We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Super” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Cathedral Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added The Cathedral Hotel to your Saves list
The Cathedral Hotel
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   7-9 Milford St., Salisbury SP1 2AJ, England   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #9 of 15 Hotels in Salisbury
Certificate of Excellence 2014
1 review
“Super”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2012

Booked a two night short break. Our room had everything we needed and was pristine. We were able to check in early and the staff, from reception to housekeeping to restaurant were all so friendly and attentive.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CathedralHotel, Owner at The Cathedral Hotel, responded to this review, November 8, 2012
Dear guest.

Wow, thank you for your fantastic review. I will pass your comments onto our team. We are really haapy that you had a great time with us and we look forward to seeing you again when you visit this great City.

Kind Regards
Tony Negal
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

259 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    90
    94
    50
    12
    13
See reviews for
46
107
12
25
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (68)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
berkhamsted
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2012

Stayed on a Friday nigh and they said it could be noisy due to the late bar and music. However stayed in room 202 and apart from distant bass beat it was nice and quiet,apart from neighbours above in 302 clumping about.
No car parking but park on street but just park on street and get up before 8am to feed the meter.
Staff good and attentive to residents. Would stay again.

Room Tip: Choose 201 or 202 and then 301 or 302
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CathedralHotel, Owner at The Cathedral Hotel, responded to this review, November 8, 2012
Dear Guest

Thank you for your great review. I am very happy that you would stay with us again and I will pass your very positive comments onto the team.

Kind Regards
Tony Negal
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
91 reviews 91 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 52 cities Reviews in 52 cities
68 helpful votes 68 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2012

Rooms are OK, pillows are poor and limited, towels need upgrading, hanging space very limited. Food OK, chicken and noodles excellent. Staff are not bad but could do with a few lessons in customer service, observation and time management (never walk out of the restaurant empty handed when there are dirty dishes about).
Biggest complaint is car parking and car unloading. A bus stop and disabled space are directly outside the Hotel, so where should I stop to unload my car. Reception is not near the entrance and no staff were near the front door to help with te luggage. The nearest long term car park is a couple of hundred yards away and getting to the hotel from the car park across busy roads in the rain is not a pleasent experience. Once in the hotel, the lift is only big enough for 1 person and the staff didn't offer to help with the other bags. Disappointing.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CathedralHotel, Owner at The Cathedral Hotel, responded to this review, October 22, 2012
Dear Guest

Thank you for your review. I am sorry you were not overly happy with the experience you had with us but I am very happy that you found your meal to be excellent. I am slightly confused by your comments that the reception is not close to the door and we have no loading bay to pull up outside to drop off bags as both these statements are incorrect. With regards our towles needing upgrading, we are checking all our towels as we use a high star rating of toweling and have never had negative feedback about our toweling, so my appologies if your towels were not up to standard and I am investigating this. I will share your feedback with our team as I am upset that our staff did not help with your luggage. Unfortunatly nearly all the hotels in Salisbury have the same problem with regards parking. I hope you will visit Salisbury again and give us the oportunity to look after you. Our lift is an original 1930's lift car which had all the external mechanics replaced in 2010 and we get some great feedback that we have helped maintain a bit of history.

Kind Regards
Tony Negal
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peterborough, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2012

We were working in Salisbury so found the Cathedral hotel online. First impressions were great. A smart exterior and the receptionist who checked us in went out of her way to let us know where we were in the town, what attractions were nearby, how the room key worked. The lift is small but wonderful, key operated for security. The room was fine, average size but clean, smart and pleasantly designed. We were there on a Sunday night so very quiet. The hotel has no parking but the council run car park is very close and we paid only £1.70 for the whole of Sunday. The location was good, being right in the centre of Salisbury and close to shops, cathedral and countryside. Breakfast was cooked to order and arrived swiftly. We would certainly return to The Cathedral Hotel as we found it excellent value for money.

Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CathedralHotel, Owner at The Cathedral Hotel, responded to this review, October 22, 2012
Dear Guest

Thank you for your very positive review. I will pass your comments onto Suzy our receptionist and let her know that you were very pleased with the welcome you received. We look forward to looking after you on your next visit to Salisbury.

Kind Regards
Tony Negal
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stoke-on-Trent
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2012

The Cathedral Hotel is well situated to access all that Salisbury town has to offer. The other side of this is that it gets very busy on Fridays and weekends which the hotel website makes very clear when you are booking. True to what the website says on the Thursday that I stayed the hotel was quiet, but it was defintely noisier on the Friday and Saturday - but nowhere near the levels that the website had indicated. This is the only hotel that I have stayed in which provides sets of earplugs in the bathroom as standard; however I didn't need them on any of the days and slept well throughout my stay. If you a light sleeper and go to bed early this is probably not the hotel for you at weekends, but during the week it should be fine.

