We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Location, location, location” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Mercure Salisbury White Hart Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Mercure Salisbury White Hart Hotel to your Saves list
Mercure Salisbury White Hart Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   St John Street | Wiltshire, Salisbury SP1 2SD, England   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
MERCURE SPRING OFFER
Ranked #8 of 15 Hotels in Salisbury
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Location, location, location”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2012

The hotel is very well located, very near the town centre. Very comfy bed, clean room, excellent size, but had a very bad damp smell. Stay away if you are allergic! Bathroom very small and basic.
Hotel has a nice lounge area, with plenty of comfortable sofas. Restaurant waiter was VERY nice and friendly. We just had a late quick snack, which was fine and a bonus for us, considering everywhere else was closed after 9pm. It can be quite hectic and loud over the weekends, since they have 2 reception rooms hired for parties....
The breakfast buffet was good.
On balance - good for the basics if you get a deal and a damp free room!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WhiteHartManager, General Manager at Mercure Salisbury White Hart Hotel, responded to this review, June 20, 2012
Dear env1111

Thank you for taking the time in letting us know about your recent stay at the White Hart in Salisbury.

As you mentioned the hotel is in an excellent location for both the city centre and of course the historic cathedral and close. I was also very pleased to read that you enjoyed the recently refurbished lounge facilities and the late snack and breakfast.

And although the bedroom was clean with a comfy bed please accept my apologies as I was concerned to read the comment relating to the damp smell in the room, and you have my assurances that upon inspection of the rooms this is now not the case and may have been related to the recent heavy rainfall.

Once again thank you for your feedback and if I can be of any further assistance please do not hesitate in contacting me direct.

Kind Regards

Mark Postlethwaite
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

589 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    160
    227
    132
    45
    25
See reviews for
98
266
24
83
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (121)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Oswestry
Top Contributor
117 reviews 117 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 66 cities Reviews in 66 cities
97 helpful votes 97 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2012

Now owned by a French group, this hotel should be fantastic, the staff ARE fantastic, the building IS fantastic but the overall experience is a total disaster. The rooms are OK but at £170 a night are so over priced as to be, well a real disappointment. Then there is the food – oh my goodness the food!

Should have realised there was going to be a problem when the menu was a pre-printed and laminated affair, more like the things one sees under big yellow arches than in a high class hotel. The selection was poor, the most exciting main being a burger yet there was smoked sea trout in the starters list. The likelihood is the closest to the sea the fish had been was, well, Salisbury, it was the size, colour and taste of a normal trout when a sea trout is often the size of a salmon and of similar colour, I decided to try it to see what the taste difference between it and smoked salmon might be, I still have no idea.

The staff admits that most (if not all) the food comes straight from a major food distributor, brought in and warmed up. The chefs can make tarts and boil potatoes and well warm up things from packets, no wonder there were a total of six people in the restaurant the evening we stayed. In contrast the wine list has some really nice and quite expensive wines and a very knowledgeable wine waiter to boot!

Come on Mercure, if you served food this poor in your French hotels your customers would lynch you, why do you foist it on us Brits?

We booked for three nights but only stayed one and if you are thinking of booking, well my advice would be think again!

Room Tip: Don't bother - stay somewhere else!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WhiteHartManager, General Manager at Mercure Salisbury White Hart Hotel, responded to this review, June 14, 2012
Dear FoodieOswestry

Many thanks for your kind words about the staff and hotel building, however I was disappointed to read your comments relating to the menu.

I treat all feedback with the utmost seriousness and have investigated your points with the team who remember your feedback relating to the food. And although you did not enjoy your meal I ensure that the staff cater to all guests requests and that the menu has been designed to cater for both the business traveller and leisure guest alike.

The price stated is not our fixed price and rooms are often cheaper than the one stated.

At the White Hart we take pride in our services and our facilities and are passionate about ensuring that when guest stay with us it is the best it can be.

Kind Regards

Mark Postlethwaite
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2012

We stayed here three times in the last 5 months and again breakfasts was amazing didn't see the chef well did but didint say anything but this time i had to say what a brilliant breakfasts to him. And im planning coming back end of this month Dan was so helpful and i hope he is still working for the hotel still. Not much else to say staff was ever nice. Rooms could be abit cleanerbut a really good stay and will be staying again and again just want to say a big thankyou to all staff for my stay.

  • Stayed May 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, General Manager at Mercure Salisbury White Hart Hotel, responded to this review, July 7, 2012
Dear hickswhite

Many thanks for your recent feedback concerning the breakfast standard at the hotel, the hotel team and I understand that this is the most important meal of the day.

We also make every effort in ensuring that we continue to develop the food on offer with fresh fruits to our hot cooked breakfast to appeal to all guests needs.

Thank you for choosing the White Hart, and I hope we have the opportunity of your company in the future.

