We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stuffy rooms” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Mercure Salisbury White Hart Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added Mercure Salisbury White Hart Hotel to your Saves list
Mercure Salisbury White Hart Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   St John Street | Wiltshire, Salisbury SP1 2SD, England   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Up to 40% OFF THIS WINTER
Ranked #7 of 14 Hotels in Salisbury
Monmouth
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Stuffy rooms”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2013

Unfortunately my stay coincided with a school leavers' party being held downstairs. Drunken teenagers falling about; far too much noise, vomit on the pavement outside. I had asked for my room to be aired prior to arrival, but it was like a sauna. I managed to find a fan in a wardrobe but it was too late. Opening the window only added to the noise from the function room. the bed was old & "lumpy". I got very little sleep before an important business meeting
Bar person did not appear sober: only filled 2/3 of the glass, the remainder being froth & spilled my drink over my hand: he did not appear to notice & just turned his back on me.
A real shame because the rest of the staff on reception & in restaurant were excellent. The breakfast was also exceptional. I suggest the hotel does not take on kids's functions mid-week when business people stay there.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WhiteHartManager, General Manager at Mercure Salisbury White Hart Hotel, responded to this review, July 16, 2013
Dear nonamemonmouth

Thank you for taking the time in posting your feedback following your recent stay.

Firstly thank you for your positive remarks regarding the excellent staff on reception and in the restaurant and can only apologise for the service recieved from the bar team on the evening of the stay.

I was further pleased to read that the breakfast on Friday morning was exceptional and have shared with the relevant teams.

I am fully investigating all the points raised, and can inform you that we are investing further in our bedroom stock later this year.

Thank you again for taking the time in writing your review and we look forward in welcoming you back in the future.

Kind Regards

Mark Postlethwaite
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

522 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    142
    199
    116
    41
    24
See reviews for
82
240
24
70
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (108)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
High Wycombe, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

We had an (adult) family weekend in Salisbury and the White Hart met our expectations. Comfortable, with nice rooms and helpful staff the hotel is well positioned being near the Cathedral Close. Our (4) rooms were at the side of the hotel, some facing on the street, and all were quiet. Breakfast was good. Our only gripe was that the air conditioning in the rooms could not cope with the very hot weather, and we had to open our windows to get cool.

Room Tip: Best to get a room at the side of the hotel, although roads are not that busy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WhiteHartManager, General Manager at Mercure Salisbury White Hart Hotel, responded to this review, July 10, 2013
Dear DJennings_12

Thank you for taking the time to post your review following your recent stay with us at the Mercure Salisbury, White Hart.

I was pleased to read that your expectations were met in that the hotel is well positioned for the cathedral, the bedrooms were comfortable and that the team were helpful and that we provided a good breakfast.

Rest assured the comments will be shared with the team and will serve as great motivation to the entire team.

We look forward in welcoming you back to the hotel in the future.

Kind Regards

Mark Postlethwaite, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wagga Wagga
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2013

An excellent hotel to stay at in Salisbury, location is great being walking distance to city centre and some sightseeing areas. Staff most helpful and friendly. The only comment the first morning we had trouble ordering breakfast, the buffet was not on, and we waited over half an hour for an order to be taken. We would recommend this hotel to any travellers wishing to stay in Salisbury.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WhiteHartManager, General Manager at Mercure Salisbury White Hart Hotel, responded to this review, June 26, 2013
Dear Lorraine S

Thank you for choosing the Mercure Salisbury White Hart and for taking the time in letting us know about your recent stay.

The hotel is ideally located for the centre of the city and the famous Cathedral and was pleased that you benefited from our location.

It is always pleasing to read postive feedback concerning the team at the hotel in that they were both helpful and friendly during your visit, and feel assured that your comments will be shared with the entire team.

Thank you further for your recommendation to others and I hope we have the opportunity in welcoming you back to the hotel in the near future.

Kind Regards

Mark Postlethwaite
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Williamsburg, Virginia
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2013

Our friends booked this hotel for the four of us and it was quite nice. I especially liked the room on the main level where we sat and enjoyed coffee in the afternoon. The young woman at the front desk was very helpful in suggesting a place for dinner. Breakfast was e nicest of any of the places we stayed on our holiday. It was very convenient to the center of town and shopping.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WhiteHartManager, General Manager at Mercure Salisbury White Hart Hotel, responded to this review, June 26, 2013
Dear Judy K

Thank you for posting your review of the Mercure Salisbury, White Hart following your recent stay with us.

