We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good pub with great atmosphere” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Red Lion Inn

Red Lion Inn
High St | Avebury, Avebury SN8 1RF, England
01672 539266
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 2 Restaurants in Avebury
Cuisines: Pub
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Rivonia, Gauteng, South Africa
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
204 helpful votes 204 helpful votes
“Good pub with great atmosphere”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2013

Ambiance was great, beer fabulous and food OK (not great).
I used this as my day time base whilst rambling around the henge and Silbury Hill, went away to New Inn at Winterbourne Monkton each evening, I was directed there by the pub owner initially, which I took to be Winterton Mountain, which it of course was not. I said to after three repeats of the question that I had difficulty understanding cause they all spoke funny, to which they all laughed, it was me speaking funny of course.

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

252 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    44
    87
    50
    37
    34
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Best lamb shank ever”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2013

I am surprised by some of the reviews, we must have been lucky or maybe they change chefs. However, I can only say good things about this place. We visited for an early Saturday lunch, before the pub filled up so the service was quite quick, staff were friendly, the historical setting is quite fitting, overall a very nice village pub. But was was absolutely amazing was the food we had, the lamb shank with minty gravy was just heavenly! Meat incredibly tender falling off the bone, tasty gravy, an excellent pub dish. The cauliflower and cheese tart was also very good.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Munich, Germany
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Fried and microwaved”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

What a shame, such a historic English village well deserving of great pub food and beers in a quaint country pub. Sadly much about what makes English food known the world over!! Whatever you want if it can be microwaved or fried - greezy style. Enjoy the Henge and stick to a beer and packet of crisps...

  • Visited May 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chippenham, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“lunch”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2013

.The Red Lion is a really good restaurant. The decoration is old fashioned, that is amazing beautiful.
The burger was really good and really big too. I had a really good time at the restaurant .The pub is in a nice village.

    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Must be the reputation.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2013

The four of us had lunch. My sandwich may have had a gram of meat in the ciabatta but I'm still not sure. The greens amounted to about a tablespoon with an eyedropper of dressing. Service was so so. I'd look elsewhere if I were you.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Red Lion Inn also viewed

Beckhampton, Wiltshire
Marlborough, Wiltshire
 

Been to Red Lion Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Red Lion Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.