We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hands down best burgers I've had in UK” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Coach & Horses

Coach & Horses
39 Winchester Street, Salisbury SP1 1HG, England
+44 1722 414319
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #37 of 201 Restaurants in Salisbury
Price range: $0 - $41
Cuisines: British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Families with children, Dining on a budget, Bar scene
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Description: The coach and Horses, is a traditional 13th Century Coaching Inn, Serving Home Cooked Food All day Mon to Sat 11.30Am to 9.30Pm Sunday Midday to 9.00Pm. We are Child Friendly and Dog Friendly. We also have a large courtyard for al fresco dining.
Bern, Switzerland
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Hands down best burgers I've had in UK”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2013

Excellent selection of local ales and a *mouthgasmic* burger. Why one point detraction? Table wasn't clean, but the bloke serving us quickly wiped it down so all fine there.
Wiltshire has two things you shouldn't miss: Stonehenge and the burgers at the Coach&Horses.

  • Visited July 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

92 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    47
    23
    11
    4
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“LOVE IT”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2013 via mobile

Burgers are delicious, including the veggie burger. All the staff were welcoming and it is a lovely pub to go to.

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Basingstoke, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Ladies Day !!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2013

Spent the aftenoon and evening at the Coach & Horses for my mum's birthday - we were a small group of family and friends and very well looked after by the Landlord - Chris and Landlady - Theresa and barman, Chris.
We had bottles of bubbly served with ice bucket and the service was excellant, we were even treated to free portions of lovely garlic bread to soke up the bubbles !! Never experienced that in other pubs in Salisbury.............
Lovely atmosphere and really enjoyed the new woodburner :))
Definately worth a visit and the hosts really made you feel welcome

  • Visited February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Loved it”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2013

Great selection of food . Great value for money. Great service and superb food . Highly recommended. Try the 20oz burger from the specials board. If your not quite so hungry try the 2 courses for a tenner i did and will go back for more any day.

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newquay
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Barman was great”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

Seven of us ate here Sunday 13th Jan. There was one guy behind the bar who seemed to be doing everything bar the cooking!
The service was great he couldn't be more helpful.
We had the sunday roasts special which was excellent value for money 2 courses £10 or 3 courses £12.50 - choice of starters, roasts and puddings.
Warm, friendly pub, will definatley go back again when we are in Salisbury

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Coach & Horses also viewed

Salisbury, Wiltshire
Salisbury, Wiltshire
 

Been to Coach & Horses? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Coach & Horses, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.