We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Curry in a pub - perfect!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Rai D'Or

Rai D'Or
69 Brown St, Salisbury SP1, England
44 1722 327 137
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #11 of 221 Restaurants in Salisbury
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Cuisines: Thai
Dining options: Dinner, Delivery, Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Delivery, Late Night, Reservations
Croydon, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
“Curry in a pub - perfect!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2013

We went there having read good reviews, and were not disappointed. Lovely informal pub with a real fire and good ale. The staff were friendly and efficient without being obtrusive, and the food was very good. Excellent value - we would definitely go again.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

131 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    82
    35
    9
    2
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Andover, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“Quirky - in a good way.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2013

OK - Thai food in a real-ale pub. Not the first, perhaps, but it's an interesting building, the service was....patient (no hovering, but on-hand when needed), the thick beef curry was tasty and had sliced chillies just to make sure I drank my cider, and my eating partner's chicken in Thai herbs was pronounced excellent. Nor was it horrendously expensive...bonus!

The mixed starter was fine, if a bit standard, and the desserts need some more proper Thai content. Mango and sticky rice would be nice! Get those sorted and I'll give you the extra star, guys.

The piped music was eclectic and interesting (two-tone, choral, jazz, rock...!) and although louder than just background, it had the treble rolled off so that it did not overpower conversation. If that is deliberate, it's clever and works! Other establishments could learn from that.

Like Arnie - I'll be back.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Near Swindon
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Excellent meal and lovely experience....”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2013

Stayed in Salisbury for a weekend and had been recommended this restaurant. Despite some of the negative comments on here I found the service excellent and the owner a most pleasant chap. Good food with a nice varied selection - I am vegetarian and found plenty of options.

Added bonus is that this also doubles as a nice real ale house for those who like a good pint of ale.

All in all highly recommended.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salisbury, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Great Tai”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2013

Love it here, been loads of times. Food is brilliant and great choice for vegetarians. Very friendly pub and a great atmosphere to entertain friends. Good location near the city centre. Only slight criticism is that the food does seem a little expensive, other wise we'd be there every night! It's more of a treat.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salisbury, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
235 reviews 235 reviews
139 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 65 cities Reviews in 65 cities
179 helpful votes 179 helpful votes
“Great Thai Food and quality Real Ale”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2013

My wife and I eat here once a month and it never disappoints. The owner is a really nice man who always pops out to say hello and is committed to serving excellent food at an affordable price, it's probably the best value for money restaurant in Salisbury.

The food is Thai and its excellent, my wife and I had the prawn crackers and chicken sate to start with followed by a thick chicken and prawn curry with jasmine rice, both he curry's were delicious. The other positive about this restaurant is that it always has two really nice real ales on draft, this visit was no different to any others, excellent quality food and service plus lovely well kept beer.

We will return soon and can highly recommend.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Rai D'Or also viewed

Salisbury, Wiltshire
Salisbury, Wiltshire
 

Been to Rai D'Or? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Rai D'Or, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.