I was pleased to read that you were able to enjoy our comfortable lounge for your afternoon coffee and that the breakfast served was the best during your holiday and have passed on your comments to the Head Chef and Food and Beverage Manager to share with their teams.

As always positive comments regarding the team serve as motivation to others and are much appreciated in that you found the receptionist in question to be helpful during your stay.

Once again many thanks for taking the time to write your review and I hope we have the opportunity in welcoming you back to the hotel soon.

Kind Regards

Mark Postlethwaite
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
uk
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2013

We sayed here with friends for a weekend break. The hotel is ideally placed for the city centre, cathedral etc. Mercure have done their usual trick of taking a well worn small hotel and bringing it fully up to date. We didn't try the restaurant for dinner (too much choice in the city!), but breakfast was exactly as you'd expect. Very friendly and efficient staff. Apparently our room at the front was a bit noisy when the clubs and bars turned out (but I was out like a light).

Room Tip: Maybe go to the back if you're a light sleeper.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WhiteHartManager, General Manager at Mercure Salisbury White Hart Hotel, responded to this review, June 26, 2013
Dear marcruse

Thank you for taking the time in letting us know about your recent stay with us in Salisbury at the White Hart Hotel.

I was pleased to read that you enjoyed not only the ideal location of the hotel that the breakfast met with your expectations also.

I was further pleased to note that you found the staff to be very friendly and efficient during your stay and that your kind words will serve as great motivation for the entire team.

I hope we have the opportunity in welcoming you back to the hotel in the near future.

Kind Regards

Mark Postlethwaite
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Taunton, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2013

We had a wonderful stay at the White Hart Hotel. Our room was quite small, but more than adequate. The décor was really fresh and finished to a very high standard. The room was very clean and bed extremely comfortable.

This is an excellent hotel in a great location - the staff for the most part were very friendly and all very effecient

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WhiteHartManager, General Manager at Mercure Salisbury White Hart Hotel, responded to this review, June 18, 2013
Dear JOHN H

Thank you very much for your kind review.

It is much appreciated and I can assure you that my team will be delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay, finding them to be friendly and efficient.

I look forward to welcoming you back again very soon.

Kind Regards

Mark Postlethwaite
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bedfordshire
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2013

This hotel was chosen for its position in central Salisbury and the ease of reaching the New Forest attractions. It is also part of the Tesco hotel scheme. The room was at the back and quiet-try to avoid a room on the front as the street is busy night and day. We ate in the restaurant on the first night and the food and service were excellent and the cost very reasonable. Breakfasts could not be faulted whether cooked to order or from the Saturday buffet.The car park is round the back of the hotel and accessed from a parallel street. It is a bit much charging £5 a night when there are no alternatives. All the staff were helpful and cheerful and all in all the hotel is a very comfortable place to stay.

Room Tip: Avoid rooms at the front of the hotel which are on a busy street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WhiteHartManager, General Manager at Mercure Salisbury White Hart Hotel, responded to this review, June 18, 2013
Dear MartinBedfordshire

Thank you for taking the time in posting your review.

I was pleased to read that you enjoyed the catering at the hotel both at dinner and at breakfast, I also appreciated that the team were cheerful during your stay and I am sure that this will serve as great motivation for the entire team.

We look forward to welcoming you back again very soon.

Kind Regards

Mark Postlethwaite
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Mercure Salisbury White Hart Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure Salisbury White Hart Hotel

Address: St John Street | Wiltshire, Salisbury SP1 2SD, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Wiltshire > Salisbury
Amenities:
Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Luxury Hotel in Salisbury
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Mercure Salisbury White Hart Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 68
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This 17th century 3 star hotel with 68 en suite rooms stands in the centre of Salisbury overlooking the famous Cathedral. Ideal base to visit Stonehenge and the New Forest. 25 miles from Southampton Airport, 1 mile from Salisbury railway and coach station. The hotel features the award winning Squires Restaurant and Bar, a lounge, 3 conference suites and a free car park. Nearby local leisure facilities just a short walk away include swimming, sauna, squash, tennis, snooker, horse riding and golf. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Priceline, Despegar.com, Agoda, Travelocity, Odigeo, EasyToBook, TripOnline SA, ACCOR and Tingo so you can book your Mercure Salisbury White Hart Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mercure White Hart Salisbury Hotel Salisbury
Accor White Hart Salisbury
Mercure Salisbury

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mercure Salisbury White Hart Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.