We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful cathedral!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Salisbury Cathedral

Salisbury Cathedral
33 The Close, Salisbury SP1 2EJ, England
01722 555 120
Website
Improve this listing
Visit Salisbury Cathedral like an insider
Top Rated
$168*
and up
Small-Group Stonehenge, Bath and Salisbury Day...
Ranked #1 of 65 things to do in Salisbury
Certificate of Excellence 2014
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Completed in 1258, this is one of the finest medieval cathedrals in Britain, which features the tallest spire in England that rises 404 feet into the air.
Texas City, Texas
Top Contributor
87 reviews 87 reviews
27 attraction reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
“Beautiful cathedral!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2013 via mobile

We enjoyed our day out at the cathedral! The staff were friendly and were very willing to share their wealth of knowledge. Our children really enjoyed the tour guide designed for kids to explore the cathedral.
Highly recommend visitors in the area to visit!

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,120 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,586
    456
    71
    4
    3
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“A tour not to be missed!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2013 via mobile

We were attending a wedding in the afternoon and decided to go on the Cathedral tour, having paid the suggested family donation of £15 we were greeted by our guide Sylvia. The tour was fantastic, the architecture and history of the building are second to none however the jewel in the crown was Sylvia, she was knowledgeable, informative and one of funniest people I have had the pleasure to meet. We are planning on returning at some point in the future and would wait to be on Sylvia's tour!!

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bath, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
10 attraction reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Do the tower tour”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2013

The cathedral was stunning, despite the repair work that was being done. The highlight was the 2 hour tower tour that we did. The tour takes you up to the base of the spire. While not for the faint hearted (I am not afraid of heights and it even put me off a bit!) the opportunity to get a unique view into the construction of these magnificent cathedrals is well worth the trip up the 300 or so winding stairs!

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dover, United Kingdom
1 review
“Must see Attraction”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2013

Many people commented that catherdral are more or less the same. I disagree. Salisbury Cathedral has its own character. Tall & slim. In fact, it's quite spacious inside which you would not expect. Lots to see. It'sa must see attraction for tourist. I don't mind to visit again even I live in this country.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, UK
Top Contributor
187 reviews 187 reviews
30 attraction reviews
Reviews in 82 cities Reviews in 82 cities
322 helpful votes 322 helpful votes
“More impressive from the outside than the inside”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2013

There is no entry fee, although if you don't look carefully you'd think there was, as there are 'suggested donations' and what looks like a kiosk where you have to pay. If the suggestions had been more reasonable we might have paid them. This is an amazing Cathedral from the outside, whereas inside it is similar to many others. The most interesting parts were the oldest clock in the world (possibly!) and the copy of the Magna Carta. A large section of the building is under renovation at the moment, which is a shame.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Salisbury Cathedral also viewed

Amesbury, Wiltshire
Salisbury, Wiltshire
 
Salisbury, Wiltshire
Salisbury, Wiltshire
 

Been to Salisbury Cathedral? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Salisbury Cathedral, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.