow for us to be shown to a table in the restaurant, and it was deathly quiet with no background music, only some music coming through from the kitchen. Not much on the menu but what we had was nice. The bar was also quite with again no background music. it had flat beer (well, tetleys was the only option if you didn't want a lager as the bitter was off) and bad wine, served to us by a seemingly unwitting bar man, and it was realy quite expensive. the bed was fine and wireless worked, the bath and shower were fine, the room was a little noisy from the room above, but thats to be expected in a hotel generaly. parking was good and we heard that it was the only hotel in the area to offer free parking. the breakfast was not great, rubbery toast, tough poached eggs, tough mini croissants. an ok, but not huge selection was a little disapointing.
a concern is the £2.95 charge they add onto any payment by credit card. with alot of visitors during the week being on business, i'm sure they would all be paying on credit card, and not paying out of their bank accounts or paying cash. the hotel have got themselves a good little mark up and profit there, especialy if you have to pay seperately for anything as we did, they made nearly £6 out of us!
all in all a nice hotel in a pretty position, but lacking in atmosphere, decent drinks, and the extortionate credit card charge mean we wont return.

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Legacy Rose & Crown Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Legacy Rose & Crown Hotel

Address: Harnham Rd, Salisbury SP2 8JQ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Wiltshire > Salisbury
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Luxury Hotel in Salisbury
#6 Romantic Hotel in Salisbury
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Legacy Rose & Crown Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 29
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The 4* Legacy Rose & Crown Hotel is an original 13th Century coaching inn located in the City of Salisbury with stunning views across the River Avon & Salisbury Cathedral. There are many original features lovingly retained. The original section of the building still boast its wooden beams through-out and our Oak Bar also enjoys the log fire that is lit in our winter months. A selection of Feature and River View Rooms are available along with our original beamed rooms, please ask our reservation or reception teams for details & availability. Our Pavilion Restaurant where the hotel serves Breakfast, Lunch & Dinner to residents and non-residents offers picturesque views of Salisbury Cathedral and the River Avon combined with ‘Sheep in the meadows’ by constable. Our modern Avon Bar which has kept its original beams and other features is the perfect place for meeting friends. We offer Morning Tea & Coffees, Afternoon Cream Teas & Coffee, Lunches and Dinner and drinks through-out the day. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Legacy Rose & Crown Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Legacy Rose And Crown Hotel
Legacy Rose Crown Salisbury

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Legacy Rose & Crown Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.