Kind Regards

Mark Postlethwaite
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2012

This is a nicely presented old hotel ( even the sixties box extension on the back of the hotel seems old and is covered in creeping vegetation!) several of us booked twin rooms as the chaps were on our own on a fishing weekend. The rooms were clean and comfortable and everything worked. The buffet breakfast was ok and the service snappy. We were all baffled as to how this pleasant basic hotel had accumulated a lofty 4 stars however.
You can see why its popular for local weddings - fortunately the one that was there petered out before bedtime because i could imagine some would get noisy.
The location was very near the cathedral close which is still magical in this day and age.I give it 4 stars mainly because the Australian woman behind the desk was so cheerful and helpful.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WhiteHartManager, General Manager at Mercure Salisbury White Hart Hotel, responded to this review, May 30, 2012
Dear Mark H

Many thanks for your comments relating to the White Hart, especially the added note concerning the Australian Receptionist Bridie who was cheerful and helpful during your visit, we recieve regular positive feedback concerning her and are proud to have her part of the team.

As you mentioned the hotel is located near the famous Cathedral and Close and I can understand the the feeling that it still remains 'magical' in this day and age.

I was also glad to read that your room was clean and comfortable and in good working order, and I hope you had a succesful fishing trip and that we have the pleasure in welcoming you back to the White Hart in the near future.

Kindest Regards

Mark Postlethwaite
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
west sussex
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2012

We only spent one night at The White Hart attending a Wedding Reception. We were kindly allowed to change rooms as the ventilation fans were noisy outside the first room we were shown. Our room had been clearly refurbished and was spotlessly clean. Our room was well equipped. We had a fridge and a large modern television. A member of staff brought us up a fresh jug of milk. The Wedding Buffet and Breakfast were excellent. The White Hart is in a perfect location for exploring Salisbury being right in the town. There is no lift which could be a problem for some people but the Staff I am sure would take suitcases up if asked.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WhiteHartManager, General Manager at Mercure Salisbury White Hart Hotel, responded to this review, May 25, 2012
Dear Happymousewestsussex

Thank you for your warm and encouraging words regarding your recent stay with us at the White Hart, I was especially glad to read that the team responded to your requests in an efficient manner.

We are proud of the service levels we provide as well as ensuring that we have a clean and well equipped hotel for all of our guests, as well as providing those little extras like fresh milk, and offering assistance with luggage.

The hotel is the perfect location for exploring Salisbury as you mentioned and we look forward in welcoming you back in the near future.

Kindest Regards

Mark Postlethwaite
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mount Hope, Canada
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2012

We stayed two nights and our room was very comfortable. I have never seen or used such great towels... They were very large and we had a towel warmer ! Great location to walk around town and very close to the Cathedral. Staff was very helpful and friendly. Would stay again and recommend.

Room Tip: There was no elevator.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WhiteHartManager, General Manager at Mercure Salisbury White Hart Hotel, responded to this review, May 19, 2012
Dear Reviewer

Many thanks for you kind words and I was very pleased to read that you had such a wonderful stay with us at the White Hart.

Thank you especially for the positive feedback concerning the staff that work at the hotel as it is always pleasing to share with them, and that their efforts have been recognised when it comes to being friendly and helpful.

The location of the hotel is great for visitors to this historic city, in close proximity to the centre of the town and in easy walking distance to the Cathedral.

Thank you also for mentioning the towels selected for use within our hotel as we ensure a comfortable stay for all our guests, and I hope we have the oppportunity in welcoming you back to the White Hart in the future.

Kindest Regards

Mark Postlethwaite
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxfordshire
Top Contributor
79 reviews 79 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
68 helpful votes 68 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2012

Booked 10 bedrooms and a meeting room for a small meeting. All arrangements worked out really well. Staff very helpful and friendly, rooms great, food fantastic, personal attention to everything we needed. Was a bit of a mix-up on the invoice, but easily solved. I will be back soon - this time with family instead of work! Highly recommended

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WhiteHartManager, General Manager at Mercure Salisbury White Hart Hotel, responded to this review, May 9, 2012
Dear Reviewer

Many Thanks for your feedback in relation to the conference event held at the hotel, I was glad to read that the conference and operational team not only delivered on the day that they paid great attention to your event and were both helpful and friendly.

I have shared your comments relating to the fantastic food with the Head Chef and kitchen brigade during the event and matches the positive feedback we are recieving with our new seasonal menu offering.

I hope we have the pleasure of welcoming you back to the White Hart for leisure rather than work in the not too distant future and do not hesitate to contact us direct for the best rates available.

Warm Regards

Mark Postlethwaite
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Mercure Salisbury White Hart Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure Salisbury White Hart Hotel

Address: St John Street | Wiltshire, Salisbury SP1 2SD, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Wiltshire > Salisbury
Amenities:
Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Luxury Hotel in Salisbury
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Mercure Salisbury White Hart Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 68
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This 17th century 3 star hotel with 68 en suite rooms stands in the centre of Salisbury overlooking the famous Cathedral. Ideal base to visit Stonehenge and the New Forest. 25 miles from Southampton Airport, 1 mile from Salisbury railway and coach station. The hotel features the award winning Squires Restaurant and Bar, a lounge, 3 conference suites and a free car park. Nearby local leisure facilities just a short walk away include swimming, sauna, squash, tennis, snooker, horse riding and golf. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotels.com, ACCOR and Agoda so you can book your Mercure Salisbury White Hart Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mercure White Hart Salisbury Hotel Salisbury
Accor White Hart Salisbury
Mercure Salisbury

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mercure Salisbury White Hart Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.