We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Don't go if it's busy” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Mercure Salisbury White Hart Hotel

Save Saved
You added Mercure Salisbury White Hart Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for rooms, adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Mercure Salisbury White Hart Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   St John Street | Wiltshire, Salisbury SP1 2SD, England   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
UP TO 40% OFF THIS SUMMER
Ranked #8 of 13 hotels in Salisbury
East Anglia
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
“Don't go if it's busy”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2013

We booked for two nights at the White Hart, a Friday and Saturday. On arrival at reception we were informed that the restaurant would be shut on the Saturday night due to a private function. However bar meals (burgers, basically) could be served in the lounge area. Not the greatest of starts. The room was clean but although quite large it had the two single beds pushed together to form a double, (not that we specially requested that) which meant that there was off set lights for the bed and only one bedside cabinet. It looked a bit of a miss mash! Bathroom was very clean and well stocked with toiletries.
Our restaurant meal on the Friday was OK though my duck was well cooked it was extremely tough to cut. Food was well presented and delivered in good time. After the meal we went to sit in the lounge by the log fire, only to be told that this area was reserved for a private party. There were no reserved notices or any way of knowing which seats were reserved.
For our Saturday night meal we went to the Cloisters Pub just across the road and had a great meal.
Sunday morning we arrived for breakfast and were turned away as the restaurant was full and advised to return in twenty minutes. Not a good finale to our stay.
There was a saving grace to the hotel though in the form of the maitre d by the name of Ernest. Brilliant asset to the hotel perfect quality old-fashioned service, delivered in a quiet respectful manner.
Basically the hotel seemed under staffed and was struggling to cope with the demands placed upon it. We wouldn't use it again, though Sailsbury at Christmas is well worth a visit.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WhiteHartManager, General Manager at Mercure Salisbury White Hart Hotel, responded to this review, December 11, 2013
Dear rogshe

Thank you for letting us know about your recent stay with us at the Mercure Salisbury, White Hart Hotel, however allow me to apologise for the concerns raised.

I was pleased to read that the bedroom was clean and met your requirements, the bed is a zip and link bed to accommodate both as a twin or double room and has a topper on the mattress for comfort.

Although I was pleased to read your postive comments regarding Ernst I was disappointed to read that the duck that you requested to be cooked well done was tough and will review the quality with the supplier. In relation to breakfast on the Sunday morning this was well staffed and I can only apologise that you had to wait whilst a table was made ready for you.

I hope we have the opportunity in welcoming you back in the future.

Kind Regards
Mark Postlethwaite, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

472 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    130
    173
    111
    35
    23
See reviews for
77
226
22
59
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (91)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Wolverhampton
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2013

Have been coming here many years but I think its time for a change. Reception area with open fires are appealling however .Poor run down bedrooms - ripped curtains /broken taps / no power-shower /irregular heating. Certainly not good value, not worthy of its star rsting.

  • Stayed December 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WhiteHartManager, General Manager at Mercure Salisbury White Hart Hotel, responded to this review, December 11, 2013
Dear wolves222

Thank you for taking the time in letting us know about your recent stay with us and apologise for any inconvenience caused.

I was concerned to read your remarks and can confirm that we are currently engaged in an agreed programme of investment incorporating bedrooms and public areas which were refurbished as recently as 2011 and are committed to delivering great levels of service.

I hope we have the opportunity in welcoming you back in the future.

Kind Regards
Mark Postlethwaite, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tonbridge, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2013

Stayed here with friends for Christmas Shopping and to visit Cathedral. Staff at reception very friendly but girl who booked us in lacked greatly in knowledge of hotel information and local area.

Cannot fault food which was delicious. Breakfast food was also great but location of buffet in another room not ideal as staff coming along with hot drinks etc along with guests ferrying their plates of food was 'an accident waiting to happen'. Certainly not a safe area if small children around.

Room very clean and comfry but decoration quite drab and in need of attention. Rooms onto main road very noisy.

All in all an ok hotel for one night, if using a special offer as normal prices way too expensive for this hotel, could be really special if certain areas were addressed.

Room Tip: Ask for room at back of hotel not on road side which is noisy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WhiteHartManager, General Manager at Mercure Salisbury White Hart Hotel, responded to this review, December 11, 2013
Dear redrum293

Thank you for choosing the Mercure Salisbury, White Hart Hotel and for taking the time to let us know about your stay.

I was pleased to read that the reception team were very friendly and will address your knowledge concerns with them.

I was further gladdened to read that the food was delicious throughout your stay and will serve as great motivation as we are in the middle of the busy Christmas season.

I hope we have the opportunity in welcoming you back in the future.

Kind Regards
Mark Postlethwaite, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salisbury, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2013

We have stayed here several times - always excellent. Rooms are very comfortable, lovely bedding. Quality complimentary toileteries. Breakfast was good with plenty of choice. Staff are attentive and helpful.

Room Tip: Probably better not to be facing onto the main road.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WhiteHartManager, General Manager at Mercure Salisbury White Hart Hotel, responded to this review, November 28, 2013
Dear CakeMum_13

Thank you for choosing the Mercure Salisbury, White Hart Hotel once again and for taking the time in letting us know about your recent stay.

I was pleased to read that we are able to offer a very comfortable stay with lovely bedding and complimentary toiletries. I have shared your comments relating to the good breakfast with plentiful choice with the team and thanked them for being helpful and attentive during your visit.

Once again thank you for your remarks and we look forward in welocming you back in the future.

Kind Regards
Mark Postlethwaite, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for rooms, adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Mercure Salisbury White Hart Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure Salisbury White Hart Hotel

Address: St John Street | Wiltshire, Salisbury SP1 2SD, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Wiltshire > Salisbury
Amenities:
Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Luxury Hotel in Salisbury
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Mercure Salisbury White Hart Hotel 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This 17th century 3 star hotel with 68 en suite rooms stands in the centre of Salisbury overlooking the famous Cathedral. Ideal base to visit Stonehenge and the New Forest. 25 miles from Southampton Airport, 1 mile from Salisbury railway and coach station. The hotel features the award winning Squires Restaurant and Bar, a lounge, 3 conference suites and a free car park. Nearby local leisure facilities just a short walk away include swimming, sauna, squash, tennis, snooker, horse riding and golf. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Tingo, ACCOR, BookingOdigeoWL, Otel and Venere so you can book your Mercure Salisbury White Hart Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mercure White Hart Salisbury Hotel Salisbury
Accor White Hart Salisbury
Mercure Salisbury

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mercure Salisbury White Hart Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

;