We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“nice hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Mercure Salisbury White Hart Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Mercure Salisbury White Hart Hotel to your Saves list
Mercure Salisbury White Hart Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   St John Street | Wiltshire, Salisbury SP1 2SD, England   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Up to 40% OFF THIS WINTER
Ranked #7 of 14 Hotels in Salisbury
staffordshire
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“nice hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2013

Reception staff pleasant. reception area nice - loads of newspapers etc.
There was a wedding taking place - no disruption for the rest of the guests.
Not noisey (we were right above).
Did not have breakfast or dinner - so can't comment.
Room a decent size, clean and bathroom fine.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WhiteHartManager, General Manager at Mercure Salisbury White Hart Hotel, responded to this review, October 9, 2013
Dear michael c

Thank you for taking the time to post your remarks following your stay with us at the Mercure Salisbury, White Hart Hotel.

I was pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay recently and that the Reception team were pleasant and have shared your praise with them to serve as great motivation to them and the entire team.

Once again thank you for choosing the Mercure Salisbury, White Hart and we look forward in welcoming you back in the future.

Kind Regards

Mark Postlethwaite, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

526 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    142
    201
    118
    41
    24
See reviews for
84
242
24
70
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (108)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bridgwater
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2013

We stayed here with friends while we explored Salisbury and we were very happy with our choice. The rooms are comfortable, the Hotel is right in the city centre and the staff are friendly and helpful. We didn't use the restaurant so we can't comment on the food or that side of their service but we were delighted with our stay at the hotel. The building itself is attractive and there is a lovely area at the back where you can sit with a coffee or a beer if the weather is good enough. The bed we used was very comfortable, there was free wi-fi which was 100% reliable, the bathroom was well equipped, we had a safe, a fridge and the room was a comfortable temperature the whole time. The cathedral and the main shopping area is a very short walk away from the White Hart. We got a good deal on the room and we had no complaints at all and would be happy to stay here again.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WhiteHartManager, General Manager at Mercure Salisbury White Hart Hotel, responded to this review, October 9, 2013
Dear Andrew H

Thank you for choosing the Mercure Salisbury, White Hart Hotel.

I appreciate you taking the time to let us know about your recent stay and was pleased to read such glowing comments for the staff and hotel itself.

It is always pleasing to read that the staff are friendly and helpful and this always provides great motivation for the entire team.

Once again thank you for staying with us and we look forward in welcoming you back in the future.

Kind Regards

Mark Postlethwaite, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
München
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2013

The hotel is right in the center - 5 mins walking to to the center - in a very old building. My room was a bit small but spotless clean and in very good condition. Perfect bath, comfortable bed. Internet in the room is complimentary and works well.
The staff is very helpful and friendly - breakfast is fantastic.
Paid parking in the courtyard

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WhiteHartManager, General Manager at Mercure Salisbury White Hart Hotel, responded to this review, October 9, 2013
Dear Stone_xxx

Thank you for posting your remarks following your recent stay with us at the Mercure Salisbury, White Hart Hotel.

I was pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay and that the staff were friendly and helpful, I will share this with the team as I am sure this will serve as great motivation for them all, and was pleased that you enjoyed a fantastic breakfast to set you up for the day ahead.

Thank you for your comments on the accommodation provided and I was glad that the free WIFI was appreciated.

We look forward in welcoming you back in the not so distant future.

Kind Regards

Mark Postlethwaite, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salisbury UK
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2013

Old historic hotel oozing with English charm. In the winter, they light cozy fires down stairs and add coal to chase away the chill. Their onsite parking is a BIG plus in Salisbury. You access it around the back of the hotel and push the button to get the front desk to raise the gate. Breakfast is also wonderful. Easy walk to the Saturday Market and several outstanding restaurants.

Room Tip: I like the room with access to the veranda on the second floor best. The beds are fine, but a littl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WhiteHartManager, General Manager at Mercure Salisbury White Hart Hotel, responded to this review, October 3, 2013
Dear Wright_Family_of_4

Thank you for choosing the Mercure, White Hart Hotel and for the title of favourite large hotel in Salsibury.

I was pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay and that the large car parking facility was of value when exploring both the city and surrounding area.

I have thanked the Food and Beverage team in ensuring that you were served a wonderful breakfast and I am sure this will serve as great motivation for the team.

Once again thank you for your kind words and hope we have the opportunity in welcoming you back in the future.

Kind Regards

Mark Postlethwaite, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
141 reviews 141 reviews
39 hotel reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
65 helpful votes 65 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here recently for work, the hotel is ideally situated for seeing the town centre, rooms large but could do with updating, only real downside is that the floorboards do creak a lot as it is an old building, could be annoying if someone is moving around above you. Breakfast in the morning was very good. Efficient at check in/check out. Would stay again

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WhiteHartManager, General Manager at Mercure Salisbury White Hart Hotel, responded to this review, October 3, 2013
Dear 27Steve118

Many thanks for posting your review following your recent stay with us at the Mercure Salisbury, White Hart Hotel.

The hotel is ideally situated for exploring this historic city, and I was pleased to note that you had an efficient arrival and departure at the hotel performed by the reception team and that you enjoyed a very good breakfast in the morning.

As you mentioned I hope we have the pleasure of your company in the not so distant future and of being of service again.

Kind Regards

Mark Postlethwaite, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2013

Excellent location for visiting Salisbury Cathedral and surrounding areas. Room spotless, food and services a credit to the staff, everyone was so welcoming. Paid for a Privilege room and wasn't disappointed, would highly recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: Upgrade to a Privilege Room, well worth it
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WhiteHartManager, General Manager at Mercure Salisbury White Hart Hotel, responded to this review, October 3, 2013
Dear Sylvie B

Thank you for taking the time in letting us know about your recent stay with us at the Mercure Salisbury, White Hart Hotel.

The hotel is in an ideal location for exploring the Cathedral and surrounding attractions and I was pleased to read that you felt welcome and that both the food and service were a credit to the team at the hotel.

Thank you also for choosing one of our privelege rooms with additional ameneties to assist with making your stay a relaxing one and highly recommedning us to future guests, we hope to welcome you back again in the future.

Kind Regards

Mark Postlethwaite, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Mercure Salisbury White Hart Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure Salisbury White Hart Hotel

Address: St John Street | Wiltshire, Salisbury SP1 2SD, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Wiltshire > Salisbury
Amenities:
Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Luxury Hotel in Salisbury
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Mercure Salisbury White Hart Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 68
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This 17th century 3 star hotel with 68 en suite rooms stands in the centre of Salisbury overlooking the famous Cathedral. Ideal base to visit Stonehenge and the New Forest. 25 miles from Southampton Airport, 1 mile from Salisbury railway and coach station. The hotel features the award winning Squires Restaurant and Bar, a lounge, 3 conference suites and a free car park. Nearby local leisure facilities just a short walk away include swimming, sauna, squash, tennis, snooker, horse riding and golf. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Despegar.com, Agoda, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, EasyToBook, ACCOR and Tingo so you can book your Mercure Salisbury White Hart Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mercure White Hart Salisbury Hotel Salisbury
Accor White Hart Salisbury
Mercure Salisbury

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mercure Salisbury White Hart Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.