We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, quirky but inviting hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Cathedral Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added The Cathedral Hotel to your Saves list
The Cathedral Hotel
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   7-9 Milford St., Salisbury SP1 2AJ, England   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #8 of 14 Hotels in Salisbury
Winchester, Massachusetts
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Great location, quirky but inviting hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2013

We stayed at the Cathedral Hotel in early August, midweek. We had a family "suite", which consisted of 2 adjoining rooms (door between could be locked off for privacy) with one bath. The rooms were a good size, and the bathroom was good sized, with basic furnishings, and no right angles! This is an old building-it has a large period style ground floor restaurant/bar/garden room with a nice size patio dining/hanging out space in the back. The crooked, period open stairway ends with a locked fire door to the hotel rooms, and you will receive keys for the fire door entrance, small lift and your room when you check in. Our hotel rooms had double (2) windows for sound proofing which worked well, but they ask that you not open them. There is no a/c, but there are ceiling fans. The rooms were furnished basically, but had a comfortable bed, flat screen tv, desk and basic armoire. The shower was the best I had during our 2 week tour of london and southern england-strong shower with soft water! We did not have any noise from the restaurant/pub, but it was midweek. We ate 2 dinners at the restaurant and were happy with the food and service-the tables are spread out and it was very comfortable, although the service was a little slow (if you are in a hurry, may not be the place for you). Breakfast was good-basics set out on buffet table, and you can order hot items (ie eggs, full English breakfast, etc) from the waitress. Staff was extremely friendly, and very helpful with directions, suggestions, etc. This is not a boutique hotel-if you want everything new and modern decor you will not be happy. But we enjoyed experiencing this unique hotel and it is steps from all the major sites-Salisbury Cathedral, Lizzie garden/river walk, shopping, church with Doom painting (St Thomas and St. ______), cafes, etc. No parking but there is a parking garage nearby that they will direct you to after you unload your car in front of the hotel . Stonehenge is less than 30 minutes away.

Room Tip: Family room was a great value-2 separate rooms for us and the kids for the same price as we paid for...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CathedralHotel, Owner at The Cathedral Hotel, responded to this review, September 12, 2013
Dear Deborah J

Thank you for your honest and detailed description of our services and hotel. I am delighted you enjoyed some of the great sites Wiltshire and Salisbury have to offer. We hope if you visit the U.K. again you will come and see us.

Kind Reagrds
Tony Negal
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

234 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    78
    85
    47
    12
    12
See reviews for
44
95
11
23
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (59)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
St. Petersburg, Russia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2013

It's a perfect place to stay in Salisbury for a couple of days. The hotel is situated in the heart of the city, near the cathedral and a net of Medieval streets to explore, in a ten minutes walk from the railway station across the old centre. It looks lovely from the outside,as well as it is inside. We booked a beautiful room for 2 nights on a nice offer, and we got exactly what we'd ordered. The room was big, with a nice view, bright and tidy. There was all necessary facilities, some treats. The breakfast was substantial and delicious, smartly served. The staff was extremely friendly, supportive and agreable. Not any complaints about the service. The lobby is pretty decorated, and the bar is good. It is a nice place to spend an evening, have a meeting. Our visit was really pleasant and the price was good.
It is an advisable place to stay for groups of friends, business travelers and families of various sizes.

Room Tip: The red room on the 2d floor is very nice, stylish, comfortable and very functional.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CathedralHotel, Owner at The Cathedral Hotel, responded to this review, September 12, 2013
Dear olgadelazari
Thank you for your five star rating of your stay at our hotel. We are delighted you found the room, breakfast and our team to a great standard. We hope to see you on your next visit to The u.k.

Regards
Tony Negal
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2013

Friendly staff on hand at all times. Rooms provide all that you need. Varied breakfast menu .Restaurant provided a wide choice of dishes and an excellent wine list. Hotel in central location ideal for Cathedral and Salisbury Races.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CathedralHotel, Owner at The Cathedral Hotel, responded to this review, August 22, 2013
Dear Susan E

Thank you for staying with us during your visit to Salisbury. I am really happy that our team helped you enjoy your stay. We have done a lot of work on our menu and with our kitchen team to ensure we are offering great value food and delivering it well to the table. It is great that you enjoyed your restaurant and breakfast experience. We hope you visit again soon.

