We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“a very pleasant evening” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Salisbury Seafood & Steak House

Salisbury Seafood & Steak House
Milford Hall Hotel | 206 Castle Street, Salisbury SP1 3TE, England
+44 1722417410
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #39 of 209 restaurants in Salisbury
Price range: $34 - $69
Cuisines: British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Description: Open to the public 7 days a week, lunchtime and evening, Salisbury Seafood and Steak House is a comfortable, relaxed restaurant offering a new concept in Salisbury. You can now enjoy the finest quality meats, freshest seafood and fish in the city, awarded joint-top restaurant in Salisbury by the AA Guide. The restaurant offers a heated conservatory bar where you can sit and relax whilst enjoying a pre-lunch and dinner drink. Meanwhile, the comfortable furnishings and soft mood lighting provide a stylish, friendly and relaxed atmosphere. In the summer months, the roof retracts so you can enjoy your drinks under the warm summer sun! Whatever the occasion; a quick lunchtime special, a lunch meeting with colleagues, or a leisurely lunch or dinner with friends and family, this restaurant serves steaks seared to perfection, market-fresh seafood and much more. You will have a difficult time deciding what to choose!
Havant, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“a very pleasant evening”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2012

We were staying in the hotel linked to the restaurant, and had booked a table when we checked in. Apart from the fact that the restaurant didn't seem to be expecting us when we arrived at the appointed time, they quickly found us a table. Food was really good, with a good range of options on the "3 courses for £19.95" option (though some items had already sold out)

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

77 reviews from our community

77% Recommend
    42
    18
    10
    5
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Salisbury, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
“Lovely food for fish lovers!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2012

This restaurant is part of the Milford Hall hotel, and we have often eaten here since it's refurbishment a few years ago. It specialises in seafood and steaks, and the seafood element is awesome. The portion sizes are just right, and they cook the fish perfectly, which with items such as scallops is important. It is not the cheapest of restaurants but you get what you pay for.
They also do a loyalty card which is of benefit to the regulars.

There is a small, but nice, bar as well for pre and post dinner drinks and they often lay on special events etc. Lovely place, well decorated, lovely food and a chance to dress up too!

  • Visited May 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salisbury, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
89 reviews 89 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
140 helpful votes 140 helpful votes
“Always good”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2012

The food is always good and the welcome is genuine

Visited April 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amanda G, Manager at Salisbury Seafood & Steak House, responded to this review, July 21, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to write such a good review on Salisbury Seafood & Steak House. We much appreciate all feedback. you comments have been passed on to the team.

We look ofrward to welcoming you back to Salisbury Seafood & Steak House again in the not too distant future.

Kind Regards
Amanda L Guest
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salisbury, England, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Gone south!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2012

This used to be a restaurant that prided itself on great food (especially steak) and service. Both have declined over the past 12 months and now there are many better places to go that offer better quality and better value for money

Visited October 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Manager at Salisbury Seafood & Steak House, responded to this review, June 25, 2012
I was sorry to read your comments. I have tried to look into the problems you encountered, unfortunately I was unable to locate your table reservation, or any sign of a complaint. I did notice you had posted several different reviews on the same day so perhaps you visited some time ago?

If you would be so kind as to contact me so we can find out the problems you encountered thus these issues can be discussed with both the Kitchen and Restaurant Team in order to rectify in the hope that and we can encourage you to visit us again.

Thank you for your time

Amanda L Guest
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salisbury
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Potential to be really good”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2012

Went here with my husband for a romantic meal. Booked as we were worried being a Friday night, We shouldn't have been as there was only one other couple in the restaurant. we sat in one of the booths though which was really spacious - don't know how many people would sit there on a busy night. The other tables seemed quite close together.
There was a set menu available (sorry can't remember the price but was a good deal) but we opted out of that.
Food was really lovely. My husband had scallops to start which were perfectly cooked and really tasty. I had prawns and smoked salmon. It was really tasty and lots of it (in comparison to the scallops) maybe a little too much sauce for me.
For main my husband had steak, cooked exactly as asked and delicious and I had swordfish which was equally good. We shared a bottle of wine that was very drinkable and didn't break the bank.
Only downside is that it was all a little rushed, only about 10 minutes from order to starter and then a few minutes until mains. We like to spend 2-3 hours over dinner and we were done within the hour.
All in all really good food and reasonable prices, maybe because it is attached to a hotel and slightly out of town it was quieter, but well worth a visit.

  • Visited March 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Manager at Salisbury Seafood & Steak House, responded to this review, June 25, 2012
Thank you for your nice comments about Salisbury Seafood & Steak House. I am sorry that you felt your meal was slightly rushed as this is not the image we wish to portray at The Salsibury Seafood & Steak House.

With reference to the Restaurant being quiet on a Friday Night, this does not happen often, however we do have the occassional quiet night. Most of the time we have to take diners at a later time due to the number of people wanting to dine with us, especially at weekends.

All your comments have been passed on to the team.

Thank you for taking the time to review Salisbury Seafood & Steak House on Tripadvisor.

Kind Regards
Amanda L Guest
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Salisbury Seafood & Steak House also viewed

 

Been to Salisbury Seafood & Steak House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Salisbury Seafood & Steak House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.