We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing Tapas... So Good” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Viva Cuba

Viva Cuba
342 Kirkstall Road, Leeds LS4 2DS, England
0113 275 0888
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #82 of 1,387 Restaurants in Leeds
Cuisines: Tapas
Dining options: Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night
Castleford, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“Amazing Tapas... So Good”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2014

This place is amazing.

From outside it looks like nothing but inside your transported somewhere completely different. Candles burning, Cuban posters, postcards and music. The atmosphere really gets you in the mood.

My boyfriend and I visit here loads. The good is always amazing. So tasty, really good portion sizes, and not badly priced.

All the dishes are between £3 and £6. There's loads of meat, fish and veggie options. There are also side dishes such as potato and bread.

You should also try the cocktails. All made fresh. They are delicious. Or maybe try the Cuban beers, to get you in the mood.

Over all this is a just try. Don't be out off by the outside because the inside and the food is second to bone.

Top tip: try the jalapeño peppers stuffed with cheese

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

228 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    143
    49
    22
    7
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
90 reviews 90 reviews
84 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
“A hidden gem”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2014

I've always loved this place and it's still just as good, infact when I lived there and my dad visited from London he always insisted we went. It's just outside the centre of Leeds, but well worth a visit. On this occasion we tried the set menu which was only £15 a head... And oh my what a feast, all my favourites were included like lamb stew, chorizo and the aubergine stack is to die for. Highly recommend, and get a mojito ... It would be rude not to.

  • Visited August 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wakefield, United Kingdom
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Fab as usual”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2014 via mobile

Not been to Viva Cuba for a few years but the food was as great as I remembered,love the atmosphere and general vibe,the food was amazing especially the lamb stew the cocktails were fab too at reasonable prices.....won't leave it as long before my next visit.....just makes me want to book a holiday to Cuba now .

Visited August 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
“Food as ever un-faultable, service in parts variable”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2014

This restaurant has held its sky high standards for at least the 7 years i've been going there. The food is excellent and the specials of the same high standard. Bear in mind the dishes are large for tapas and 5 will comfortably feed 2 people.Service was superb in bits (in particular from a lady with blonde hair and tattoos on her forearms), but one lady (with black braided hair) seemed uninterested and walked off at the end of taking our order, no 'is that everything' or recommendations from the specials, which came across as quite rude and when it's the difference between a 4 and 5 * rating, makes the difference. Fortunately her colleague brought it back round and the food was superb. Would I come back? Absolutely yes.

  • Visited August 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wakefield, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
“Really good tapas”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2014

went for a family dinner, lovely food, plenty of flavours in the delicious food. will go there again

  • Visited July 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Viva Cuba also viewed

Leeds, West Yorkshire
 
Leeds, West Yorkshire
Leeds, West Yorkshire
 

Been to Viva Cuba? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Viva Cuba, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.