The room was well appointed with a comfortable bed, good size TV screen and excellent en-suite facilities. The breakfast was of a good quality with a wide range of dishes on offer. The service was good. The entrance to the bedrooms is through the downstairs bar and you are issued with a key to the lift which helps promote a secure sense of feeling.

Car parking in Salisbury is a problem and relatively expensive. There is no car park at the hotel but they will give you directions to nearby car parks. There is a one nearby where you can park for four hours for around £5 during the day. If you arrive after 6pm and put in a couple of pounds to take you up to 10am the next day you can safely park for the evening spend the night at the hotel and get to the car park in plenty of time after breakfast in order to go out the next day. There is a longer stay car park further away from the hotel where you can park all day - but still at a price.

Overall The Cathedral Hotel is a pleasant stay with town centre convenience with the levels of activity and noise that you would expect in such a situation.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CathedralHotel, Owner at The Cathedral Hotel, responded to this review, October 22, 2012
Dear Guest

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with potential visitors to our hotel and Salisbury. I am very happy that you enjoyed the service you received from our team and found your room and breakfast to be of a very good standard. We have added lots of little extras for example the locks on the lift and hotel doors as and when guests have given us feedback. Reviews that give guests a summary of their experience is an excellent help when future guests are making a decision where to stay.
Thank you once again and we look forward to looking after you on your next visit to Salisbury.

Kind Regards
Tony Negal
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seaside, California
Top Contributor
94 reviews 94 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2012

We stayed on a Sunday and Monday night, so it was very quiet. Our room was very clean and quite large and the bathroom was huge. The location is great -- about a 10 minute walk from the train station and another 10 minutes to the cathedral. The breakfast was also very good and included either a continental or a nice offering of hot entrees (the smoked salmon and eggs were wonderful). It was convenient to have a restaurant in the hotel, too. The staff was very friendly and accommodating and I would recommend this hotel to anyone.

Room Tip: Ask for a quiet room if you are concerned about noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CathedralHotel, Owner at The Cathedral Hotel, responded to this review, October 22, 2012
Dear Guest

Thank you for your very positive review. I am very happy you enjoyed your stay with us and found your room and breakfast to be of an excellent standard. We have done a lot of work recently on our menu and food offering to ensure we were giving a better in house restaurant experience. I am pleased you enjoyed the restaurant and hope you visit Salisbury soon and allow us to look after you again.

Kind Regards
Tony Negal
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2012

I booked in here mon-thurs after checking out of the appalling city lodge. I was delighted by the staffs friendliness and helpfulness. Always smiling, always greeted you when you came in. when i checked in they went out of their way to not only furnish me with information on the hotel but also the surrounding area. They couldnt do enough for me. Really great customer service. I had a room on the 1st floor at the back. Salisbury can be noisy and I slept with the ear plugs in every night and was not disturbed at all. I was delighted with the cleanliness of the room and shower room. Internet access great. Good tea and coffee facilities. Breakfast very satisfactory. Great decor. It combines the elegance of an old building with a good attention to detail and all mod cons. The bed was also very comfortable. I loved my stay here and would be happy to return. Perfect central hotel. Thank you for a great stay.

Room Tip: Ask for the back of the hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CathedralHotel, Owner at The Cathedral Hotel, responded to this review, October 13, 2012
Dear Guest

Thank you for your great review. I am very happy that our team did so much to help make your stay a good one and that you found your overall stay at our hotel a good one. We try very hard to add little extras and show attention to detail to the little things and it is very rewarding when our guests appreciate them. I will share your review with our team and hope to look after you again when you visit Salisbury.

Kind Regards
The Catheral Hotel Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Cathedral Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Cathedral Hotel

Address: 7-9 Milford St., Salisbury SP1 2AJ, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Wiltshire > Salisbury
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 15 Hotels in Salisbury
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — The Cathedral Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are located in the heart of Salisbury, just a short walk from The Cathedral, shops, theatres and restaurants. We are just 20 minutes' drive from Stonehenge and the rolling countryside of Wiltshire, with all its historical gardens, houses and walkways.Sundays and throughout the week, we offer a quiet, relaxed environment. On weekend nights, the busy venue bar on the ground floor is open until 2am and is part of the cities club circuit. The rooms have secondary glazing, but you may hear street noise in some of the rooms at weekends. The bedrooms do not have telephones or air conditioning but do offer lots of extras -free WIFI, hair dryers, iron boards, flat-screen TVs, plentiful tea and coffee supplies along with excellent quality towelling. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, LateRooms, Hotels.com, Priceline, HotelTravel.com and Agoda so you can book your The Cathedral Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cathedral Hotel Salisbury

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Cathedral Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.