We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Love salisbury” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Mercure Salisbury White Hart Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Mercure Salisbury White Hart Hotel to your Saves list
Mercure Salisbury White Hart Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   St John Street | Wiltshire, Salisbury SP1 2SD, England   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Up to 40% OFF THIS WINTER
Ranked #7 of 14 Hotels in Salisbury
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
78 reviews 78 reviews
47 hotel reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
“Love salisbury”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2013 via mobile

Worn out decor, too hot room, small double, second floor, no lift I think, but great location in lovely city. Downstairs lounge really reception, lots of over 65 year old people taking tea. Breakfast a hot and cold buffet open til v late on Sunday 10.30 which was good. Sadly no radio 4 on TV so no Sunday archers. Shame Sunday check out so poorly staffed waited AGES. Great location close to many shops, pubs and restaurants.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WhiteHartManager, General Manager at Mercure Salisbury White Hart Hotel, responded to this review, March 1, 2013
Dear TravellersRobem

Thank you for taking the time in writing your review of your stay with us at the White Hart Hotel in Salisbury.

I agree that the hotel is in a great location in the heart of the city opposite the famous Cathedral and Close.

I was pleased to read that you enjoyed the opportunity of having a relaxing late breakfast during your stay as this is enjoyed by all of our guests during a weekend stay.

Many thanks for your review, and if I can be of any further assistance please do not hesitate in contacting me direct.

Kind Regards

Mark Postlethwaite
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

530 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    142
    202
    119
    42
    25
See reviews for
85
245
24
70
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (109)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2013 via mobile

This hotel has loads of character, an unbeatable central location, and - for the most part - polite and attentive staff.

Top tip - unless you are on business expenses, give the hotel bar a miss, as it's ruinously expensive. There are several very nice, good value pub/restauramts within easy walking distance.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WhiteHartManager, General Manager at Mercure Salisbury White Hart Hotel, responded to this review, March 1, 2013
Dear RedDragonSteve

Many thanks for your review following your recent stay with us at the White Hart, and I was pleased that you had a fabulous stay.

The hotel is ideally located for exploring the historic city of Salisbury and I was further gladdened to read that the staff were both polite and attentive during you stay as we pride ourselves in the service provided by the whole team.

Once again thank you for your kind words and I hope we have the opportunity in welcoming you back in the future.

Kind Regards

Mark Postlethwaite
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2013

I was forced to stop over here because of the adverse weather conditions.

Lovely big room, beautiful open roaring fire in the lounge, friendly attentive bar staff and great receptionists... Nothing too much bother...

And you think this is good ? ... There is more ... The three course meal I had was quite remarkable... Chef was simply brilliant .. Not only in what he produced but also in his presentation .... Simply brilliant ... Same for the huge breakfast .....

Thank you very much ... I will be back...

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WhiteHartManager, General Manager at Mercure Salisbury White Hart Hotel, responded to this review, January 22, 2013
Dear Zubo01

Thank you for posting your review following your unscheduled stay at the hotel during the recent bad weather.

I was pleased that you were looked after by the the attentive staff including the Reception and Bar teams, and that the open fire was enjoyed against the winter storm outside.

I have passed on your kind words about the food and service to the team including the dinner taken where the chef had taken time with both production and presentation as well as the breakfast to give you the start you need the following morning.

Once again thank you for your kind words and I hope we have the pleasure in welcoming you back for a scehduled visit in the future.

Kind Regards

Mark Postlethwaite
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2013

This is the second time I have stayed here this month. Excellent parking facilities and you can get your car in and out of the car park whenever you want, unlike another hotel very close by. And, parking cost is very reasonable at £5 per night.
Excellent decor, facilities and service. Last week I asked if any chance of a room with a shower as i have a back condition and when I arrived this week, I got exactly that. A fab room, with a shower.
Food here is excellent, incl room service. Comfy beds, great power showers and no traffic noise. Just what I want from a hotel stay while away on business.
Whenever visiting Salisbury , I will come back here. Even considering a weekend break with my husband as This is such a great place. Thank you!

Room Tip: Both of my rooms have been great!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WhiteHartManager, General Manager at Mercure Salisbury White Hart Hotel, responded to this review, January 17, 2013
Dear Elliep57

Thank you for taking the time in letting us know about your recent stays at the Mercure White Hart in Salisbury.

I was very pleased when reading your review that not only the hotel decor and facilities were appreciated that the actions of the staff during your stay made your next stay even better by listening to you and actioning accordingly.

Your comments will be shared with the team and act as great motivation for others to deliver the same levels of service.

Once again thank you for your kind words and if I can be of any further assistance please do not hesitate in contacting me direct.

Kindest Regards

Mark Postlethwaite
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berkshire
Top Contributor
112 reviews 112 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
64 helpful votes 64 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2013

A post Christmas stay for a couple of nights at The White Hart was pleasant rather than spectacular. I booked via expedia and made the fundamental mistake of assuming that a 4* hotel would have a lift. Arrived to find no lift in and we were on the first floor. My wife had a stroke in 2011 and struggled up the stairs but the room allocated was at the end of a long corridor. Hotel changed us to one near the staircase but this had the unfortunate position of being very close to the party area where on the second night the Salisbury Taxi Drivers were holding their annual Christmas party. Very noisy till 12.30 . Staff were very pleasant and special mention of Sarah, our waitress on the second evening when we were the only couple eating in the restaurant is justified as she was warm, charming and witty. Hotel charged £5 per night to park and this is obviously a must as my wife cannot walk long distances but we did get a disabled space both nights.

Room was a bit pokey and the toilet was so close to the wall I could not use it being a big chap, very embarrasing. Meals in the hotel (2 breakfasts, 1 dinner) were pleasant and what one would hope with a 4* hotel. Overall the stay was nice but not spectacular.

Room Tip: Ask for a room not over party area
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WhiteHartManager, General Manager at Mercure Salisbury White Hart Hotel, responded to this review, January 17, 2013
Dear Anthonyandana

Many thanks for posting your recent review of the hotel.

I was pleased to read that throughout your stay you found the staff to be pleasant and have noted the specific mention of Sarah and will pass on to her and the team, I was further pleased to read that you found the food at dinner and breakfast to be pleasant also.

The hotel is a Grade II listed building, however the team are trained to help guests that require any assistance during their stay with us, and as you noted the hotel has provision for car parking on site.

Once again thank you for taking the time in posting your review and if I can be of any further assistance please do not hesitate in contacting me direct.

Kindest Regards

Mark Postlethwaite
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Mercure Salisbury White Hart Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure Salisbury White Hart Hotel

Address: St John Street | Wiltshire, Salisbury SP1 2SD, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Wiltshire > Salisbury
Amenities:
Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Luxury Hotel in Salisbury
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Mercure Salisbury White Hart Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 68
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This 17th century 3 star hotel with 68 en suite rooms stands in the centre of Salisbury overlooking the famous Cathedral. Ideal base to visit Stonehenge and the New Forest. 25 miles from Southampton Airport, 1 mile from Salisbury railway and coach station. The hotel features the award winning Squires Restaurant and Bar, a lounge, 3 conference suites and a free car park. Nearby local leisure facilities just a short walk away include swimming, sauna, squash, tennis, snooker, horse riding and golf. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Priceline, Despegar.com, Agoda, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, ACCOR, EasyToBook and Tingo so you can book your Mercure Salisbury White Hart Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mercure White Hart Salisbury Hotel Salisbury
Accor White Hart Salisbury
Mercure Salisbury

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mercure Salisbury White Hart Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.