We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Legacy Rose & Crown Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Legacy Rose & Crown Hotel to your Saves list
Legacy Rose & Crown Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Harnham Rd, Salisbury SP2 8JQ, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 15 Hotels in Salisbury
Certificate of Excellence 2014
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Lovely hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2014

A lovely hotel in a quiet road. There is a walk that takes you to the town through the grounds of the cathedral, which must be one of the best settings of any cathedral in England.
We had a huge, comfortable room and the view of the garden and river was delightful. The bathroom too was large and smart (let down slightly by difficult tap and shower). The breakfast was excellent and we found all the staff helpful and friendly. If we were to visit Salisbury again we would go straight to the Rose & Crown.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

562 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    215
    208
    74
    41
    24
See reviews for
66
325
15
48
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (174)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Kalamazoo, Michigan
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2014

Great location as it is an easy walk to Salisbury Cathedral and the town. It has a lovely setting on the Avon River with rose gardens. Breakfast was nicely done with linens and in spite of the buffet, the service was attentive. I rated VG instead of excellent due to some mildew issues and attention needed in the bathroom, and the shower control was difficult to figure out. The front desk acknowledged reoccurring problems with the mechanism. I wouldn't let that stop me from staying here again.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shrewsbury, United Kingdom
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2014

We stayed Saturday and Sunday; on Saturday there was a wedding party with a very loud band late into the evening, followed by drunk guests slamming doors into the night. The room was very hot but opening the windows would have let in even more noise. This made for a less than restful experience. The location is good, a short walk to the Cathedral close and then on into the city. The bedroom was comfortable though the shower appeared to have settings of hot or scalding. We ate out on Saturday and in the hotel on Sunday evening. The food was average at best; both of us had indigestion afterwards.
Overall, the hotel has a lovely location and is comfortable, but check whether there is a wedding before booking and eat out.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RoseandCrownGM, General Manager at Legacy Rose & Crown Hotel, responded to this review, August 20, 2014
Dear Guest

Thank your for taking the time and trouble to post your constructive feed back.I am sorry that the wedding music resulted in a restless evening for you we do try to control the volume of disco music however a live band can be a little more difficult,we will certainly continue to monitor this.

We continue to monitor the content of our new Riversedge Restaurant and make changes accordingly.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Playa del Carmen, Mexico
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2014 via mobile

Lovely hotel . . . Our room overlooked the river, the cathedral spire and a medieval bridge (with swans !)

Rooms clean, fresh, and very up to date. Free Wi-Fi, very well appointed bathrooms, and a very nice riverside dining restaurant with good food and service.

Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ireland
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2014

I booked this hotel as a surprise for my girlfriend to go and visit heathen places and catch a bit of history with Stonehenge not far away and the great Cathedral right in the city.

When we arrived we were welcomed, and asked very nicely if we would mind giving our room up for someone who needed wheelchair access, and instead have a slightly larger room with a complimentary gift. We said yes, and were then shown to our room. We did not feel pressured, and the whole incident was handled very professionally by management.

It was amazing. Beams across the ceiling, four-poster bed and a nice, big bath. As a bonus, the hotel is not far from amenities in the town nor from the great cathedral.

We had a most wonderful time at this hotel, and the staff were friendly and helpful when we asked about things to do around the town.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geneva, Switzerland
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2014

Stayed here for a weekend whilst visiting friends near by; after reviewing other establishments in the area it seemed that the trick to getting satisfaction for me was a balance of proximity to town for shopping, sight-seeing and access to bars/restaurants whilst also remaining sufficiently far away form the noise of late night revellers experienced in many towns in the UK (not said disparagingly!).

The Legacy Rose and Crown had a good mixture of both of these factors and the staff were helpful and polite. We ate in the dining room on the saturday night and the food was great - standard menu, nothing too fancy but all of good solid quality and well priced ($60 for two with a bottle of wine, three courses).

The room was clean and well appointed and looked out onto the river, there are a variety of rooms available so check to ensure you have a river view as opposed to a car-park view (if that bothers you!).

All in all, very happy, free car-park and just a 5 minute walk through the scenic cathedral grounds to the town centre - all very pleasant!

Room Tip: I booked a weekend package which included diner - well worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RoseandCrownGM, General Manager at Legacy Rose & Crown Hotel, responded to this review, July 10, 2014
Dear Guest

May I take this opportunity to thank you for your kind comments following your recent stay,I was pleased to read that you liked the hotel and its surroundings,we do hope that we can welcome you back to the hotel in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo, Norway
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2014

After our stay last year a few days at the Rose & Crown was again the highlight of our 14 days in UK, the same executive room as last year with access to the rose garden from the room with a nice view of the cathedral over the river Avon - just a short walk through the close to the city or a little longer one via The Old Mill. Never tired of visiting my native city after moving to live in Norway nearly 50 years ago !! Friendly and efficient staff, on site parking, nice food - great stay.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RoseandCrownGM, General Manager at Legacy Rose & Crown Hotel, responded to this review, July 10, 2014
Dear Guest

I would like to thank you for your continued loyalty.I was also please to read that we met with your expectations once again.The team will gladly welcome you on your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Legacy Rose & Crown Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Legacy Rose & Crown Hotel

Address: Harnham Rd, Salisbury SP2 8JQ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Wiltshire > Salisbury
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Luxury Hotel in Salisbury
#6 Romantic Hotel in Salisbury
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Legacy Rose & Crown Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 29
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The 4* Legacy Rose & Crown Hotel is an original 13th Century coaching inn located in the City of Salisbury with stunning views across the River Avon & Salisbury Cathedral. There are many original features lovingly retained. The original section of the building still boast its wooden beams through-out and our Oak Bar also enjoys the log fire that is lit in our winter months. A selection of Feature and River View Rooms are available along with our original beamed rooms, please ask our reservation or reception teams for details & availability. Our Pavilion Restaurant where the hotel serves Breakfast, Lunch & Dinner to residents and non-residents offers picturesque views of Salisbury Cathedral and the River Avon combined with ‘Sheep in the meadows’ by constable. Our modern Avon Bar which has kept its original beams and other features is the perfect place for meeting friends. We offer Morning Tea & Coffees, Afternoon Cream Teas & Coffee, Lunches and Dinner and drinks through-out the day. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Legacy Rose & Crown Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Legacy Rose And Crown Hotel
Legacy Rose Crown Salisbury

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Legacy Rose & Crown Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.