We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Avonlea House B&B” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Avonlea House

Save Saved
You added Avonlea House to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Avonlea House
3.5 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   231 Castle Road, Salisbury SP1 3RY, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 51 Salisbury B&B and Inns
Frensham, United Kingdom
1 review
“Avonlea House B&B”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2013

I had an excellent experience at Avonlea House. It was exactly what I wanted. I nice room conveniently located within a reasonable walk of Salisbury city centre and right next to Old Sarum which was the purpose of my visit.
The hosts were very welcoming and friendly and keen to make my experience the best possible. The breakfast was an excellent, standard English Breakfast with immaculate attention to detail. Very nice to have a great breakfast I didn't have to cook myself (which is what I would normally be doing)
The rooms were very nice, wonderful shower! Simply but classically decorated. Perfect. I would recommend it to anyone and I will be returning.

Room Tip: The twin room was nice with a view out to the edge of ld Sarum
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John G, Owner at Avonlea House, responded to this review, January 8, 2013
Thank you so much for such a lovely review - we do appreciate you taking the time to extend such kind words. So glad you enjoyed your stay here and your breakfast too - it was a little daunting cooking for a chef! We really hope to welcome you, and possibly some members of your family, back to Avonlea House in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

61 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    58
    3
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
10
30
3
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Horsham, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2012

This was our first visit to Avonlea Guest House and initial impressions of excellence were soon confirmed. New owners Jackie and John extended a warm welcome.

The bedroom featured a high standard of furnishing ,decoration and heating (much appreciated as the early December temperature fell to minus 4C) plus a flat screen TV and comprehensive hospitality tray. The bathroom was equally well appointed.

The breakfast menu offered a wide selection of items and was well cooked.

Off road parking is provided and there is a bus stop outside the premises with frequent services to Salisbury city centre with a journey time of around 10 minutes.

Kate and Tony Marriott

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John G, Owner at Avonlea House, responded to this review, December 9, 2012
Thank you so much for taking the time to post such a lovely review. We really enjoyed your company and were so pleased you enjoyed the Christmas Carol Service at the Cathedral. Our other guests really enjoyed it too the following night and were very grateful for your recommendation. Hopefully see you again this time next year.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Poole, England, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2012

We had a lovely stay at Avonlea House bed and breakfast in Salisbury,A chic and elegantly decorated B&B.The room and shower were beautiful clean, very comfortable bed and a delicious breakfast.Jackie and John were so welcoming and lovely hosts.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John G, Owner at Avonlea House, responded to this review, December 4, 2012
Thank you so much for your lovely review. We are so glad you enjoyed your stay here - we certainly enjoyed your company. We look forward to welcoming you back to Avonlea House when your work commitments bring you back to Salisbury.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Poole, England, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012

We were so pleased to find such a lovely B&B in Salisbury and really enjoyed the few days we spent at Avonlea House. Jackie and John were extremely good hosts, nothing was too much trouble and the breakfasts were delicious. Our room was spotlessly clean, tastefully furnished with very comfortable beds. We will definitely return and would recommend Avonlea to anyone who is exploring the city and local area.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John G, Owner at Avonlea House, responded to this review, November 14, 2012
Thank you so much for posting your review, and such a lovely review too. We are so pleased you enjoyed your stay with us. We really enjoyed your company and would love to welcome you back to Avonlea House in the future should you need another break from your busy lives.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Top Contributor
90 reviews 90 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2012

The new owners, Jackie and John, had a tough act to follow when they took over Avonlea House in Salisbury, but they have risen to the challenge seemingly effortlessly. Avonlea is a very comfortable and elegantly decorated B&B, beautifully appointed in a very chic style, with very comfortable beds too. We really enjoyed the superb breakfasts, which are so generous! The table is always beautifully set, the views across Salisbury from the front bedroom and the breakfast room are lovely.The warmth of their welcome, combined with their lovely personalities make this a 'must stay' for us.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Munich, Germany
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2012

We had a lovely stay here. The bedroom was beautiful and clean and the bed was so comfortable! Irene and Peter were extremely helpful and excellent hosts. There is a lounge to use too with a selection of books and games. British breakfast at its best!

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2011

Peter and Irene were excellent hosts. We booked the deluxe room, which was large and comfortable with a nice bathroom and an excellent shower. Beakfast was excellent, there was plenty of parking, it was close to Stonehenge and Old Sarum, and Salisbury Town Centre was a short drive away. We couldn't have asked for a better stay and would definitely return.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Avonlea House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Avonlea House

Address: 231 Castle Road, Salisbury SP1 3RY, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Wiltshire > Salisbury
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 51 B&Bs / Inns in Salisbury
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Avonlea House 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A warm welcome awaits you at our modern and comfortable B&B. All bedrooms tastefully decorated with ensuite shower rooms, TVs with DVD, free wifi, kettle and hospitality trays and hairdryers. A tempting breakfast menu is offered to suit all tastes. 20 minutes walk to Salisbury city centre or 5 minutes to Old Sarum. Direct route to Stonehenge. Join the Stonehenge Tour Bus from our local bus stop. Free parking for all guests. Secure bike store available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Venere, Tingo and Despegar.com so you can book your Avonlea House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Avonlea House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.