We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful hotel with very comfy beds” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Mercure Salisbury White Hart Hotel

Save Saved
You added Mercure Salisbury White Hart Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Mercure Salisbury White Hart Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   St John Street | Wiltshire, Salisbury SP1 2SD, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #8 of 12 hotels in Salisbury
Salisbury, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Beautiful hotel with very comfy beds”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2013

We have stayed here several times - always excellent. Rooms are very comfortable, lovely bedding. Quality complimentary toileteries. Breakfast was good with plenty of choice. Staff are attentive and helpful.

Room Tip: Probably better not to be facing onto the main road.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WhiteHartManager, General Manager at Mercure Salisbury White Hart Hotel, responded to this review, November 28, 2013
Dear CakeMum_13

Thank you for choosing the Mercure Salisbury, White Hart Hotel once again and for taking the time in letting us know about your recent stay.

I was pleased to read that we are able to offer a very comfortable stay with lovely bedding and complimentary toiletries. I have shared your comments relating to the good breakfast with plentiful choice with the team and thanked them for being helpful and attentive during your visit.

Once again thank you for your remarks and we look forward in welocming you back in the future.

Kind Regards
Mark Postlethwaite, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

444 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    119
    163
    106
    34
    22
See reviews for
72
215
22
56
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (83)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Murfreesboro, TN
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2013

Average hotel with great toiletries. The first room we were put in was very warm and stuffy. We had heard that some rooms had been upgraded with better AC and after notifying the front desk, we were promptly moved to one of these upgraded rooms for an additional fee. We were a little disappointed that no one congratulated us on our wedding; I had sent an email during booking stating that we would be staying there on our honeymoon. We were happy that our upgraded room included was very large compared to other hotel rooms with a larger bed and a fantastic tub/rain shower. Our Salisbury visit was on a unseasonably warm day. We only at breakfast at the hotel and although the buffet had a great variety of cold and hot foods, the food itself was somewhat average but the service was 4 star. The hotel has a beautiful outdoor garden area. The interior was a little dated but there were lots of people mingling and having drinks in every nook and cranny. The location was ideal. We walked a short ways to Salisbury Cathedral and enjoyed walking around the quaint town and shopping on "Fish Row".

Room Tip: Make sure if traveling in warm weather to request an upgraded room for a well functioning AC. I don...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WhiteHartManager, General Manager at Mercure Salisbury White Hart Hotel, responded to this review, November 28, 2013
Dear Gemini0917

Thank you for taking the time to let us know about your stay with us.

I was pleased to read that you enjoyed the upgraded accommodation with its larger room, air conditioning unit as well as the larger bed and bathroom facility. I was also pleased to note that the service provided at breakfast was of a good standard and that the buffet selection offered a great variety of choice.

However I was disappointed that you were not congratulated upon your marriage, please allow me to express belated congratulations from both me and the team at the hotel and hope we have the opportunity in welcoming you back in the future.

Kind Regards

Mark Postlethwaite, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thunder Bay, Canada
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2013

This is a great place to stay. We were touring England and booked this hotel and we were very happy with it. The only negative thing is that there's no lift, but that is common in England. The staff was very friendly and helpful and our room was fine. The location is wonderful, close to everything, yet quiet. We enjoyed our stay very much.

Room Tip: I'm not sure is there's a fitness center here or not as I never inquired.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WhiteHartManager, General Manager at Mercure Salisbury White Hart Hotel, responded to this review, November 22, 2013
Dear DianeB3942

Thank you for choosing the Mercure Salisbury, White Hart when visiting the UK.

I was pleased to read that you found the hotel was a great place to stay and a wonderful location for your vacation.

I was further pleased to note that you found the staff to be both very friendly and helpful as I am sure this will serve as great motivation as we enter the busy Festive period.

Once again thank you for your kind words and hope we have the pleasure of your company when you return to the UK.

Kind Regards
Mark Postlethwaite, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dorset,UK
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2013

Pleasant enough hotel to stay in & ideally situated for cathedral. Bedroom/bathroom a little tired & would benefit from an update. Beds definitely need updating ~ every time you turn over, your partner is bouncing around!! Parking good. Reception Staff - lovely. Bar Staff- not so hot!! NO LIFT so make sure you are agile enough to manage the stairs! Beautiful roaring open fire!

Room Tip: Don't stay in rooms overlooking main road as rather noisy. Not great views from the back but qui...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WhiteHartManager, General Manager at Mercure Salisbury White Hart Hotel, responded to this review, November 22, 2013
Dear DebbieDorset_UK

Thank you for taking the time to post your review following your recent stay with us at the Mercure Salisbury, White Hart.

I was pleased to read that the location of the hotel was ideal for your visit and that you were looked after by the lovely Reception staff, however can only apologise that the bar team were not up to your expectations.

Once again thank you for informing us of your stay and hope we have the opportunity in welcoming you back in the future from our neighbouring county.

Kind Regards
Mark Postlethwaite, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2013

The White Hart is an elegant, grand 17th century hotel situated bang in the centre of the beautifully historic cathedral city of Salisbury. The public rooms equally are tastefully decorated.
with traditional but smart furnishings.

The wedding party couldn't have asked for anything more of the day. The hotel staff worked furiously but unobtrusively to transform the room hosting the wedding ceremony first to a formal dining area and later, to the evening reception complete with live band, DJ and sumptuous buffet. What was remarkable was how everyone commented on the incredible meal. 'Mass feeding' is normally a very sorry affair but the high quality of this 3-course meal shows that it can be done - melt-in-the-mouth top-quality meat cut from a joint (not sliced the day before), fresh (not from frozen!) vegetables cooked to perfection, and everything was served hot. The highly-trained, professional staff worked fast but were still attentive, approachable and friendly. There were plenty of 'nooks and crannies' for people to move around. Everything was utterly faultless and this helped to create a beautiful, memorable day.

Didn't stay so can't comment on rooms, breakfast etc

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WhiteHartManager, General Manager at Mercure Salisbury White Hart Hotel, responded to this review, November 18, 2013
Dear ChaiT_mmmm

Thank you for taking the time to post your review after attending a wedding here at the Mercure Salisbury, White Hart Hotel.

Your kind words were appreciated and will serve as great motivation for the entire team, and was pleased to read that you found the staff to be attentive, approachable and friendly creating a beautiful and memorable day.

I have further shared your praise for the food with the kitchen brigade and Restaurant team regarding the faultless service.

Although you did not stay on this occasion I hope we have the opportunity in welcoming you back soon.

Kind Regards

Mark Postlethwaite, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Mercure Salisbury White Hart Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure Salisbury White Hart Hotel

Address: St John Street | Wiltshire, Salisbury SP1 2SD, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Wiltshire > Salisbury
Amenities:
Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Luxury Hotel in Salisbury
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Mercure Salisbury White Hart Hotel 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This 17th century 3 star hotel with 68 en suite rooms stands in the centre of Salisbury overlooking the famous Cathedral. Ideal base to visit Stonehenge and the New Forest. 25 miles from Southampton Airport, 1 mile from Salisbury railway and coach station. The hotel features the award winning Squires Restaurant and Bar, a lounge, 3 conference suites and a free car park. Nearby local leisure facilities just a short walk away include swimming, sauna, squash, tennis, snooker, horse riding and golf. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, ACCOR, Orbitz, Priceline, Tingo, Despegar.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Otel, Agoda and Venere so you can book your Mercure Salisbury White Hart Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mercure White Hart Salisbury Hotel Salisbury
Accor White Hart Salisbury
Mercure Salisbury

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mercure Salisbury White Hart Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.