Kind Regards
Tony Negal
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burnham-On-Sea, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2013

We stayed at the Hotel on Monday and Tuesday night and the hotel was fairly quiet. The street outside was very noisy but the secondary glazing protected us from this although this meant that we had to have the fan on all night to keep cool. The management obviously listen to previous reviewers comments and have tried hard to rectify any problems. Very good value and an excellent location for exploring Salisbury on foot. Staff were helpful and the breakfast was perfectly acceptable.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CathedralHotel, Owner at The Cathedral Hotel, responded to this review, September 12, 2013
Dear StIves2013

Thank you for your positive review of you stay during your visit to Salisbury. We do an awful lot to try and promote guests to give us feedback so we can try and make future visitors stay even better. It is great that our team helped make your stay a pleasant one.

Regards

Tony Negal
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sturminster Newton, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2013

we as the title suggests got a good deal on 2 nights - perfect for a 'mini break' in Salisbury... Room was good, spacious, clean, nicely decorated... If you want a quiet weekend break not a good choice but it was perfect for us for a couple of good nights out & somewhere to come back to for a discount drink & just a small stumble up the stairs for bed!

Room Tip: If you want peace & quiet, listen to the warning from the staff when booking!! No secrets, it...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CathedralHotel, Owner at The Cathedral Hotel, responded to this review, August 22, 2013
Dear SamDennett

Thank you for staying with us during your visit to Salisbury. It is great that you booked our hotel for a weekend break. I am delighted you enjoyed Salisbury. We hope you come and stay again and let us look after you.

Kind Regards
Tony Negal
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo, Norway
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013

Stayed here for 2 nights. Nice garden in the back where breakfast was served on sunny days. Friendly staff and good food. In the heart of Salisbury with walking distance to everything. A bit noisey in the weekend since there is a pub on ground floor. Not really a big problem though and ear plugs where availble in the rooms if needed.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CathedralHotel, Owner at The Cathedral Hotel, responded to this review, July 31, 2013
Dear tbo73

Thank you for your positive review of our hotel. I am delighted you enjoyed our food so much. It is great that when you were here you could enjoy breakfast in the garden. It is great that our staff so friendly and welcoming towards you and made you feel so welcome. I hope if you visit the U.K. on another occasion you will come and see us again.

Kind Regards

Tony Negal
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2013

I stayed here for two nights this month. It is a very welcoming hotel, comfortable bed, nice towels. It was extremely hot outside but the room had a ceiling fan and when I asked to have the window opened it was done immediately. The one thing that let it down was the breakfast. Terrible scrambled eggs and poor coffee. But the staff are very helpful indeed.

Room Tip: The front room was a bit noisy
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CathedralHotel, Owner at The Cathedral Hotel, responded to this review, July 31, 2013
Dear Aliciasynge

Thank you for your great review heading. I am delighted you enjoyed your overall stay. Although it has been extremly hot recently, the mobile air conditioning units we have installed in the hallways and the in room fans have been really appreciated by most of our guests. Along with the full air conditioning on the ground floor they have helped alleviate what has been an unusually hot period and made the hotel much more comfortable. I am really sorry about your breakfast and have passed your comments onto the kitchen team. I hope if you find yourself in Salisbury again you will visit us and allow us to impress you with great scrambled egg.

Kind Regards

Tony Negal
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Cathedral Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Cathedral Hotel

Address: 7-9 Milford St., Salisbury SP1 2AJ, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Wiltshire > Salisbury
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 14 Hotels in Salisbury
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — The Cathedral Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are located in the heart of Salisbury, just a short walk from The Cathedral, shops, theatres and restaurants. We are just 20 minutes' drive from Stonehenge and the rolling countryside of Wiltshire, with all its historical gardens, houses and walkways.Sundays and throughout the week, we offer a quiet, relaxed environment. On weekend nights, the busy venue bar on the ground floor is open until 2am and is part of the cities club circuit. The rooms have secondary glazing, but you may hear street noise in some of the rooms at weekends. The bedrooms do not have telephones or air conditioning but do offer lots of extras -free WIFI, hair dryers, iron boards, flat-screen TVs, plentiful tea and coffee supplies along with excellent quality towelling. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Expedia, Priceline, Agoda, HotelTravel.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your The Cathedral Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cathedral Hotel Salisbury

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Cathedral Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.