We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The history of the novel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Salisbury Cathedral

Salisbury Cathedral
33 The Close, Salisbury SP1 2EJ, England
01722 555 120
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 27 attractions in Salisbury
Type: Religious Sites, Architectural Buildings
More attraction details
Attraction Details
Owner description: Completed in 1258, this is one of the finest medieval cathedrals in Britain, which features the tallest spire in England that rises 404 feet into the air.
San Mateo, California
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
7 attraction reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“The history of the novel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2013

This is an amazing site and well worth a visit, not only charming town, but the cathedral is a true gem and historic artifact do not miss this wonderful architectural design that originated in the 1300's but also has one of the original copies of the Magne Carta

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,404 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,046
    299
    55
    3
    1
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
norwich
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Cathedral guided tour - thoroughly recommended”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2013

It was a cold Autumnal Sunday afternoon and being new to the Salisbury area my wife and I decided to visit the cathedral. The normal contribution to view the cathedral interior is £6.50 per adult; however, upon our arrival we were offered the last two remaining places upon the "tower tour" at a cost of £10.00 per person. What an excellent, most interesting tour.

Our group of twelve explored the stairways, roof spaces, tower and spire; at the end of each flight of stairs / steps our tour guide explained the details and intricacies of each location. Within 45 minutes we had climbed to the belfry and experienced at first hand the two o' clock chimes. Fifteen minutes later we had climbed to the top of the tower (base of the spire) and were able to view Salisbury to the north, south, east and west.

Within a total of ninety minutes we were back at ground level at the Spire Crossing, being shown how the weight of the tower and spire has shifted the spire 75cm out of alignment. Also, there is a small floor stone that is removed to indicate the water level, on the day it was four feet below ground level.

We then followed the recommended route around the cathedral and finished at the Chapter House to view the Magna Carta (I had always thought that the Magna Carta had been signed by King John - hence the old schoolboy joke "where was the Magna Carta signed ? ... ... at the bottom", but apparently it was sealed instead).

Volunteer guides were always on hand to answer any queries - such as "what is the bumping stone used for ?". An excellent afternoon to view seven hundred and fifty-five years of history.

Visited November 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stoke-on-Trent, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“So much to absorb”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2013

The cathedral was lovely. Evensong with the choir singing is not to be missed as is the climb to the top of the tower & spire. The sense of history is imense.Do see the Magna Carta, the basis of so many human rights.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“A must do for a spectacular view!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2013

Beyond the grandeur and visual magnificence of this cathedral, I would definitely advise for you to take the tour and climb the stairs to the top! The incredibly friendly tour guides are full of information and the stairs are really not as daunting as they would appear! The tour allows for regular breaks for those who are concerned about reaching the top! The view at the top is spectacular, even if it isn't a clear day! It's an achitectural and historical wonder! So definitely put that on your list of things to do in Salisbury!!

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
8 attraction reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“Worth a visit for many reasons”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2013

Apart from the fact that the cathedral is a great example of early English architecture, there are also many other reasons why you should visit it. It houses the best surviving of the four original copies of the Magna Carta (no photos are permitted), as well as the oldest working clock in the world!

If that is not enough to impress you, the cathedral has the tallest church spire in the UK, as well as the largest cloister and cathedral close in Britain.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Salisbury Cathedral also viewed

Salisbury, Wiltshire
Amesbury, Wiltshire
 
Salisbury, Wiltshire
Salisbury, Wiltshire
 

Been to Salisbury Cathedral? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Salisbury Cathedral, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Salisbury Cathedral to your Saves list